We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Clifden hotels

Alcock & Brown Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clifden Connemara, Clifden 00000, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Alcock & Brown Hotel to your Saves list
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
80%
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
MaryBridget68 Dublin, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (165)
  • Photos (24)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • More
true
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    52
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
30
43
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel seem to have ticked every box for me in so many ways. I had welcoming staff that efficiently dealt with my requests. The room was crisp fresh and airy .It had been just refurbished this year so after a long journey,sleep wasn't a problem.Next morning for breakfast I was able order exactly what I wanted.Plenty offers of more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice friendly relaxed hotel. Rooms are nice. Clean and spacious. Bathroom has some nice original features. The Weather was bad the night I stayed so had dinner in hotel restaurant. Very expensive (2e for diluted orange?) for what it was and no veg with mains which is a first for me. Would stay again but eat elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lots of work needed by a couple of people there on basic hospitality or friendliness that should be extended but female proprietor (I think) and waitresses in coffee shop and serving breakfast were really lovely people and very efficient. A real plus is breakfast ordered and served to your liking such a brilliant experience compared to the buffet style service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location but the room was awful ...broken furniture and lamps ....really old and tatty curtains ....nothing like the pictures on line ..the towels were old worn and very grey and should be replaced immediately ...there was a plug in air freshener in the hallway to mask a smell ...this is a 3star hotel my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just returned from an overnight stay here, I can not praise the hotel and staff enough. From the moment we checked in we were greeted with a wonderful friendly welcome from the receptionist/manager. Throughout our stay the staff were so nice and could not do enough for you. We had a fabulous dinner in the Restaurant, there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 76Sammo, Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely glowing review. We are so pleased you had a good experience from the moment you arrived and that you were impressed with our friendly staff and service and so many aspects of our hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in... More

Meath
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here overnight while on business in the area.I really enjoyed the stay.Hotel is in a good location at the top of the town.All staff were very friendly and helpful;genuinely wanting you to enjoy your stay and your time in the area.Although I imagine this is an old hotel,the room was great and it was very clean.The breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Breezer67, Many thanks for your very complimentary review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular that you were impressed with our staff and food and, of course, our great central location! We hope to welcome you back here again very soon. Aideen More

Sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here, however I always have my coffee here together with a sweet treat. This time I also had lunch, being the chowder and it was great, while last year (2013) I had dinner as well also good. I must say that on each occasion I have been warmly greeted and the service was exceptional. There were quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are pleased you enjoyed coffee and sweet treats and lunch in our newly refurbished Coffee House and Restaurant. Our staff will be happy to know that you felt the warm welcome and were impressed with their service. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back here... More

Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location in Cliften. The staff are very welcoming & friendly. The hotel itself is very basic & the bedrooms are dated but clean & serve their purpose. We ate in the restaurant in the hotel as part of a group. The food was good but the service was terrible & so slow. Some in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have noted your comments regarding service at the time your group dined and apologise if the service was slow. All our food is cooked to order. We are pleased that you felt welcome at our hotel and that you enjoyed the food. Regards, Aideen More

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is fine for a short stay or if you plan on moving around. The room was basic enough. There was nobody in the restaurant or bar. I wondered how they manage to stay open. I had no complaints but wouldn't stay if you like your hotel atmosphere. However clifden is hopping and this hotel stands at the top... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindaw65, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our Hotel and Restaurant have been heavily booked for the past few weeks. It could be that at the time of your stay there was a group staying who dined at a particular time, different from the time you happened to be in the restaurant and bar. We... More

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My self and my family stayed in this great family run hotel for 3 nights. We were very presently surprised with warm welcome , great food and lovely new rooms(which had wifi!!). Great breakfast every morning served by young friendly staff who were very helpful in helping us plan our days. Ate in the restaurant 2 nights and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John B, Thank you so much for your complimentary review. It was our pleasure to welcome you here and we are happy you felt welcome by our staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forwards to seeing you here soon. again. Regards, Aideen More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alcock & Brown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alcock & Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcock & Brown Hotel

Address: Clifden Connemara, Clifden 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcock & Brown Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alcock & Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcock Brown Hotel

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alcock & Brown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer