We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Dundalk hotels

Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Carlingford Road (R173), Dundalk, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ballymascanlon House Hotel to your Saves list
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
88%
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
JeanJeannie77 Norwich, United Kingdom
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    65
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
78
91
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned home after having a 3 night stay as part of a coach trip and was impressed at the hotel. Would complain about the WiFi but have seen a reply to a previous review and understand it was not the hotels fault. Evening meals were delicious but too much for some of our travel companions and the choices for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
louth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a local hotel and myself and my wife stayed here overnight for our first anniversary. The bed was rather uncomfortable as in the double was two singes joined together. Nowadays, I lime to bring my Roku box on trips and connect same to the HDMI port of the hotel room TV. In the Ballymascanlon Hotel, they have opted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunshaughlin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hi, Just returned a few hours ago from BallyMac. A fantastic weekend as usual. Staff, food, rooms etc top notch. Only downside this visit was lack of wifi. No wifi at all from arrival on Friday afternoon until checkout earlier today. When you have three teenagers in tow and intend on doing a few hours sneaky work it was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I would like to apologize for the difficulties you experienced with the wifi during your stay with us, I can totally understand how you and your children would have been very frustrated with no decent wifi service. I have looked into the matter once I read your review and apparently... More

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a wonderful weekend at the Ballymascanlon House Hotel,Ladies at reception were very helpful and had great hospitality skills and were friendly Food was beautiful,bedroom very quiet and clean ,tidy Highly recommend and we will be back Thanks to all

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very enjoyable stay for 2 nights , with my good wife . Room was lovely and spacious , with a marvellous big bed. Despite weddings on both nights we were not disturbed by noise etc. We had breakfast in bed both mornings - for a small charge . Breakfast was vey good and plentiful. Ate at the hotel on one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night with my mother and sisters. The service was very good and we received a warm and personal welcome at reception. We could check in early which is always good. The rooms are modern and clean. The hotel is convenient and just off the motorway so only one hour from Belfast. It is set on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review and we are delighted that you, your mother and sisters enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your lovely comments about our staff, facilities and location. I would like to apologize for the lack of choice in regards to our vegetarian dishes, I can assure you that this has been taken... More

northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I spent a 1 night break and wished we could have stayed for2!We had a very warm welcome at reception from Anne Marie,who when asked if any smoking rooms were available,immediately checked our booking and changed us to a balcony room.Hubby was well pleased!We were in room 25 which in our opinion was the largest hotel room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review on tripadvisor and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have posted your comments on our internal notice board for all the staff to read, they enjoy getting the positive feedback also. I do hope you get to return to stay with us again shortly and we will... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend at the end of last month, (mid week). Very easy to find. The grounds were beautiful. The decor of the hotel was slightly dated. But it was still lovely. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, both of which was super filling and very yummy! I would rather have the vegetables on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor, we appreciate your positive feedback. The kitchen were delighted with your comments about the food and just to let you know that our toilets adjoining the bar are now completed and we have received great comments about them. We do hope you return to stay with us again soon and... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stopped in here for a bite to eat on the journey back to Belfast from Dublin. Soo glad we did, the food was absolutely fantastic, huge portions and reasonable priced. We are in the bar, which had a great atmosphere, and was quite busy with a wedding on. Brilliant staff, thank you for a lovely experience. 💚

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and hopefully the next time you will be able to stay longer with us? More

Portadown, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Given a room far away 325 I said at time of booking I carried a disabled badge had to shove window to get it open having to tie a velux blind to the wall was a joke bed very uncomfortable as were pillows only ate breakfast one morning disappointing variety of fruit and juices no potato bread nor soda bread... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, May I first begin by thanking you for your tripadvisor review, we welcome all feedback even the negative ones as this helps us in eliminating unsatisfactory guest experiences. It is disappointing that you were not comfortable in your room, and to read your comments about breakfast, we do not serve potato bread but would have a selection of... More

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk
Ballymascanlon Hotel
Address: Carlingford Road (R173), Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballymascanlon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.