We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Athlone hotels

Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone to your Saves list
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
78%
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
anthony c Dublin, Ireland
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    70
    15
    13
    21
See reviews for
43
79
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we had the pleasure of staying in the shamrock lodge hotel for the last 3 days from the moment we arrived on the sunday 14 th sept 14 to the moment we checked out everything was wonderful from the checkin staff who where so helpful 'the room was so big and very clean and everything we wanted'the food from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of September and were pleasantly surprised as were allowed to check in early. Our room was modern with large comfortable double bed and good sized bathroom. The breakfasts were cooked to order and were excellent. Shamrock Lodge Hotel is only 10 minutes from the town centre. Free wifi throughout hotel. Pleasant well-stocked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cashel, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent one night in Apartment 117 because we knew it would be larger than a typical family room in any local hotel. The apartments are good value but they are starting to show the results of people spilling things on the wooden fixtures and the dark shade of the major pieces of furniture shows fair wear and tear and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This would have to be one of the best value for money hotels in Ireland. The room was great, wonderful mattress, quality linen and a large room. The bar meals were varied and a reasonable price. I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tralee, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the apartments recently and we were very happy with the standard and cleanliness of the accommodation. It was spacious and the bathrooms were of a good size. The only negative comment was that the apartment had a fridge and kettle, but there were no plates or cutlery to give the option of making a snack... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Hello Kab56 Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you in the Future. Kind Regards Alan McCaul More

Skerries, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel for two nights midweek with a group. The rooms were of a high standard while the food was really delicious. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is in a good location in Athlone and is great value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Hello Kieran444, Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.We appericate you taking the time to post a review. Kind Regards Alan McCaul More

Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worst experience in last 10 years😁, actually upset and could not wait to leave. I have written a full and fair breakdown to the General Manager. Very surprised , my expectations were not high, expected ok as go to weddings, charity events and meetings there for years and yearsDo not go if you have any disability ... Staff do not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Hello RubyD, I am the General Manager of the Shamrock Lodge Hotel and this is the first correspondence I have received from you. As the issues that you have outlined in your review are very serious i would like to speak with you directly. The experiences that you have spoken about do not mirror our Hotel and the way we... More

Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My family and I stayed here for a 2 night midweek break and I have to say it was great value for money. The hotel is conveniently located with a 5 minute walk into town, but this is a walk I personally wouldn't do at night. Food in the hotel was simply fantastic. I only had two complaints, One was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Hello Cintonx4 Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the Future. Kind Regards Alan More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Difficult to find however the people of Athlone were very helpful with their directions. The Hotel appears to be split into two sections new and old, the grounds and entrance are lovely. I only visited for lunch which was good, the staff were very friendly, nice hotel just on the outskirts of Athlone

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Hello TMPB Thank you for your nice comments about our staff. We will display tour comments in our staff area. Many thanks Alan McCaul General Manager More

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Well we just got married and used the shamrock lodge for our reception and it was simply amazing! The hotel is family run and it shows, nothing was any trouble and anything we asked for was already done! The hotel is modern the food was fantastic and the value was second to none! We couldn't have asked for any more!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Hello Cadete981 Thank you very much for your review. It was our pleasure to host your wedding.We were delighted with how the day went and we look forward to seeing you both soon. Kind Regards Alan McCaul General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Athlone with
any amenities