We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melrose Bed & Breakfast

The Miles | Clonakilty, Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Melrose Bed & Breakfast
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a great week at Melrose B&B, Chris and Noel and their family are very nice and helpfull :) The rooms are nice and very clean and it's really quite up there and close to town, about 15 min. walk. They have a great menu choice for breakfast and all food is delicious. I totally recommend this B&B and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your nice review and we really appreciate it , It is always nice to hear people say that they enjoyed their stay with us and also their holiday in Clonakilty , We do our best always to make people feel at home and to help them in any way possible , If you do holiday... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

My wife and I traveled West Cork and Kerry last week-end and stopped on the first night at Melrose B&B in Clonakilty. We had a great experience, the room was cozy and comfortable and the owners, Noel and Chrissy were extremely kind, really making us feel at home. I would highly recommend this B&B.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your kind review , We always do our best to make everybody welcome and to enjoy their stay with us , We really appreciate your kind comments , If you are in West Cork again we hope you will visit Clonakilty and decide to stay with us at Melrose ,B & B , More 

County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Stayed here on the May bank holiday, with my husband and son who's almost 2 years old. Lovely clean family room. Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short,as it rained constantly, and made it impossible to entertain a toddler in those conditions! However, Noel the owner was a true gent, helping restart my flat car battery, and supplying our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your nice review and your kind comments , We are always happy to do our best and to help our guests , It was such a pity about the bad weather over the weekend , In spite of the weather we hope you enjoyed your stay with us enough to want to come back and... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Be careful with these people. They'll give you a quote over the phone and make you pay much more at check out. The rooms are okay, but the dining room is way to small. Don't book without a written confirmation on the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are very sorry this is your view of us , We did not overcharge you but as we said to you yesterday morrning you must have misheard us over the phone , The amount you were paying us would be what you would pay in a hostel without breakfast , We don't understand how you can say our dining... More 

Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Comfortable B+B with very helpful & friendly owner & staff. Nice & quiet house & location. Lovely breakfast. Child friendly back garden with swings, trampoline, slide, etc. Big advantage for us was when Noel, the extremely helpful owner of the B+B, organised a babysitter for our 3 children, the youngest of whom, was only 6-months. Our children stayed at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your very kind words in your recent review ,It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we were only delighted that you enjoyed your stay , We were very happy to be of help to you and it is always very nice to get a good feedback , Hopefully you may consider... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Host is very friendly n kind. Place was clean and tidy. Breakfast was also v nice. Host picked us up from bus station. This place is located 20 mins walk from city center. Will recommend that place. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review , We always do our best to make guests enjoy their stay with us and it is nice to get a good feedback , If you are back in West Cork and especially Clonakilty again we hope you will choose to stay at Melrose Bed & Breakfast once again , More 

Landau in der Pfalz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We visited Clonakilty for a weekend trip and stayed at Melrose B&B for a very comfortable night. Already in advance of our trip the communication with Chris & Noel was very easy. Moreover Chris picked us up at the city because we arrived via bus and treated us with some really tasty sandwiches, coffee and cookies. Everyone was really nicely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your nice review and comments , We really look forward to getting a good feedback from our guests and always enjoy doing our best to help them enjoy their stay at Melrose , We hope you will visit Clonakilty again in the future and decide to again stay at Melrose Bed & Breakfast , More 

Bergisch Gladbach, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

from end of august until beginning of sept. we stood in clonakilty at melrose place and we had a wonderful time there - it's a very nice place with very friendly people and we always would come back and if the lord will help us we'll come back again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us , We hope you both enjoyed your time in Clonakilty and especially your stay at Melrose , It was our pleasure to have you stay and we really enjoy looking after our guests , Also thank you for the many beautiful photos which you sent on to... More 

Reims, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Family is very welcoming; Breakfast is excellent ( you can even ordered local food , of which even salmon! ) ; Rooms are comfortable; services great .... everything for having a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us , We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and especially our breakfast menu , We were only to happy to have you and hope that if you come back to Ireland again you will visit Clonakilty and stay with us at Melrose again , More 

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Melrose B & B was an excellent accomodation with outstanding service. Our hosts were very nice and friendly and they made us lovelyIrish breaskfasts every day. We were always met with kind treatment and the price was very reasonalbe. The only disadvantage was the loaction, about 15-20 minutes walk from the center of Cloniakilty (but it was a refreshing walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Kjell , family & friends , Thank you so much for your kind comments about your holiday with us , Ourselves and our staff always do the best to make our guests happy during their stay , We are delighted you also found this area of West Cork to be beautiful , We hope you really enjoyed your birdwatching... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.2 mi away
Emmet Hotel
Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
2.4 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#4 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities