We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Dundalk hotels

Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Carlingford Road (R173), Dundalk, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ballymascanlon House Hotel to your Saves list
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
88%
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Chris J Portadown
  • Overview
  • Reviews (305)
  • Photos (41)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (61)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    77
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
86
97
10
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portadown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself , my 5 year old son and my partner stayed here for a wedding at the weekend. We had a fabulous stay here, the food was excellent the grounds were superb the kids really enjoyed it and the staff were so friendly. We enjoyed our full use of the leisure facilities on Sunday and we were offered a late... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
N Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A lovely friendly hotel with helpful staff and beautiful rooms with reasonable products although no bathrobes or slippers. It is certainly a good 4 star. I was there for a golf weekend and everything ran exceptionally well. However the breakfast are woeful when compared to the vast majority of hotels nowadays. we had a wonderful dinner! really superb but average... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor and I am delighted that you enjoyed your golf weekend with us. I have spoken to the Managing Director regarding your feedback on the breakfast and at present they are reviewing the manner in which breakfast is served and the quality of food, etc, so hopefully you will see a... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is a mixture of old and new. The "old" or "mature" part of the hotel is the beautiful front of house, it's high ceilings and dome skylight in the reception area. Don't forget to wander out back and see the other gardens and old out buildings and then walk with "proper shoes" up to the dolmen. It's about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards More

Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for 1 night only in August 2014, just an overnight break away from the usual weekend stuff. The hotel is situated at the end of a tree lined driveway, and the surrounding gardens and golf course are truly beautiful Check in was efficient and the staff were pleasant. Our room was on the second floor, and if I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed the gardens, restaurant, etc. I have discussed your concerns regarding the balconies and shower curtains with the senior management of the hotel, thank you for your feedback. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My father is from the area so we have fond memories of visiting the hotel with my granny all through my childhood. In the past we have celebrated everything from weddings to funerals here and had many nice experiences and memories. On this basis, we decided to stay there last wkend as it is very conveniently located. As mother and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor as we appreciate all feedback, positive or negative. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I do assure you that we take criticisms very seriously here at Ballymascanlon. I would like to address the wifi issue first, we have been having problems with the speed... More

Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very pleasant overnight stay recently with my mother. Huge bedrooms - very comfortable and ours overlooked old stableyard which was lovely. Very nice meal in the restaurant that evening - courteous staff. Was surprised how few tables were occupied in the dining room on a Sat evening when it was full for breakfast, and realised most of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor and we are delighted that you and your mum enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Ballymac in the very near future. More

Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel with nice rooms and built around a lovely old house with lots of character. I would think it would suit a weekend break rather than for a business trip that I was on. I didnt get the opportunity to appreciate what the hotel and its environs had to offer. I stayed two night. I would like to revisit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. I appreciate you did not get to enjoy all aspects of the hotel as your were here in Business and we do hope you will return in order to do so soon. I have advised our head receptionist of your comment regarding your check in. Kind regards More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely old hotel with an inviting golf course I did not play. An interesting mix of old and new buildings. It is quite a bit away from the town of Dundalk but great for exploring the Cooley Peninsula and into Northern Ireland. I found the rooms outdated for the price and there is no AC and only small windows to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at Ballymac. We have recently updated one wing of the hotel and our continuing to do so with the rest of the bedrooms. Unfortunately in Ireland there are very few hotels that have air conditioning, due to the... More

ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel using a voucher deal for 109 euro , for B+B + 2 glasses prosecco + 20 euro dinner credit. I was glad to be able to book this for the Sunday night of August Bank holiday weekend as sometimes there are exclusions for this type of offer on busy weekends. The hotel is well situated to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay with us and regret that you were not completely satisfied with other aspects. We were extremely busy over the Bank Holiday weekend however I have alerted the chef to your comments and also the other members of senior management to address some... More

Cork
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Top marks. Great location, beautiful grounds, fantastic room, great food, decent prices. Didn't get a chance to visit leisure centre. The buffet breakfast was as good as buffets go and the quality of the humble rasher is a good barometer - here it was very tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review on tripadvisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our tasty rashers!! Come back and visit us again soon, if only to give the Leisure Centre a go!! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ballymascanlon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Address: Carlingford Road (R173), Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Dundalk with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ballymascanlon House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer