We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Athlone hotels

Creggan Court

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilmartin Centre (n6) | Dublin Road, Athlone, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Creggan Court to your Saves list
Creggan Court
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
57%
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Athlone
A recent review
  • Reviews (142)
  • Photos (23)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (31)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    57
    31
    15
    17
See reviews for
28
50
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. The room was dirty, the bar was freezing cold, the food was terrible, the bed was dipping in one direction, the mattresses like rock, the pillows like 2 slabs of stone. We contemplated going home at 8.30pm the night we arrived, after sending our inedible food back to the kitchen (anyone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very disappointed to hear about your experience following your recent stay at our hotel. Please contact me directly as I would like to discuss the issues you have mentioned with yourself. Customer feedback is essential, and we do endeavor to rectify any issues customers raise. I can be contacted at info@creggancourt.com More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked at 2 night b&b +1 meal. On arrival the hotel is behind a McDonald's and petrol station with a woodies on one side and an nct center on the other. This did not bother me but it was quite busy. On checking in first impressions were good and the receptionist was extremely friendly. We got to our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would appreciate if you would contact me directly at info@creggancourt.com to discuss your complaints further, as I feel this review is rather harsh. We have checked rooms since and certainly found no evidence of what you describe in your review, other than the grout around the bath, which we are in the process of renewing. With regards... More

galway, ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got a deal for 2 B&B + 1 dinner. We know Athlone well enough to know we wouldn't be close to the centre of town but we assumed there would be enough in the hotel and we could go shopping during the day. Anyway, when we landed the room was grand, nothing exciting. We went down to the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is unfortunate that you did not raise these issues with us before your departure as we would endeavor to rectify the same. Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we greatly appreciate... More

Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and partner stayed for one night on a busy paddys weekend while on our stay we found the *Staff were friendly and accommodating *Room was a bit dated and shabby but it was spotlessly clean. *Breakfast was tasty and a good selection available. We would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. When you wish to stay here again, we would be delighted to offer you a complimentary bottle of wine to your room. Please contact Maureen via email at info@creggancourt.com and she will be delighted to facilitate you. More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a deal for a two night stay with a meal included. We arrived and saw that the hotel is practically in the four court of the garage and in between a Woodies and an NCT centre. It's the perfect stop over hotel for people passing through but not at all suitable for a weekend break for a couple.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment following your recent stay, unfortunately you encountered issues during your stay, customer feedback is of utmost importance in order to maintain a good level of service, comfort and satisfaction. We take on board your issues and can assure you every effort will be made to prevent similar issues arising. More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

It was mainly the food that let this place down. Breakfast wasn't nice and neither was the food in the bar. We got a meal voucher with a hotel deal but still had to pay €15 for the steak and got no other food. So the meal voucher is only for afew other items on the menu which are all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We have investigated the issues you have raised during your recent stay, and will endeavor to ensure that these issues do not reoccur. We treat guest reviews with utmost importance, and act on them promptly. More

Millstreet, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

On Friday 14th February I was caught in Athlone, I checked 2 hotels, the Shamrock Lodge which quoted me €109 B&B then €89 when i told the lady i wanted just a single, Then i tried the prince of wales €95 for single B&B very nice hotels but very expensive i thought plus both reception girls lacked any friendliness and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Creggan Court Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and value your kind comments, and will pass them on to the staff. We hope that you will visit us again in the future and can assure you of the same... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here for a conference in the nearby college so location was great for this. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly, no issues with breakfast either. Got a deal online so value for money was there. The rooms are very dated with small uncomfortable double beds, hit and miss with the TV too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We take on board issues raised and hope it will not deter you from staying in Creggan Court Hotel again. More

Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Nice clean Hotel just outside Athlone. The room was basic enough but clean. Hotel staff were very nice and friendly. Full of knowledge of where to go and what to do. The breakfast in the morning was very nice. I would recommend this hotel for a group of friends/ family

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Guest feedback is very important to us and all comments are taken on board. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again in the future. More

dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here recently with my family and i can honestly say it was one of the best hotels i have stayed in for a long time, now the hotel itself is comfortable and warm a little dated but what makes the difference is the wonderful staff that are helpful and there to help in any way the can. They also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine D, General Manager at Creggan Court, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your kind comments and hope that you will stay with us again in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Creggan Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Creggan Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creggan Court

Also Known As:
Creggan Court Hotel Athlone
Creggan Court Hotel
Address: Kilmartin Centre (n6) | Dublin Road, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Creggan Court 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We the Creggan Court Hotel are located in the heart of Ireland, Just outside Athlone town, a town rich in heritage and history.We are a 72 bedroom hotel. All rooms have free wifi, cable tv, direct phone line, hairdryer tea/coffee facilities. a laundry services can also be provided. We have ample free car parking spaces. Our reception desk is open 24 hours to assist all our guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay.If you are feeling hungry on arrival don't worry our Granary Bar serves food daily, you can sit back and relax and enjoy traditional Irish hospitality with meals to suit all. Our lemon tree restaurant can cater for up to 100 people, ideal for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Your business is our pleasure, we aim to provide a friendly and welcoming environment for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Creggan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity Priceline.com
and 4 more sites!

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We the Creggan Court Hotel are located in the heart of Ireland, Just outside Athlone town, a town rich in heritage and history.We are a 72 bedroom hotel. All rooms have free wifi, cable tv, direct phone line, hairdryer tea/coffee facilities. a laundry services can also be provided. We have ample free car parking spaces. Our reception desk is open 24 hours to assist all our guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay.If you are feeling hungry on arrival don't worry our Granary Bar serves food daily, you can sit back and relax and enjoy traditional Irish hospitality with meals to suit all. Our lemon tree restaurant can cater for up to 100 people, ideal for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Your business is our pleasure, we aim to provide a friendly and welcoming environment for all our guests. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
72

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.