We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Add Photo Write a Review

707 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    91
    153
    140
    146
    177
See reviews for
176
233
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (707)
  • Mar-May only
    (174)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (255)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

No way should the hotel charge £90 per night (not including breakfast) for an extremely small and very outdated furnished room. Wish I'd taken photos of the room. Shower not working well. Faced out onto the street couldn't sleep due to noise outside, noise from next room was as if they were in our very room. The floors creaked and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My husband booked us 2nites for r 10th anniversary & when we arrived at the hotel the staff were very welcoming & friendly. We checked in & went straight up to drop r bags to r room! Wot can I say about the room DISTGUSTING!! My husband was gutted we wud not have put r dog in there. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Bray hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is only minuted from Bray Beach. I traveled home from Canada and couldn't have been happier with the experience. The staff were very friendly and the party went great. The hotel DJ played all our old favourites along with some trendy up to date stuff and he even provided some karaoke so we all had a blast singing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here in June with friends for 2 nights felt the reception staff were not up to standard, when I rang to book the hotel the girl said she could not check availability as she was on her own and that she would ring me back in the morning, but she never did, I had to ring later that evening.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Decent enough hotel however totally spoilt by not being able to check in at 4:30pm , particularly as I had to go back out again and then when I got into my room later that evening finding out that the room did not even a shower , nor any toiletries - not what i expect from any class of hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed with family for 2 nights over the weekend. Was given a spacious Family Room (double & 2 Singles) on the 4th (Top) floor ! Room clean and tidy .. bathroom quite small .. but Floor creaked no matter where you walked and the adjacent bedrooms door was right beside ours so every time they opened or closed it ..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I booked in for last Saturday 20 June on a deal that included Bed Breakfast 3 course evening meal and tickets to the Bagatelle show, great value. However after looking forward to it for so long it was very disapointing. We made 3 attempts at checking in, standing for half an hour in a queue at reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bantry, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi, had a two night stay, staff were very friendly 4/5, breakfast was above average 4/5, I liked the decor in the lobby and the old world charm, leisure centre was great 4/5, music in bar created a bit of atmosphere, yes some areas hallways and landings need some improvement. We stayed in a renovated room, the cleanliness of our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the stuff of nightmares. Apparently being renovated but looking at the comments thats been the excuse for years. Stayed here with family, was booked for two nights but we booked elsewhere in bray after the first, couldn't bear to stay any longer! I did complain, but the staff said they couldnt move us to another room as they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Suzanne M, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear LouiseS11122 Thank you for your recent review. We are disappointed to read your review. While we appreciated the hotel is not of modern decor and we are in the process of refurbishing, our rooms are of a very high cleanliness. As you can image this is time consuming due to the size of our property. Should you have contacted... More 

lincolnshire england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a five day break here and i must say we enjoyed it from start to finish.very nice seemed like home cooked food and very tasty no complaints at all.the room we had was clean and comfy big enough for two.mary i think her name was a very lovely warm irish lady always willing to help all the waiters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suzanne M, Director of Sales at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear ken j Thank you for your recent review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it is refreshing to receive. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay