We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nesbitt Arms Hotel

Main Street, Ardara, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We dined here twice. The food was lovely. Generous portions, piping hot, delicious meals. The service is very friendly, maybe a tad bit slow but none the worse for all that. Would definitely return. I had Lasagna with salad and chips, my companion had fish. The lasagna was lovely, the chips were gorgeous, and the salad was fresh and delicious.

Helpful?
Thank sharonc89
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your recent visit with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your meal and got to experience the very friendly team we have here led by Liam. A big thank you to all the catering team also for their tireless efforts in producing great food. We do hope you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great time at the Nesbitt Arms Hotel.Staff so friendly and helpful. Room was warm and spotless. Food was excellent .The hotel is in a beautiful town were the locals are also very friendly .Great break away and would definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank paulapan64
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks to you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and got to experience the warm Donegal welcome that we are famous for. We are blessed in that all our team here is from the area and share a great passion for giving our guests... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for New Years On arrival the room was so cold but they gave us a heater late on. Water for shower was cold also Breakfast on New Year's Day was awful served in the massive ballroom so impersonal!! The Buffett was awful! Worst breakfast ever!! Heating fixed next day and hot water restored,breakfast a bit better but still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kieronmacc
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We do apologise about the heating on this particular day but unfortunately we had issues with it earlier in the day and indeed got the matter sorted but due to circumstances beyond our control further issues followed. We did our best to sort the problem but being New Years Eve it is a... More 

san antonio,texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked the nesbitt arms hotel ,at short notice ,in december ,arrived mid afternoon ,hotel very welcoming ,rooms and ensuite were adequate ,bit on the small size ,but very clean and comfortable . Breakfast was good in the morning ,with a choice of menu . Would definitely come back here ,as it blends in with the general ambiance of this... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1958jackie
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here in this beautiful part of the world. Ardara is a real gem in Donegal's crown and we are delighted to be situated right the centre where guests can explore this quaint town. We would be delighted to have you... More 

County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Hotel felt cold, heat not turned on in bedroom when we arrived. Public areas cold since no heating on. A lounge for residents would be useful especially at this time of year when weather can be cold and dreary. Staff very pleasant and attentive , room adequate but shampoo for soap at hand basin,!! Strange!!

Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Many thanks for your feedback, We do apologise for the lack of heating at the hotel during your stay. We were unfortunate in that we had been surprised by a malfunction in our heating system earlier in the day, which we had fixed however Murphy's Law kicked in and the heating went down a second time later on... More 

helensburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Stayed here for festival weekend and had lovely time. Staff very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The hotel is the hub of the town and entertainment is laid on most weekends. Would recommend, and Ardara town and surrounding areas stunning.

Helpful?
Thank angela c
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Sincere thanks to you for taking the time to review our hotel. You sound like you really enjoyed your stay and of course the beautiful town and surrounding areas of Ardara. What can I say about our team here, they are simply the best, friendliest and most genuine team always going out of their way to give our... More 

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

Music went on to after 2am, despite phoning down to reception, who kept saying that they where finishing up 1 am and 1.30 am. No apology in the morning for the noise. They have no car park so when the town is busy you have to park some distance away and carry you bags. Room was comfortable but unable to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine G
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.. Reviews and feedback are invaluable for us to ensure that we are keeping our standards the way we would like them. We do encourage our guests to park car outside the door and drop off their luggage and then secure a parking place. Being a town centre hotel... More 

Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

The Nesbitt Arms is situated in the centre of Ardara town, with no parking and you have to park on the street (if you get a space). Breakfast was pretty average, and being a vegetarian, I was surprised they didn’t even serve mushrooms. The bar menu also lacked vegetarian options and costly for bar food. The room we were given... More 

Helpful?
Thank nicelady17
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you recent review of our hotel. I am disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations during your visit. This was the weekend of our biggest festival in Ardara. We are sorry that our heritage rooms were not to your satisfaction. Coming to the end of the season, hotels spend winter months updating... More 

Kiltimagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here during summer. Only getting to review now. Stayed here in 2014 was disappointing with mediocre food and tired staff. This year couldn't be more different, staff were friendly well presented and happy in their work . I am told there has been change in management and it shows. Food was top class steak night a big hit with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon What a great review of our hotel and thank you so much for taking the time to do so. We are delighted that you noticed all the changes here at The Nesbitt Arms under the watchful eye of our new General Manager Liam Mc Gill. Our team here are looking smashing with their new uniforms! A relaxed team... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights as I was working in the area, I could not have been more happy during my stay. Staff are so friendly and welcoming, couldn't do enough for me. As for the food, Wonderful. Breakfast,lunch and dinner all 3 days were the so tasty and will be coming back again soon.

Helpful?
Thank mullenman
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, A very special thank you for your very kind review. We are thrilled that your time here was an enjoyable one. Our team here are magnificent in making all our guests feel welcome at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Nesbitt Arms again soon. With kind regards Claire O Reilly More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardara
5.2 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
15.2 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 stars 3,129 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 3 in Killybegs
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
13.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay