We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Esplanade Hotel

Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Esplanade Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    94
    89
    62
    69
See reviews for
114
152
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (398)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (158)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This review is rather late as we stayed at the Esplanade back in March 2015. However, we arrived on Friday afternoon and booked in, we had already pre-paid as part of a group deal and so the process was easily completed. Checked into the room in the back part which I believe is the newer part, though dated. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Roims could do with a serious overhaul ..bathroom ..cracked tiles filthy shower curtain and broken toilet seat ...wont be staying here again... serious smell in the bar area ..way overpriced at €169 for one night..wouldn't give it one star never mind three

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManageratEsplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa B, I am terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. In relation to your above quote regarding the hotel I can assure you that all our rooms are cleaned to a high standard the bathrooms at the moment are under refurbishment. I wish you had of spoken to the duty manager at the time and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bray hotels

County Louth, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Before I start, I don't normally do this but after contacting the hotel on numerous occasions & getting NO response, it's something I feel very strongly about! I had made a booking for a family room in this hotel through Travel Republic for a one night stay. I had mentioned on the booking that myself and my husband were celebrating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ManageratEsplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Hi chitttchittybangbang Thanks for your review and apologies that your experience was not enjoyable. Can you please confirm what email address you sent your emails to, as neither I nor our reception team have received an email relating to your stay. Could you please resend your original email to gm@esplanadehotel.ie and I can contact you directly. I will forward your... More 

Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we(Bernie AND Des) arrived a little early so had to wait in bar for a short time, and it was well worth waiting; this is an old hotel but we couldnt believe the beautiful elegant room with triple windows looking straight out to the sea, bed so comfortable breakfast and dinner perfect and indeed my only complaint was NO wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManageratEsplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bernie & Des Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always fantastic to hear how our guests have enjoyed their stay. And you are right about the view - it is fabulous! You are correct about no WiFi in the bedrooms, however we do offer complimentary WiFi in all... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately we had the opportunity of staying at this shambolic hotel on two seperate occasions over the last two weeks due to my husband's work commitments. We stayed in a 2 x double room on the first trip. There were stains on the floor, paint peeling off the walls, no toiletries in the bathroom, hairs in between the bed sheets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManageratEsplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Hi RStaple12 Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. Apologies that your room was not serviced sufficiently during your stay. Unfortunately your family room was allocated in the new wing of the hotel, as all of our sea view rooms are in the original part of the building and therefore are all of a smaller size... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two weeks. Very cheap and cheerful. Rooms and bathrooms spotless. Hairdryer and kettle in rooms. Small TV. Beds are good extra pillows giving without request. Nice friend staff. Amazing view from the front rooms. Towels changed daily. Soap shower gel hair wash supplied. Showers nice and warm and powerful. Notting to complain about for the price. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManageratEsplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Aaron I Thanks so much for your review of your stay with us - it is always very encouraging to us when we read that our guests have enjoyed themselves during their stay! Should you be returning to Bray, please contact me directly and I will ensure another enjoyable stay for you. Thanks again, Orla Coogan General Manager More 

Waterford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for bar lunch on Sunday at 12:45 asked for menus staff found them after a few minutes. On the menu it stated roast of the day, when I enquired what it was the member of staff didn't know and went to the kitchen to find out and returned to tell me that the roast wasn't ready. I ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManageratEsplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Harry A Thanks for your review of your recent experience with us here at the Esplanade Hotel. Apologies that the service for your lunch was slow, but I am glad to hear that your overall experience was with our staff was pleasant and that your food was enjoyable. I do hope you will visit us again the next time... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've visited here numerous times over the years and staff are always welcoming and warm. It hasn't changed much over that time which also adds to the character of the place. Great location beside amusements and shops on the bray seafront with the added bonus of it's own carpark. Having stayed in other hotels in bray this is the most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManageratEsplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Isteachsateach Thanks so much for your lovely review of your stay with us! It is always great to hear from guests who have enjoyed their stay. Please contact me directly the next time you are coming to Bray and I will ensure another enjoyable stay for you. Many thanks Orla Coogan General Manager More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room overlooking a very grotty carpark, the window latch was broken letting noise and the cold in all night. The room was over their function room / train tracks so had to listen to that until the wee hours. Paper was peeling in spots and the lack of toiletries in the bathroom was shameful, the soap in the dispenser... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManageratEsplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Solo_Beckett Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. We will take your comments on board and pass the details to the relevant departments to continually improve our service. Many thanks Orla Coogan General Manager More 

Adare, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is very worn and needs a lot of attention. The rooms are basic, but do have coffee/tea making facilities. The bathroom was clean except for the bottom of the shower curtain. I had to clean the shower head before enough to water came out for a half decent shower. We did not eat here (nobody would want to),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManageratEsplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chimemark Many thanks for your recent review of your stay with us. Thanks for your comments and apologies you did not have an enjoyable stay, I will pass these to the relevant departments and look into the issues you have brought up. It is only with guest feedback we can improve on our service. Many thanks Orla Coogan General... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.9 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#3 of 7 in Bray
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Martello Hotel
7.4 mi away
Druids Glen Resort
Druids Glen Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 stars 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
3.0 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
3.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
7.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay