We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Athlone hotels

Athlone Springs Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Athlone Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Athlone Springs Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Maire2 Cork
  • Overview
  • Reviews (509)
  • Photos (56)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (68)
  • More
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    172
    56
    39
    21
See reviews for
114
169
22
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times and always look forwrd to returning. Quiet location, friendly staff and great bar food. Unfortunately the breakfast can be a bit hit and miss. There are many bus tours using this hotel and unless you get in early some of the food you may like will be gone and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marie 2 Thank you for your kind review and you comments regarding our breakfast have been taken on board and addressed....how ever the Home made Brown bread is so popular at breakfast that it can on occasion run low with people filling napkins of it to bring home. we normally have a natural yogurt option for breakfast as well... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The springs hotel is a nice hotel, staff are friendly and very helpful.Nothing to much trouble. Check in was quick and no hassle, the rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was very nice but go early as it gets busy. Had dinner there and everything was served lovely, could not complain. Would really have no problem going back, except... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gwenl1964, Thank you for your kind review and your comments regarding your stay with us. hope to see you soon again. Kind regards Michael More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms good but families should be kept on the second floor,3rd floor stampeed at 7am...Had intended to use meal included on second night & chose the bar menu on night one..hence used the meal included on night one & ate out on second night..Material on Chairs dated, tatty & some looked filthy dirty,Definitely not a 4star.....Kids club an absolute joke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo Mary, If you have indeed the correct hotel (we don't have a Third Floor) read on.... We are a very busy leisure hotel with a fantastic pool for familys and a kids club which we normally get a lot of positive reviews. leisure at this time of year equates to excited children often staying away from home for... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Won a competition for afternoon tea for four people at this splendid hotel and wow what a treat it was!! The staff were so so nice and the good scrumptious :) all four of us enjoyed it so much.. Would highly recommend xx

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Muligam23 Delighted you enjoyed it so much Regards Michael More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped off here a few weeks ago on the way home from a match for some food. The restaurant wasn't overly busy but it took awhile for the staff to give us menus and to return for our orders. We all had starters, which were tiny and I opted for the stir-fry, much to my disappointment, I had expected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shellwee, Thank you for your review and you comments regarding your brief stop with us. Naturally we too disappointed that you found issue with your food and the service you received. Please accept my apologies for this and we will be telling people in future that the stir-fry can be as spicy or non spicy depending on your preference.... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The springs hotel is a nice hotel, staff is friendly and helpful, the food is hit and miss, sometimes the food is excellent but some times its not great.. lovely venue for a wedding of a party.. not the best to watch a match or anything as there is no big screen ans the sound is tunred down.. all food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Decky 12, Thank you for your recent review and your kind comments. Disappointed as we are that you feel that our food is "Hit and Miss"at times when we hear so often to the contrary but these reviews are great for keeping us on our toes........we are delighted that you too seemed to have had a good wedding guest... More

essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and wife stayed here and my mum and auntie in another room on friday 20th of june the hotel food is good and staff friendly but if you want a good nights sleep forget it they have hen and stag partys hear and we all was woken up at 3am by extremely loud drunk hen party and no one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emsy04mac, Thank you for your review.I am naturally very disappointed that it is so poor as normally the hotel receives good grades as it were for most things. You have definitely identified a training need on both our nights and reception AM shift which I must address. Would love to have you stay again so we could show you... More

co galway ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped off here yesterday evening 26th June 2014. Hotel was busy enough for a thur evening we had a drink in bar while watching match on tv. Very relaxing bar. We had bar food which was very nice. Special mention to Tom the bar man who served us, a very polite chap said he was from Ballygar, Co. Galway..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheeba, Thank you for the kind review. Delighted you were well looked after by Tom and that I had occasion to meet with you too. We get a large amount of passing trade due to our location just off junction 13 so spread the word. Thanks Michael More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Nice new hotel , great staff , rooms spacious and clean. Spa, just treatment rooms and not real value for money as no relaxation area and prices are at the top end . Pool very nice . Breakfast very good .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Betty, Thank you for your review and you kind comments. we would respectively feel that we offer good value in the treatment rooms although a relaxation are is being looked at the moment. Thanks michael More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed here with my best friend using a Groupon deal. The deal included main course, wine and bed and breakfast for two. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely girl at reception. Our booking was found with no fuss, and she quickly gave us all the relevant information. We asked for a twin room and got a room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donald, What a review and well done Pearl....cracking lass who has sadly left us to pastures new last week. Hope you had nothing to do with it. :-) Thanks again for the fine review. Michael More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Athlone Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone #5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone #5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone #5 Spa Hotel in Athlone #7 Family Hotel in Athlone
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern independent hotel located on the outskirts of Athlone with easy access to Athlone Town and the M6 motorway. This superb 4 star hotel prides itself on service, excellent food and a great ambiance. Facilities include restaurant and bar, full leisure facilities with swimming pool, gym and treatment rooms. Conference facilities for up to 500. Free car parking for residents. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
67

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Athlone Springs Hotel and other travelers.
1 question

See which rooms travelers prefer