We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wineport Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wineport Lodge
Add Your Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    104
    46
    21
    6
See reviews for
54
415
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (619)
  • Mar-May only
    (153)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (171)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having wanted to try the Winderport Lodge for many years, my husband and I checked in for our wedding anniversary and were we thrilled we had?. It was everything and more that we could have hoped for. Norma and her wonderful staff made us feel so special and our dinner and breakfast were first class. On arrival, we spent a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mullingar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a lakeside restaurant with beautiful views across the inner lakes of Lough Ree. It is well furnished and decorated. The only problem is the price and standard of food. We were very disappointed with the choice and quality. Service was slow. Meals were highly priced for what they were (€17.00 for sausage and mash) Place was pretty empty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Treated ourselves to 1 night D/B/B at Wineport.Initially slightly disappointed at the room size,despite good balcony it seemed quite small. However views over the lake are stunning AND excellent filter coffee in the room with some yummy mini brownies. Dinner was really top notch. We shared seafood platter to start,venison and pork belly to follow then shared dessert selection.The chocolate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
123 hotel reviews
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This property was a surprise and I quite honestly I did not have that high of expectations but in every regard expectations were exceeded. The whole staff was unbelievably kind and helpful. The food, service, and overall home feel was excellent. Having stayed at many Aman resorts, the Wineport matched the kindness and at home feel. Clearly it is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What an experience! Went here with a group of friends on Saturday 21st March & it was amazing. Luckily for us we got a really good day weather wise so the views & surrounding areas were just beautiful The food was second to none & every one of us enjoyed our choices. The service was also impeccable. They were extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Grianan 2014, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport. Kind regards, Norma More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to wineport lodge with my partner and mum and dad as a late Christmas present ! Well It's just the most wonderful room I've ever stayed in , everything you could possible need , comfy bed, TV , lovely bathroom , mini bar , tea coffee, little chocolate brownies, large bottle of water , and a little personalised welcome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed in the wineport lodge from 6th till 8th March 2015. This was one of our most important stays as I was intending to propose to my girlfriend on this stay. As you can imagine everything needed to be perfect and I was expecting a very high quality from the room to the staffs service and in all accounts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Adam H, Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We are delighted with it. We really enjoyed having you both with us & helping you plan your special visit. Congratulations again to you and Shauna from all of us. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Kind regards, Norma More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This fabulous boutique hotel has won loads of awards and there is no doubt it is a unique experience to stay here. The breakfast is outstanding however we were disappointed with dinner on the two nights we ate in the restaurant. However this did not take away from our enjoyment of our stay. We stayed for three nights and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marian54_11, Thank you for taking the time to post your view. We really appreciate all feedback and we will be discussing your comments on the food with our kitchen team. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with the dinner on both evenings, but we are happy to hear that you would still recommend Wineport to others. We hope... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on Monday night 16th March. Lovely warm friendly welcome and fabulous décor. A few little observations re the hot tub, we were not advised to bring our own towels down and it was impossible to see the controls in the dark so we were unable to get any bubbles going! We were told to go into the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fran O, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We will be discussing all your feedback with all of our staff. If you choose to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards, Norma More 

Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ray greeted newcomers at reception, which was a nice touch, history of the business, wineport origin etc. on walls & room pack.Room was bright, clean, quite and airy with a nice view. Staff walk us to room...again a nice touch. Ate in the restaurant, it was busy and the service was really good...there seemed to be extra staff floating around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Loo99car, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate your feedback & comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Wineport in the future. Kind regards, Norma More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

641 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (196)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (58)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (394)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Champagne Suite (74)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Suite (55)
Viewed
Other (124)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question