We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Killiney hotels

Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalkey Ave, Killiney, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin to your Saves list
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Killiney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Darla1964 Canterbury, Connecticut
  • Overview
  • Reviews (665)
  • Photos (234)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (157)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    203
    111
    39
    23
See reviews for
173
271
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here recently on an 11 day trip in Ireland. The room was good, no A/C although they brought us a Fan. Very hot weather when we were there, window only opens a crack. No washcloths, or as they call them in Ireland, face towels. Breakfast was good, traditional Irish Breakfast. Great staff in leisure center, pool and Jacuzzi were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Love fitzpatrick castle home from home relaxing friendly atmosphere with brill staff from point of booking until you are leaving hotel we are regular visitor and have no hestitation in recommending it to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On entering the Grill Restaurant we were greeted by Mark Scott- Lennon. He checked to where we were being seated and showed us to our table. He offered us drinks but we had some so brought Water for the table. We had a look at the menu and shortly afterwards a waitress came and took our order. We had wings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Been in the hotel business since 1938,retired of coarse, still cannot get over how modern times have really put the word hospitality into these places.just to say my previous comments on this hotel are well founded its a great hotel and the staff give great service, thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marysville, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The reviews on TripAdvisor are a mixed bag, which I think adequately describes this very interesting hotel. It may not be a hotel for everyone as it is a little dated and a little worn, but others will love these "wrinkles" and consider it charming. We purchased our room off a discount site so we probably had the "no thrills"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Miki G, Thank you for reviewing us following your recent stay. I was delighted to read of your enjoyable experience during your stay with us. Thank you for your warm words about the staff at the Castle. I will be sure to pass on your review to all the team here. In the coming year we are investing heavily... More

Belfast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here recently for 3 nights and paid extra for a room with a sea view. Whilst this is strictly true it is stretching it a bit as you have to go out on the balcony and look right to see the sea. But having said that the room was okay - a bit worn and could do with updating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear MatildaBelfast, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Castle. Thank you for your kind comments about the team here at the Castle. We take great pride in our customer care and our team here are a massive asset to the Castle. Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind... More

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll let the photos speak for themselves. What a disappointment for 2 nights = $579.18. It was a terrible way to end our wonderful Ireland vacation. The lobby and dining areas were nice, but the 'magic' of the castle stopped there and led us to one of the grungiest rooms I've ever stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear KS12342014, Thank you for your review. I have thankfully had the chance to speak to you directly since your stay and I am glad that we were able to remedy the issues you experienced. Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back for a more enjoyable visit. Kind Regards Mark Scott-Lennon General Manager & Director More

Larne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second time at the hotel. We did not prebook and were lucky enough to get room 103 which is a fantastic room: a generous size, triple aspect and very well furnished and decorated. The en suite was very big with a lovely roll top bath and separate shower. We were tucked away and the room was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear OptimisticLarne, Thank you for your review and your repeat business which we very much appreciate. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you would return to us again. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the future. Kind Regards Mark Scott-Lennon General Manager & Director More

Oldcastle
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spend at least one night every so often in this hotel. Sometimes they offer good deals and they are regularly busy as a result! Jessica in Reception welcomes us back - a good start anyplace! Our room was comfortable, though the step into the bath/shower would be difficult for anybody with a physical impediment! Dinner in the Dungeon was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear RetireeOldcastle, I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable return visit to us and thank you for choosing the Castle again. I will pass on your kind comments to the team here particularly Jessica & Margaret on the Front desk. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle for your next visit. Kind Regards Mark... More

Heiloo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon arriving, the hotel offers a great grandeur of an old castle. The 4 star ranking does the rest. Ok? Think again. No minibar, no airco in the room, no flatscreens and long waiting for checking do not really qualify for 4 star. On the ither hand, atmosphere is quite relaxed and the people are friendly. But tah again, everybody... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Paulalgra, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at the Castle. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room your were allocated. We are in the process of changing our televisions and minibars are available upon request. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

Address: Dalkey Ave, Killiney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Killiney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Castle Killiney
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin Ireland/Killiney, County Dublin

234 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (205)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fitzpatrick Castle Dublin is the epitome of the elegance and charm of the south Dublin coast. The only hotel located in the fashionable suburbs of Killiney and Dalkey, overlooking Dublin Bay. Fitzpatrick Castle is only 9 miles/20 minutes from downtown Dublin. Luxurious bedrooms and suites decorated in the traditional castle style are also renovated to the highest spec with ISDN lines and in-house entertainment system in all rooms. Wireless broadband Internet access is available in most public areas of hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
113

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer