We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macliam Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Western Road, Clonakilty, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Macliam Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Macliam Lodge
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
34
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Macliam Lodge is lovely, spotlessly clean family run accommodation on the edge of Clonakilty. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed a comfortable en-suite room with TV, excellent wi-fi, tea & coffee, bath-robes and a luxurious walk-in shower. Breakfast was better than many hotels and extra servings were 'no problem at all' Despite being full to capacity there was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent B & B, Service and welcome second to none. Facilities top notch. Maeve and John made the stay fun and convenient. Close to town, spotless and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for Maeve

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

4 of us stayed here for 2 nights to attend a college friend's wedding nearby and can not recommend it more highly. The rooms were clean, modern and bright. The wifi was fast. The breakfasts were great. One of my friends is on a Gluten free diet and she said it was one of the best gluten free breakfasts she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed here as I was attending wedding in the town in another hotel. On booking it was not the necest experience (rude owner), I then telephed to confirm my booking few days pervious, again very rude owner on the phone, very snappy. On arrival the welcome was warmer than expected. I was shown to my room through the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went with a friend for one night. I had lived in Clonakilty before and I had been in others BnB before for a way cheaper price. We booked this one because we were in Cork city and needed a place to stay there last minute. We thought that 90 euros was a bit too much but didn't want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maevewilliams, Owner at Macliam Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , we always appreciate feedback from our customers and are constantly aiming to improve our standards here at Macliam Lodge .Being held to ransom for a Trip Advisor review doesn’t really work though and particularly in this case, I’m afraid I cannot offer you any apologies for:- A, Cost..... €45 per person on a bank... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Would stay here again it was spotless and warm. Great location and excellent parking. Didn't wake for the breakfast either stays but I do think 10 o clock cut off is a bit early for the weekend mornings. On saying that it's not the worst complaint and wouldn't turn me off booking in again. It's so handy for local weddings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llandysul, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Stayed here for the West Cork Rally and was so impressed that i will gladly stay again. The owners Maeve & John are the most lovely people,very welcoming,down to earth,very helpful,nothing is too much trouble. The location is perfect you can walk into town in five minutes,you can park safely in private car park,ideal location to base yourself to tour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights this weekend for the Conakilty marathon. I honestly cannot think of anything negative to say about the place.Maeve,our hostess was absolutely lovely and welcoming.The room (a triple room) was way more spacious than some top hotels I've stayed in.The bed was comfy,the room was warm and both the bedroom and bathroom were spotless.There was tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This was our very first B and B experience as well as our first serving of black pudding ever. Neither disappointed. The room was clean and comfortable. The shower had the best water pressure of our trip, even better than the water pressure of our own home! We liked the ability to turn off the heat of we wanted. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

MacLiam Lodge was the most comfortable place we stayed on our 8 night Ireland adventure. The rooms are ample in size, well-appointed but not stuffy, plenty of pillows, and with the best beds for a good night’s sleep. They even have a handicapped bathroom that is a real handicapped bathroom. The facility can serve up to 25 people at once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay