We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island View Hotel

Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Island View Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014
lorraine w
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    9
    7
    12
See reviews for
12
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

We went to Oscar Taylor's for my mother in law's birthday dinner. We have dined there before and it was ok. Just ok. But this time around the whole dining experience was bad. Seriously bad. We had a table of 12, with 4 kids, so managed to see quite a lot of the starters and mains. The food is poor.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ronan K, Manager at Island View Hotel, responded to this review

May I thank you for your review as it is only with customer feedback that we can improve our standards. I regret to read that you did not enjoy your meal as we pride ourselves on the standard of our food and service as you can see from the majority of reviews. When we have fallen down however the lack... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Arrived early off a flight exhausted on a bank holiday weekend. Booked here as it wasnt too far from the airport. Was very worried after reading previous reviews but proceeded to hotel. Was allowed to check in early just after noon which was greatly appreciated. The corridor leading to the bedrooms isn't very inviting nor the bedroom doors themselves. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Second time to stay here and such a let down. Bedroom had cobwebs on the light fixtures and curtain poles no excuse in this day and age for rooms not been cleaned. Eat in the restaurant for dinner ordered the steak burger..... Presentation was lovely that was about it. Two bites of the burger was enough, tasted like gravel. Looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronan K, Manager at Island View Hotel, responded to this review

HI maggiemay0 We at the Island View Hotel are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with is . We are a two story , two star , 11 bedroom hotel with a very busy bar , lounge and restaurant . We have live music playing every Saturday evening from 10:30 to 12:30 and last Saturday was the very popular... More 

Donaghadee, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights bed and breakfast from 31/8/14 to 3/9/14 staff were very welcoming and the food was great.The bedrooms are in need of an update but apart from that they were clean and tidy. The downstairs bar and lounge has a good atmosphere and the locals were friendly. I was going to rate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Maiden newton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The Island View Hotel is indeed opposite a rather scrubby sandbank which during my stay - mid July -was shrouded in mist. I stayed for 4 nights and when booking had asked for a quiet room if possible and was given one at the rear overlooking bins, a skip and a brick wall. I don't go on holiday to sit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We weren't expecting frills for the price. The hotel is dated and worn but the rooms were clean. The rooms have trouser press, iron and tea making facilities there is even a mini fridge in the room. There is no sea view and it is noisy. The parking is limited. The hotel has potential if it was given a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kent
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife & I were attending a family wedding in Malahide and were impressed by the reviews given by other visitors.We booked in for two nights and also ate in the restaurant both nights. The rooms were, as other people had commented on, a " no frills affiar" but had all the essentials- trouser press/tea/coffee making etc and fresh milk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BELFAST
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

decided to break our journey from belfast to wicklow by spending the night in malahide.the islandview hotel was booked purely on price,as it was just for the one night,the room,though dated was comfortable and clean,though it was very noisy at the back of the building with the hotel boiler right outside our window,and as it was such a warm night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sitges, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Would have considered myself a good customer of this place over the years but recently its gone to the dogs, my last visit there at the brining of March 2014 was desperate. Plate is completely over loaded and service staff don't have a good grasp/understating of English. This may seem like a low dig but really when you go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronan K, Manager at Island View Hotel, responded to this review

Hi SpainDunto We at the Island View Hotel were very disappointed that you did not enjoy you experience with us and are very sorry . we have taken ALL your points on board and are addressing them. We have an extensive staff training program in place and have addressed the portioning , service and quality of our product . I... More 

Winchester, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Well located by water and easy walk into Malahide. Really it is a pub with rooms. Full Irish breakfast fine but little else - just orange juice and few packets of cereal. We booked two ensuite rooms for two nights; one was fine but the other had hairs in plug hole which were still there after cleaning. Also it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities