We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melrose Bed & Breakfast

The Miles | Clonakilty, Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Melrose Bed & Breakfast
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on the May bank holiday, with my husband and son who's almost 2 years old. Lovely clean family room. Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short,as it rained constantly, and made it impossible to entertain a toddler in those conditions! However, Noel the owner was a true gent, helping restart my flat car battery, and supplying our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your nice review and your kind comments , We are always happy to do our best and to help our guests , It was such a pity about the bad weather over the weekend , In spite of the weather we hope you enjoyed your stay with us enough to want to come back and... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Be careful with these people. They'll give you a quote over the phone and make you pay much more at check out. The rooms are okay, but the dining room is way to small. Don't book without a written confirmation on the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are very sorry this is your view of us , We did not overcharge you but as we said to you yesterday morrning you must have misheard us over the phone , The amount you were paying us would be what you would pay in a hostel without breakfast , We don't understand how you can say our dining... More 

Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Comfortable B+B with very helpful & friendly owner & staff. Nice & quiet house & location. Lovely breakfast. Child friendly back garden with swings, trampoline, slide, etc. Big advantage for us was when Noel, the extremely helpful owner of the B+B, organised a babysitter for our 3 children, the youngest of whom, was only 6-months. Our children stayed at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your very kind words in your recent review ,It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we were only delighted that you enjoyed your stay , We were very happy to be of help to you and it is always very nice to get a good feedback , Hopefully you may consider... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Host is very friendly n kind. Place was clean and tidy. Breakfast was also v nice. Host picked us up from bus station. This place is located 20 mins walk from city center. Will recommend that place. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review , We always do our best to make guests enjoy their stay with us and it is nice to get a good feedback , If you are back in West Cork and especially Clonakilty again we hope you will choose to stay at Melrose Bed & Breakfast once again , More 

Landau in der Pfalz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We visited Clonakilty for a weekend trip and stayed at Melrose B&B for a very comfortable night. Already in advance of our trip the communication with Chris & Noel was very easy. Moreover Chris picked us up at the city because we arrived via bus and treated us with some really tasty sandwiches, coffee and cookies. Everyone was really nicely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you soo much for your nice review and comments , We really look forward to getting a good feedback from our guests and always enjoy doing our best to help them enjoy their stay at Melrose , We hope you will visit Clonakilty again in the future and decide to again stay at Melrose Bed & Breakfast , More 

Bergisch Gladbach, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

from end of august until beginning of sept. we stood in clonakilty at melrose place and we had a wonderful time there - it's a very nice place with very friendly people and we always would come back and if the lord will help us we'll come back again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us , We hope you both enjoyed your time in Clonakilty and especially your stay at Melrose , It was our pleasure to have you stay and we really enjoy looking after our guests , Also thank you for the many beautiful photos which you sent on to... More 

Reims, France
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Family is very welcoming; Breakfast is excellent ( you can even ordered local food , of which even salmon! ) ; Rooms are comfortable; services great .... everything for having a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us , We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and especially our breakfast menu , We were only to happy to have you and hope that if you come back to Ireland again you will visit Clonakilty and stay with us at Melrose again , More 

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Melrose B & B was an excellent accomodation with outstanding service. Our hosts were very nice and friendly and they made us lovelyIrish breaskfasts every day. We were always met with kind treatment and the price was very reasonalbe. The only disadvantage was the loaction, about 15-20 minutes walk from the center of Cloniakilty (but it was a refreshing walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Kjell , family & friends , Thank you so much for your kind comments about your holiday with us , Ourselves and our staff always do the best to make our guests happy during their stay , We are delighted you also found this area of West Cork to be beautiful , We hope you really enjoyed your birdwatching... More 

Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the Melrose. The room was warm and clean with an en suite and tea/coffee facilties. The breakfast was well cooked and presented with plenty of choice (I tried everything!) including local produce. Noel is a gentleman

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Fergus , Thank you for your kind comments about our home ,We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it is nice to get a good feedback , Also glad you enjoyed our choice of breakfast menu , We hope you will again choose to stay at Melrose as return guests are always very welcome , More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Staying with Chris and Noel, I felt like I was being hosted by family. They were very welcoming and went above and beyond to ensure I had a convenient and comfortable stay. I was sorry I couldn't stay longer! The room was clean and well maintained, having been renovated recently. They provided lots of information and helpful tips about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and really hope you enjoyed your trip to Ireland and especially your stay at Melrose , We always do our best to make people feel at home and it is soo nice to get such kind comments after , We hope that if you come back to Ireland you will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities