We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Castlemartyr hotels

Castlemartyr Resort

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Castlemartyr Resort to your Saves list
Castlemartyr Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
82%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Castlemartyr
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
gurtinard dublin
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    124
    61
    31
    13
See reviews for
165
254
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival car parking facilities bad if you do not get a space at the side of the hotel one has a bit of a walk.Room very nice but the bed very bad a continental quilt on top of the mattress to try and cover the two big dents on the mattress .Had afternoon tea for one it was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clonmel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is lovely, room and bathroom are fab, very relaxing bar area and lounges. However the breakfast was very very disappointing, not cooked fresh and really should be in a 5* hotel, service was very good. The Italian was lovely we had a meal there. The wine is expensive but very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't decide about this place. Nothing major to complain about but nothing major to rave about either. Lovely grounds for a walk. Food in Italian was ok - again nothing spectacular but fine. Room was huge but had wooden floors. I prefer nice fluffy carpets in hotels. Breakfast was fine. I don't like the disjointed feel to the place.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just had a weekend at Castlemartyr and we really enjoyed our selves, we check in and were met by George who was a nice familiar face. He showed us down to our room which this time had a great view of the golf course. We ate the first night in Franchinis and we really enjoyed it. The staff was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights- a Friday and Saturday. This hotel is definitely not a 5 star hotel, but then again, given all the specials and promotions, neither are its prices. Room was fine, nothing special. No mini bar- fridge was stripped of everything apart from the complimentary water- suggesting the majority of guests are not 5 star either... Toiletries were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review

Dear AdiH, Thanks for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I have highlighted some of the minor details that you have mentioned to my department heads. It is only through this valuble feedback that we are able to better ourselves and our product. We look forward to your next visit to Castlemartyr... More

Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had the misfortune of booking afternoon tea yesterday (29/3/14) for my birthday with my mom. We thought we would treat ourselves, it being Mother's Day today also. Afternoon tea was offered at €24 for one and €32 for a champagne tea. Quite reasonable we thought. We arrived 30 minutes early and sat in the bar for a glass of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sorry to say that the property is poorly maintained, grounds are unkempt and the breakfast service was insufferably slow. It really was embarrassing to see what this hotel has become. Staff did not really care for feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review

Dear Killian O, Thanks for your review. We are currently looking at revamping our parking system. During the recent storms we had 35 trees fall on the grounds. As you can imagine there has been alot of heavy machinery in and around the hotel to remove the fallen, most of them were 200+ year old everygreen oak. If there is... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location and the property is fantastic, all weel kept and nice. However the first minor thing to annoy me is the complete lack of parking, especially if the golf course is busy. Had to park on the side of the small road and was just hoping the following the morning that the car wasn't hit during the night. Had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan W, Thanks for your review. We are looking into all the points you have made. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. But I am disapointed with some elements of your review that clearly should not have occurred. I will be discussing your experience with the team at our regular management meetings. Thanks for your review and... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great breakaway at Castlemartyr. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and extremely efficient. The food was superb. We ate inhouse both nights. Our room was so clean and comfortable and with our own private garden area we really loved every minute. We will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the fantastic review, We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon. Regards Cathal and all the team. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This venue is seriously impressive. Magnificent surroundings, with ancient ruins at every turn. We stayed in one of the Mews Cottages (3 bedroom) with every modern convenience. These can be booked through "Natural Retreats. COM". A decidedly cheaper option than the hotel, while still having full use of the hotel facilities, like the fab pool and Spa. It's a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review

Dear SueTralee, Thanks for your great review, we look forward to seeing you back to Castlemartyr. Regards Cathal Lynch More

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr
Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand seventeenth century countrymanor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a yoga and pilates studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlemartyr Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.