We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale

4.0 of 5 Rathmore Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    110
    58
    30
    23
See reviews for
78
153
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (380)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
There are newer reviews for Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale
See the most recent reviews
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The garden view room was dingy, the bathrooms dirty and we were genuinely concerned that we would have bed bugs after sleeping there. The grounds are nice but that's about it. The hotel is a bit far from Kinsale. The spa was smelly and out of date. There are better options out there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RMcCarthyGM, Manager at Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Guest ACW35, I would be grateful if you would contact me directly at pshields@carlton.ie regarding your Trip Advisor Review. We take pride in our Aphrodite Hills Spa which regularly receives very positive feedback from our valued guests. Our conscientious accommodation department endeavour to ensure the highest degree of standards and service are maintained. We are less than 10 minutes... More

Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Having viewed other reviews i had mixed feeling about booking this hotel however my family booked a 3 bedroom garden suite for 2 nights . We paid €199 per night b/b the suite consisted of 3 double bedrooms all ensuite an open plan sitting room kitchen diner. We found this to be great value for families ,the pool area was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RMcCarthyGM, Manager at Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Guest KerryDirector, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us at the Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale. It was with pleasure that I read you enjoyed the value of our Garden Suites and that your children were able to enjoy our Mini Explorers Club. I was delighted to read that you were pleased... More

Kinsale, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Everything about my wedding at the Carlton, Kinsale in October 2012 was wonderful. From the planning of the event to the settling of the bill, I couldn't have asked for anything more. The Wedding co-ordinator Claire was extremely helpful, as were all the staff. The venue itself was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was great, The only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RMcCarthyGM, Manager at Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Guests MBandDF, Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent wedding reception with us at the Carlton Hotel in Kinsale. We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. Our team endeavor to ensure every wedding at the Carlton Hotel Kinsale is catered to with the highest standard of customer service and greatest attention to detail. It... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

€5.20 for a bottle of water and the hotel had no strawberries, rasberries or blueberries (strange) Food poor, everything deep fried and comes with chips. Healthier options would have been nice. Other than that, service good

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RMcCarthyGM, Manager at Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Guest Suzannesher, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale. Please allow me to address some of your concerns regarding your stay - We do in fact charge €5.20 for a bottle of water but I believe your review may be misleading. The €5.20 bottle of water... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights one of those for a wedding! Everything was fab ESP the staff who could not do enough!! I really enjoyed this stay and would highly recommend it, I didn't realise there was a shuttle bus to bring you in and out of kinsale regularly which was great too! I hope to go back there again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RMcCarthyGM, Manager at Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Guest Holidayfunhad2011, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your visit to the Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale. It sounds like you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. It is fantastic to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we appreciate being given the opportunity to go back to our staff with... More

Llandyssil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautiful location, friendly staff, but lots of big hiccups. Paid first half of deposit via internet banking, as living in Wales, no problem, paid remainder the exact same way. They couldn't find it, numerous emails later, a phone call to my bank to confirm payment, more emails and a phone conversation with their finance office eventually helped them to locate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

All of the beautiful photos of this hotel still don't do it justice, it was overwhelming to see in person! We somehow managed to get a garden suite, way too big for two people, could comfortably accommodate 6. But we enjoyed it all the same. The shuttle in to town was perfect & the driver gave us good suggestions for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RMcCarthyGM, Manager at Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Guest Hymay, Thank you for your review of the Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale. It was good to read that you enjoyed your surroundings so much including the rooms. It was with surprise that I read that you did not enjoy the meals or service in our Rockpool Restaurant or Bar. We receive many compliments regarding the friendliness... More

Dublin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Advantages: - Beautiful hotel and grounds - nice walking trails - Free parking - Big rooms / beds - Ironing board / hairdryer / kettle - Bathroom had separate shower / bath tub - Excellent breakfast (choice of hot food and continental) included in the price - Great food in the restaurant - Night shuttle to Kinsale - Nice pool,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RMcCarthyGM, Manager at Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Guest PhillyFeatures, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to the Carlton in Kinsale. I was delighted to read you found so many positives regarding your stay with us. Our friendly staff are our number one asset and we take great pride in their development. You did mention that we were a little out of town... More

blackpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

fantastic views very relaxing , food amazing and i loved the sauna , gym , pool . staff very helpful . was there for a wedding in April and i really can not fault it , was totally relaxed . thank you to all the staff at the Carlton.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RMcCarthyGM, Manager at Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Guest ardernhotelblackpool, Thank you for taking the time to provide TripAdvisor with feedback regarding your visit to us at the Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale. It was with pleasure that I read your comments. It is great to be able to go back to the team with positive feedback regarding the wedding reception you attended. We aim for... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale

Address: Rathmore Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Kinsale Hotel Kinsale
Carlton Kinsale Hotel And Spa
Carlton Hotel Kinsale

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay