We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Shannon hotels

Oak Wood Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Airport Road | Town Centre, Shannon, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Wood Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Annie C Dublin, Ireland
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    145
    75
    40
    22
See reviews for
94
183
35
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (453)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (180)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were given an Escape.ie voucher in December and stayed for 2 nights with a meal included. The hotel was rustic and the rooms was outdated but comfortable. It was a cold couple of nights but we were able to adjust the temperature of the heater which was fantastic. We had 2 toddlers with us and we got a twin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Outdated decor, outdated restaurant, terrible food. Only good thing about this hotel is its proximity to Ennis/Airport. Pool facilities were tired and aged. Our room was fine, but the curtains were filthy and bathrooms just outdated. Very disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grace M, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. If it would be possible i would like to discuss this further with you, could you please send us an email to sales@oakwoodarms.com with you contact details. Look forward to hearing from you. Frances Kinnane Sales & Marketing Manager Oak Wood... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed Christmas Eve. On arrival were Greeted by Chocolates and Christmas card in our room signed by Staff. Terrific entertainment in Bar with Live Band. Enjoyed it so much we will return next year again. We have stayed in this area several times on business and have never heard of this Hotel which is surprising as it is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 920Dee1, I'm delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas Holidays and that you took time out to share your feedback with us. We are very fortunate in having a great team of staff here at The Oakwood Arms Hotel and believe that this enhances guest’s experiences during their stay. I will be... More 

Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful Christmas at this hotel. It was our first Christmas away from home and we will definitely stay again next year. I stayed in a suite which was large and comfortable. There was a Xmas tree in the room and a box of chocolates and Xmas card from the staff. All the usual facilities in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Radburns, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here with us at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. Christmas is a very special time for people and we are pleased to know that you time with us was enjoyable. We are a family run and managed hotel and customer service is of utmost importance to... More 

Carmel Valley
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel and convenient to Shannon Airport. Close enough and far enough to be quiet. Staff is friendly and helpful. The Restaurant on the other hand is really terrible. Understand tha this is maybe the first truly negative review I have ever given. I am a positive person and very forgiving. First the bar. Tender did I not know how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pjdowd, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. We deeply value your relationship with the Oakwood Arms Hotel and are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. We did not measure up to our usual standards on that... More 

spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the most fabulous time in this hotel on the Christmas package 2014. When we first arrived, we all said it had a 'good feel' to it which was a good start. The greeting from reception was friendly and efficient. The bedrooms are spacious, warm and clean and we had a Christmas card and a box of chocolates which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tikkiSpain, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here with us at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. We are pleased to know that you time with us was enjoyable. We are a family run and managed hotel and customer service is of utmost importance to us and I will be sure to share your... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 via mobile

Super location for workers in the Shannon area as is evident by their presence each day at breakfast. To start with the breakfast - a pretty sad affair with not much thought or effort by management to improve, at one time it matched most good hotels, freshly prepared by the kitchen and served to your table. Now, a poor affair.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crinkly, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. It’s part of the hotels policy to read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you our clients are receiving the highest level of service. We really are disappointed when people feel let down with... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

This looks a lovely country style hotel from outside and this is what you get. The decor is a bit dark and needs some re furbishment, however the Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean but need some TLC. I had a problem with toilet, in that it wouldn't stop flushing. I contacted reception and some one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pat A Thank you for taking the time for writing a review on your recent stay with us here at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. It is with pleasure that I can assure you that your feedback has been taken on board. As we are in the quitter season, during the recent weeks we have been working on the maintenance... More 

Palm City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We've stayed here many times as is close to airport for early morning flights. Staff is always polite and helpful. Restaurant is usually open day and night and food is good. Price is reasonable. Over the years their laundry has gotten very crummy- their towels looks like they've cleaned floors with them and I always bring my own as they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at Oak Wood Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donnatm, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stays here at the Oakwood Arms Hotel. We are so delighted to hear your overall stay with us was enjoyable. As we are in the quitter season, during the recent weeks we have been working on the maintenance issues throughout the hotel. I can confirm that we have... More 

Spokane, Washington, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We stayed at the Oak Wood Arms upon our arrival in Ireland. We had an 18 hour flight and no sleep and the receptionist went out of her way to get us into our rooms at 9:00 in the morning! We did have a small issue with surging hot/cold water in our shower, but it was not enough to complain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oak Wood Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Wood Arms Hotel

Address: Airport Road | Town Centre, Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Wood Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oak Wood Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay