We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glasson Stone Lodge

Glasson Village, Athlone, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athlone
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Glasson Stone Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had the absolute pleasure of staying at Glasson Stone Lodge when we were visiting Ireland to attend our friends' wedding at the Glasson Golf Club. First of all, the building is a gorgeous stone structure and the garden is expertly maintained and lovely. The rooms are extremely clean and homely and the breakfast is delicious. Best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily H
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Emily & Mitch. Nice hearing from you and thank you for your lovely kind words. It was a pleasure havie you stay with us, hope Mitch got over his flu. Hope you had a good trip back to aus. We might be going that way in spring. Best regards Carmel & Oliver More 

West of Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

This B&B is ideally located in the heart of Glasson village and just a short stroll to the many excellent restaurants which the picture postcard village is famed for. On arrival Carmel and Oliver made us feel right at home, our room was huge, warm and furnished as a home and not as a business. The en-suite had everything you... More 

Helpful?
Thank mayonthemove
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

We really appreciate you warm comments. You will be most welcome should you ever be in the vicinity again. Best regards Carmel & Oliver More 

Holywood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

When Carmel and Oliver say "make yourselves at home" they really mean it. Their excellent en suite rooms and the comfort and warmth of their lounge set this place apart from the feeling you get in many otherwise well appointed bed and breakfast 'businesses' we've experienced - and the breakfast is not just hearty with all the 'top-ups' you could... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnandMaura050667
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Maura & John, glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us. It was lovely meeting you and chatting to you, it's people like yourselves that make this business worth doing. Best regards, Carmel & Oliver More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

The rooms were cold and our shower was very poor. I did not like the cooked breakfast at all, very small pieces of everything not a proper full Irish breakfast. The most tasteless breakfast I have ever eaten or picked at ever in my travels.

Helpful?
Thank Aisling G
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Aisling, so disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately you didn't let us know when you were here, we could have easily turned on extra heat and provided extra breakfast and indeed are frequently complimented on our breakfast. We will use your review to help improve our service. Regards Oliver More 

kfar yona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

We stayed in Glasson Stone Lodge about six weeks ago. This was towards the end of our ten-day trip Ireland. We stayed in many B&B's, but Glsson Stone Lodge was the one we liked the most. Carmel and Oliver are very friendly and tried to do their best to help us feel comfortable and get to know the area. Their... More 

Helpful?
Thank kati b
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kati & Israel, thank you for your lovely review, great to hear you enjoyed Ireland and especially Glasson Stone Lodge. Regards Carmel & oliver More 

Crema, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

A really comfortable lodge! Oliver and his wife, who is of Italian origins, make you feel like you're at home. I stayed here on the day of my birthday with my family: I had booked an Italian restaurant in Athlone, but it was not easy to find. Then Oliver and his wife very kindly took their car and drove us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Andrea, thank you for you lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you all. I'm sure you would do the same for us. Nice to see a family holiday together, all the best Carmel & Oliver More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

Stayed in Stone Lodge for wedding. Great location in the centre of Glasson. As the weather was cold & raining the huge open fire in the sitting room was very welcoming. Our room was extremely comfortable with some quirky designs. Carmel was very helpful with directions & local information. Breakfast was fabulous and there was no rush to leave in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frances S
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review, it was our pleasure have you stay with us at Glasson Stone Lodge, hope to see you again. Best regards Carmel & Oliver More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

I stayed at the Stone Lodge to attend a wedding down the road from there. Carmel and Oliver are kind and thoughtful hosts, and I felt very comfortable and welcome. Carmel has thought of all the details in the rooms, not only are they spotless and beautifully furnished, but you have everything available for you including TV and free wifi.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen V
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Karen, thank you so much for your lovely review, it was our pleasure having you stay with us. all the best from,Carmel & Oliver More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here while attending a wedding in Glasson. The B&B is spotless with spacious rooms. The ensuite was equipped with a number of extras such as deodorant, face wipes, creams, shower gels, ear buds, shampoo, conditioner to name a few. The shower was powerful and lovely and warm. The room was elegantly decorated. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank MBY1983
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate you taking the time to post your kind review. It's easy when we have guests like yourselves stay, Carmel & Oliver More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

We found the Lodge on the internet for a one night stay on our way between Limerick and Monaghan. The room was very clean and comfortable and at €40 per person per night was a good deal. The owner was charming and welcoming and her recommendations for dinner and a morning walk worked out very well.

Helpful?
Thank FrancoCanucks
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us, it was lovely meeting you both, best regards Carmel & oliver More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
5.1 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#3 of 8 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 stars 1,502 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#2 of 8 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
5.1 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#2 of 21 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities