We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Kinsale hotels

Trident Hotel Kinsale

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Trident Hotel Kinsale to your Saves list
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
73%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jane S Limerick, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (523)
  • Photos (177)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (137)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    185
    97
    34
    19
See reviews for
86
258
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a two night break at the trident. The hotels positives; it is in a good location in relation to the town,staff were very friendly, mannerly and helpful especially reception staff. Breakfast was of a very good standard and al a carte as apposed to a cold hot buffet! Some of the negatives would be the layout of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed there as part of a golf package. Luckily we found there IS air conditioning in many of the rooms (there is a small control by the closet) and realized that the slot by the door is for the room key to rest in to activate the electricity in the room. The windows are pleasant to have open for an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear KAP20142014, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am please that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the air conditioning controls and power master switch. Our Executive rooms and Suites do have A/C but our Standard rooms do not - but they all have opening windows... More

South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights and we would definitely return. The hotel is in a good location, a three minute walk to town and an quick drive to Old Head. The parking can be tricky, it also services the marina and restaurant, there are not enough spaces and the lot is full by late afternoon. The rooms were comfortable but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Vesvacations, Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you particularly enjoyed the views from the hotel and your room. Our proximity to the town of Kinsale and the Old Head Golf Links is a great advantage. Thank you for your... More

Kilrush, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights. No air conditioning. Had to keep window open for any air. Drapes were stained. ..obvious from window being open and water damage. Bathroom sink top cracked and toilet holder placed where the shower water could not avoid getting it wet. No safe and no hair dryer. Did get one (hair dryer)sent up eventually. Bed was hard.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Kellysbar, Thank you for your review of your recent stay in the Trident Hotel. I am sorry that you were not entirely happy during your stay. Our Standard rooms do not have air conditioning but our Executive Rooms and Suites do as they were rooms added during our last major refurbishment. I am pleased that you found the our... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back today from 5 days in this hotel and I have to say it was fab. Only one small criticism is the car park. We got back from a lovely day's sightseeing and couldn't get parking because there was a wedding on. We asked at reception and were told we could park along the quay somewhere. I'm a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Shelly, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your 5 day stay and that you found your room, our food and service to be of a high standard. I'm sorry that you had some difficulty finding parking on the day that there was a wedding... More

Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel I had some concerns. It is a 4-story building that wraps around the parking lot, and looked pretty dated. Check in was easy and efficient. The decor feels like it could use a refresh, but everything was very clean. Our room was large and well furnished. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. Great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Jim, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay. We are very fortunate to be located where we are - right on the harbour side and just a few minutes walk from the town center. The hotel was built in a 'U' shape to maximize... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a night at the Trident Hotel in August. We enjoyed the short stay and found the room to be clean and tidy. No fridge or mini bar though which I thought was odd. None the less we enjoyed our stay. The bar staff in the residents bar were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was good and enjoyable watching... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Samimay, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay and that you found our night staff to be accommodating. I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast while overlooking Kinsale harbour and all the activities - there is nothing more relaxing! I hope... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay here almost everytime we come to Kinsale which is mostly twice a year, unfortunately we could only get 1 night as hotel fully booked tried my best to stay here for the 2 nights as it was a special birthday for my husband but couldn't get the 2 nights a little annoying, stayed in our usual harbour view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am sorry that we were not able to get the second night for you on this occasion - thankfully from our point of view we have been very busy. I'm sure that the reception staff would have worked something for... More

Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very disappointed. This is not a 4 star hotel. The rooms were not well ventilated but opening any window is not an option because the hotel is surrounded by roads with lots of traffic. The breakfast was standard - nothing adventurous on the menu - like eggs benedict. The bar area on the lower level was nice. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Trident Hotel. I am sorry that you seem to have had such a negative experience with us. Our Standard rooms do not have air conditioning but do have opening windows, the majority of which face towards the harbour. Our Executive rooms and suites do have... More

Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Trident in August of 2014 and had 3 rooms. I stayed in room 126, one friend in 226 and another in 210. Room 126 faced the road out back and had a small window. The room would get very hot during the day so I kept it open at night. The problem was road noise coupled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review

Dear CambridgeJim, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel. I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with you room. We do have different standard of room - Standard, Executive and Suites. You and one friend were in Standard rooms and you other friend was in an Executive room. Our Executives... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Trident Hotel Kinsale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kinsale with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A four star hotel, spectacularly perched on the water's edge overlooking Kinsale Harbour. The hotel has 75 bedrooms including an Executive Wing comprising 30 rooms and 9 luxury suites, all with beautiful sea views. Only five minutes’ walk from the centre of Kinsale, the Trident Hotel is an excellent base to explore the winding streets and many shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants for which Kinsale is famous for. While you’re here, why not delve into the town’s fascinating historic past with a guided walking tour to famous sights including Charles Fort or engage in the wide variety of activities available from deep-sea fishing to scenic harbour cruising. Or use Kinsale as your base for exploring the wider West Cork region, renowned for its rugged landscape, unspoiled coastline and bustling towns. For shopaholics, Cork City is just a 30-minute drive from Kinsale. With a host of attractions and leisure activities on the doorstep – including the world-renowned Old Head Golf Links – the Trident Hotel Kinsale is certainly an ideal venue for both business and pleasure! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
75

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Trident Hotel Kinsale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer