We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Clonmel hotels

Fennessy's Hotel

32 Gladstone Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fennessy's Hotel to your Saves list
Fennessy's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Clonmel
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013
Embarcon Niverville, New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (24)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    1
    3
    8
See reviews for
2
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Do not stay here. We were in room 5. Shortly after arriving we went down the back stairs following the "fire exit" signs. Came to a deadend at a locked gate in the alleyway. had to retrace steps and exit through the bar. Room was small but suitable, but in the morning we could not release the safety chain we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Niverville, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent eleven nights here from October 26 thru November 6.....everything was wonderful,the breakfast was delicious and cooked to order,the location was perfect and I must mention Declan and Shane ,the bartenders in the Pub....everyone was so friendly and helpful...enjoyed our stay immensely..

Was this review helpful? Yes
kerry
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I came on a one night stay to clonmel hoping for a nice comfortable stay. Oh how i was wrong! Where do i start? 1. Their website online says Full a la carte dinner menu served! And when i got there they said they no longer do this!! Why was this not online? 2. Hot tap and cold tap mixed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monaghan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Forgive the Cheers inspired title but I couldn't resist. I have stayed in this hotel on the same weekend ever year for the last three years when I attend the local Belly Bang Festival in Clonmel. I wish I could have wrote a review sooner than now. The first time I visited I was welcomed warmly by the staff who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Galway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Discovered this hotel and bar whilst I have been staying in Clonmel on business over the last 5 years as have spent 2 days a week here....good value for money, an early breakfast is provided which is probably the best in the town... Rooms are perfectly adequate and there is no problem getting a good nights sleep especially with Clonmel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Athy, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for the May Bank Holiday weekend. Arrived and found they have no car park, we were to park in any of the 3 nearby supermarket car parks (which has to be paid for). Had to pay all upfront before given a key - I haven't experienced this anywhere I've ever stayed before. No lift, so we had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ontario, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had a really nice stay here not so long ago. It's definitely not the Hilton, but the room was clean and spacious with tea/coffee and the breakfasts were simple but nice. There's probably nicer places to stay, but if you're on a budget (like we were!) then I'd highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in Fennessy’s Hotel recently for one week and had a very pleasant experience indeed.The staff were more than friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of it.Location in the centre of Clonmel could not be closer to all amenities and a short walk to bus and rail station.So we will be returning to the lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Worst experience of any Irish accommodation. Loud disco music booming up through 3 floors till midnight for 2 consecutive nights. Public use the bar from 10 am. Onwards! Refused to give room keys on a our booking unless we paid in full ..we arrived 11pm on a night with no disco! Didn't clean rooms every day. Manager could not be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MrFennessy, Owner at Fennessy's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne-Marie C Thank you for taking time to submit your feedback. This is very important to us as it allows us to gauge customer satisfaction and take action if required. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. I am assuming that you stayed over the August Bank Holiday weekend as you mentioned there was music in the... More

Tra Li
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night. €40 was a reasonable price. I was not looking for a gym, pool or jacuzzi. This is a standard, no frills hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the shower was hot and the breakfast was good. Another comment said that the breakfast was buffet. However, I had mine served to me! Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fennessy's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fennessy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fennessy's Hotel

Address: 32 Gladstone Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fennessy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fennessys Hotel Clonmel

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer