We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alcock & Brown Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Clifden Connemara, Clifden 00000, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Alcock & Brown Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    112
    72
    29
    9
    10
See reviews for
43
71
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
There are newer reviews for Alcock & Brown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Have been visiting Clifden for years but this was the first time I stayed in this hotel.The staff were friendly, the room was clean and quiet (although if you're looking for a view ask for a room at the front) and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is right at the centre of the town and if you're happy to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi ilpd, Thanks for your complimentary review. We are so pleased you had such a good experience at our hotel. Our staff pride themselves on making people feel welcome so we are happy you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel, particularly our cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Aideen More 

Birr, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

weekend stag with 36 lads not one compliant from any one. the staff were very friendly the food was top class and the rooms were clean spacious and very comfortable. I could not find anything to say bad about this hotel. if you planning a trip for a group I'd highly recommend this hotel. there were other people staying in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi WilliamR, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. It was our pleasure to host you as you were ALL such lovely lads!! We wish you well with the wedding and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back here... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Staff not friendly and service disaster don't stay here No iron board in the room. As the desert arrived bill was brought out very fast unlike our meal ............ Need to improve there people skills

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Salmon 1235, I am so sorry the service you received during your meal was not up to our usual standard. Whilst I know our restaurant was packed during August, that is certainly no excuse for poor service. I have spoken with our team on the issue. Regarding the iron, there is an iron and board available on request....we deliver... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This hotel seem to have ticked every box for me in so many ways. I had welcoming staff that efficiently dealt with my requests. The room was crisp fresh and airy .It had been just refurbished this year so after a long journey,sleep wasn't a problem.Next morning for breakfast I was able order exactly what I wanted.Plenty offers of more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marybridget68, Thank you so much for your wonderfully comprehensive and most complimentary review of our hotel! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience with all aspects of our hotel. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel welcome and offering the best service.We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Nice friendly relaxed hotel. Rooms are nice. Clean and spacious. Bathroom has some nice original features. The Weather was bad the night I stayed so had dinner in hotel restaurant. Very expensive (2e for diluted orange?) for what it was and no veg with mains which is a first for me. Would stay again but eat elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Noel, thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the weather - you must have chosen the only few days we had rain this summer !! Regarding our food and drink prices, I think we compare very favourably with other establishments. We have both A La Carte and Table d'Hote menus. Our Table d'Hote... More 

West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Lots of work needed by a couple of people there on basic hospitality or friendliness that should be extended but female proprietor (I think) and waitresses in coffee shop and serving breakfast were really lovely people and very efficient. A real plus is breakfast ordered and served to your liking such a brilliant experience compared to the buffet style service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AnnieGee, thank you for your review and I note your comments on the improvements we can make. I appreciate the time you took to write. Regarding the 2 girls, our staff are asked to be vigilant and ensure only residents go to the rooms. I am sure you understand that this is for the security and safety of everyone.... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is in a great location but the room was awful ...broken furniture and lamps ....really old and tatty curtains ....nothing like the pictures on line ..the towels were old worn and very grey and should be replaced immediately ...there was a plug in air freshener in the hallway to mask a smell ...this is a 3star hotel my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AnnM, it is rare that I see a review that annoys me. Most people speak their minds honestly about their experiences and I can generally see where they are coming from and may agree or disagree. However your review does not fall into that category. The photos on our site were taken in the last 12 months and do... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I have just returned from an overnight stay here, I can not praise the hotel and staff enough. From the moment we checked in we were greeted with a wonderful friendly welcome from the receptionist/manager. Throughout our stay the staff were so nice and could not do enough for you. We had a fabulous dinner in the Restaurant, there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 76Sammo, Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely glowing review. We are so pleased you had a good experience from the moment you arrived and that you were impressed with our friendly staff and service and so many aspects of our hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in... More 

Meath
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed here overnight while on business in the area.I really enjoyed the stay.Hotel is in a good location at the top of the town.All staff were very friendly and helpful;genuinely wanting you to enjoy your stay and your time in the area.Although I imagine this is an old hotel,the room was great and it was very clean.The breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Breezer67, Many thanks for your very complimentary review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular that you were impressed with our staff and food and, of course, our great central location! We hope to welcome you back here again very soon. Aideen More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have stayed here, however I always have my coffee here together with a sweet treat. This time I also had lunch, being the chowder and it was great, while last year (2013) I had dinner as well also good. I must say that on each occasion I have been warmly greeted and the service was exceptional. There were quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are pleased you enjoyed coffee and sweet treats and lunch in our newly refurbished Coffee House and Restaurant. Our staff will be happy to know that you felt the warm welcome and were impressed with their service. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back here... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Clifden Station House
#3 of 6 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
8.1 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay