We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trident Hotel Kinsale

4.0 of 5 World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Special Offer
Discover Kinsale Special
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    194
    103
    35
    19
See reviews for
91
279
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (551)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (204)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Blarney, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived for two nights at this hotel on Saturday 18th October), chosen for its location (on the harbour and within walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars) for my surprise 60th birthday treat. It was indeed a great location and convenient. The hotel looked dated on the outside though, but that didn't matter to us as long as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you for taking the time to post an extensive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have taken note of your observations regarding your room and will bear this in mind when we commence our refurbishment during the winter period. With regard... More

Bobcaygeon, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Trident for a couple of nights in September. Walking distance to town, great views of sunset over the harbour. Room was good value and we were upgraded to a suite at no extra cost. We had a private L shaped patio overlooking the harbour - fantastic for early evening wine and cheese. Breakfast was excellent in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Gord, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in September. I am delighted that you felt that you stay was good value and that the service and atmosphere in our Wharf Tavern and breakfast in our panoramic Pier One was excellent. "Picture Perfect Location" is a great accolade and I am glad that is... More

East Hampton, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

TV was old and broken. We needed a phone replaced... the place looks like it has been overused and needs updating.. One couple said their "non smoking " room reeked of smoke.. worst hotel we stayed in in Ireland..It was similar to a badly needed renovation Holiday Inn.. the staff were inviting but the room was so lacking.. Irish breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear evensong3, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with a number of aspects during your stay. We are planning to continue our refurbishment during the winter months and a number of issues you outlined will be taken care of during that time.... More

Brookport, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite charming inn. We spent four days there in September of this year. Excellent restaurant. One of the best dishes in the evening was the mussels in wine sauce. And the best dessert ever was the Sticky Toffee Pudding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Judy, Thank you for your review of your stay with us in September. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and particularly our local mussels in wine sauce - they don't have to come too far as Oysterhaven is just around the corner! I see you have a sweet tooth as you enjoyed Shirley's Sticky Toffee pudding also!... More

Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Trident is a wonderfully located hotel beside Kinsale harbour and marina. It is a pleasant hotel with friendly and professional staff. It is only 5 mins walk from the heart of the town.The views from the rooms range from directly looking out over the harbour or as we were looking out onto the main road with side views to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Marcus, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff friendly and professional. Our location is ideal overlooking the harbour and still within easy reach of the centre of Kinsale town with all it has to offer. We will... More

Cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A superb meal freshly cooked,,we were told it would take thirty minutes which we didnt mind as we read the supplied newspapers meanwhile. Genuinely friendly staff and. The owner come over. For a. Chat after the meal,a. Nice bright restaurant area in a very well appointed hotel which lived up to its four star status ,very reasonable priced meals too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Palaceman, Thank you for your review of your recent meal with us in the Trident Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed it so much and I hope that you will take the opportunity to come back again soon. We look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards, Hal McElroy Managing Director More

Roscommon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What had a wonderful stay ? We arrive early and were allocated a beautiful room over looking the harbour .we then met up with a group of friends for a wonderful dinner in Pier One restaurant..we were delighted to see that the food was sourced from west cork producers . The various dishes were cooked to perfection. The service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Gripen56, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your dinner in the Pier One. We do try to use produce that is locally sourced and there is no better area that West Cork for artisan foods. We look forward to welcoming you... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The greatest plus at this hotel is the location as it is right on the harbour with fabulous views across to Summer Cove. It's lovely to just sit with a cuppa at your window looking out at this beautiful scene. This was our 3rd stay at The Trident and I have to say we found our rooms a little disappointing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Posh Liz, Thank you for your constructive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. We appreciate your comment about our staff and breakfast not to mention our location and views over the harbour. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon and that you will book early enough to get... More

Newcastle, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just had the perfect stay at the Trident Hotel. We have visited Kinsale for 40 years staying at my in laws house each time. They have since passed away and this was our first visit back. We loved the Trident. We had a room overlooking the harbour, thank you Fidelma for sorting this for us. Breakfast was outstanding,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear JenNewcastle, Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay even though it may have been a difficult return trip for you. I am pleased that Fidelma was able to sort a room with the harbour view that you wanted. We appreciate your... More

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another hotel with no air conditioning. Nice staff. Old hotel. Windows open onto parking lot so it is loud. View from room nice. Was not given room reserved and had to be moved. Mold on ceiling of first bathroom. Lamp did not work. They checked and said they would be back to fix but did not. Would not choose this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Nancy, Thank you for your review of your recent stay in the Trident Hotel. I am sorry that we were not what you expected and that you were disappointed with your stay. Our standard rooms do not have air conditioning but our executives and suites do. All our rooms do have a view of the harbour - some directly... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

187 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay