We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Athlone Springs Hotel

4.0 of 5 Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athlone Springs Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Athlone Springs Hotel
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    187
    59
    46
    25
See reviews for
124
182
22
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (553)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (201)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Ashbourne, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Myself, my husband and our three year old son stayed here in August. All Staff were extremely friendly and helpful in particular the girls at reception who were ALWAYS cheerful and very helpful. Rooms were spacious but bed was very uncomfortable! Neither myself or my husband had a good night sleep there! We ate in the restaurant the first night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Amanda C, It is so lovely to read feedback from our guests and thank you for your review. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and got to take in some of the local activities. Glendeer Pet Farm is very popular for children of all ages. Amanda, I would love if you could contact... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

my wife and I stayed here on 17th - 19th Oct. Rooms are very shabby. We are from the Uk and feel the standards here are always quiet high BUT The Springs is not in this category. We ate on Friday night and the Food was only Fair. Service was ok, but I felt the Staff could be more attentive.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Ivan W, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review. We value all feedback here in Athlone Springs Hotel and I will bring all your comments to our management meeting this week. Each department does have a training programme in place and I will ensure that dinner service will be the main topic for the... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not sure. Who was responsible for the 4 star rating of this hotel. I would say 3 star. The have. "Coloured mood" lighting throughout so you can't see anything!!, the mattress on the bed was one of those spring mattress which literally had spring popping every time you turned. Lighting in the room was also very poor so impossible to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gearoil, Thank you kindly for your very valued feedback. I would hope to speak with you a little further and see which room you stayed in so I can make sure this does not happen again. We have never received a complaint on our mattresses before and usually our guests find our beds extremely comfortable. I have taken all... More

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a weekend away with the whole family. Staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. ( especially Donal and Elaine in the bar). Rooms are very spacious and have everything you need , hair dryer, iron and board , safe , tv, tea, coffee and toiletries. Pool was great with sauna and steam room. Restaurant food was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear THE-DOWN-CLAN, What a fantastic review thank you so much. I am so glad you got to experience Athlone. It really is a great town to visit and there is just so much to do. Great that you mentioned " Sean Pub" which was just reviewed by The Lonely Planet travel guide. All of the team are delighted you enjoyed... More

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a great family weekend at the lovely Athlone Springs hotel. We had generations staying there and everybody from young children to grandparents thoroughly enjoyed their stay. The rooms were bright and spacious and from start to finish the staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. The food in the restaurant was very good and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Tom O, Wow what a review! We are just delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. The pool is always a popular activities for families. Maybe on your next visit you can take in some of the local activities such as Athlone Castle, Glendeer Pet Farm or take a cruise... More

Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just stayed in the Athlone Springs, there were 5 of us on a girls night away, we got a really got B&B, dinner and 30min spa treatment rate. I and all our party will definitely be back - I couldn't fault it. From arrival to departure I have to say the staff couldn't have been more pleasant, friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sb1rk1nshaw, What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for your very valued feedback. We are delighted you and your girls enjoyed your stay. The therapists in Zen Beauty are thrilled to read your review and it just makes all their hard work worth it. You are right, girlie breaks at Athlone Springs Hotel are great value and Athlone... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights, Saturday and Sunday night. There was a function on in the hotel on the Saturday night, hence little or no sleep due to the noise. The bedroom was clean however the bathroom not so clean. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The velvet chairs are stained, the hot food stainless steel holders are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawn032, I am very disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have brought your review to our management team and we will address all your feedback. If you would like to contact me directly to discuss your stay I am available any time. Looking forward to hearing from you soon. Kindest Regards Victoria More

cavan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my son during the summer & we both loved it. Room was great food was lovely & we enjoyed the pool! The only complaint we had was that the room was too warm at night but the staff sent up a fan straight away so that helped us have a comfortable nights sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheekie_cat, Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am delighted to read you and your son had a lovely stay. We hope to see you again soon. Victoria More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed Saturday night for hen party. Was very disappointed with room. Stain in toilet, dirt around sink, floor in bathroom had not even been swept. Gave key back to have room cleaned but when we went back it was still the same. Other people in our group had similar problems. Definitely not 4 star..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sue67m, Thank you for your feedback and I am so disappointed to read you did not have a pleasant stay. I have addressed your comments with our housekeeping team and if you would like to speak with me regards your stay please contact me any time. Kindest Regards Victoria Whelan 090 644 4444 vwhelan@athlonespringshotel.com More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not to be all about the negatives I would like to begin by saying that in general the staff are friendly and accommodating when asked. Also, the food was tasty. However I will not stay here again and this is due to the lack of cleanliness in this hotel. Hotel reception area had stained/sticky chairs and dirty tables, I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sjryan27, Many thanks for your review and your nice feedback about our team. We have taken all your comments regards cleanliness on bored. Since your stay we have a housekeeper full time on our public areas. We also have recently had our carpets cleaned and our furniture is scheduled to be cleaned in the next few weeks. I do... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay