We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clonakilty Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Wolfe Tone St, Clonakilty Cork, Ireland
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Clonakilty Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    23
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
39
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were attending a wedding outside Clon and stayed here for two nights. Well priced room rates and clean hotel if you just want somewhere to wash and lay your head. Friendly staff, the hotel dinner was much nicer than the breakfast - that could do with an update. Would stay again if passing through

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a great spot and parking was easy. The downside was the room was quite dated, especially the bathroom. (Awful shower curtain and no shower cap) we asked a receptionist to recommend somewhere for dinner and she didn't have any recommendations ???

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here at the weekend while we were attending a wedding in another hotel. Didnt spend much time in the hotel because of this so I cant comment on the food only that my friend had breakfast and advised the rest of us there not to bother. The rooms were clean but basic and a little dated. When I checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had lunch in the hotel bar on July 29th, 2 adults & 3 kids. Should have ran out of the place as when we arrived in at 1.45pm(peak lunchtime) there was only 1 other table occupied & a very annoying barman there !Ordered chicken & ham for both adults ,this was terrible & tasteless. We asked for some more potatoes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher B, Owner at The Clonakilty Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fionnuala N Thank you for your feedback on your visit last Wednesday, whereas it was a quiet lunch hour, six hours later, you would have had to wait for a table. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal or the friendliness of our staff member. Unfortunately, when checked during your meal, you did not indicate that... More 

Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

10 of us went down to the this hotel for a birthday bash. Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and the owner special the lady were so nice and very helpful. We booked late for dinner and they still accommodated us. The dinner was unreal and the vaule for money was brillant. Out in the reception area there were a load... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here for lunch mid week and we were pleasantly surprised by this place. It was very welcoming from the start .The bar/restaurant is a pleasant place.We were served with efficiency and the menu was a reasonable one.Again food and service were good.We thought the food was lovely and the presentation of the food was very good.Would never of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for a few nights, when attending a family wedding in the area. The hotel was in a good position in the town. There was plenty of parking, both on site and on street. The room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast was very good, along with the local white and black pudding.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Walsall. West Mids
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel on our second night on our tour of Ireland with Shearings. We found the check in efficient and the reception staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is situated in the centre of Clonakilty with a variety of shops and pubs nearby. The room was good, plenty of room and a good view from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

Family friendly with lovely owners. I would say here again. The food is good. Parking was easy to get along with everything you need. A good location. The owners work long hours to make sure that everything is at a good standard... Good rate..

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I didn't stay in this hotel, but had a family dinner in the bar, lovely place, nice menu, friendly staff, the adult meals were faultless, however the kids meal were not so good, chicken nuggets were turned into rocks, but I'd be willing to give it another chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
2.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emmet Hotel
Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
7.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay