We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island View Hotel

Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Island View Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Just got back from a great two night stay at the Island View. We arrived (28 of us) Saturday afternoon and left Monday lunchtime. Had a brilliant stay. Can't thank all the staff enough for being so helpful and friendly during our stay. The rooms were lovely and clean. Breakfast was very great. Thanks again Tony and all your staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here two nights staff very friendly and helpful rooms very clean and tidy and very warm breakfast was best we've had in a long time had dinner on both nights in hotel it was lovely and good quick service and welled priceed will be back Thanks to all the staff enjoyed our weekend

Helpful?
Thank Nobbymt1
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in need of some renovation. Beds and mattresses were old and uncomfortable. The rooms were surface clean,but on closer inspection,the cobwebs were thick. The staff were either rude or just didn't care,especially the very tall,thin "gentleman" behind the bar,he had absolutely no customer service skills at all. The only good thing was breakfast. Top marks to Joan... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheend61
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015 via mobile

What a horrible dodgy place! From the minute you try & open the front door...this place is just awful. Reception area in shambles...zero friendliness or information from person checking us in. Extremely dirty & ugly. Island view? Ha! Our view was a construction site (see picture of our view) Worst place I've stayed in a long time.

Helpful?
Thank Ellewall

Travelers are raving about these Malahide hotels

Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We booked this hotel last day of our stay in Ireland to be closer to the airport and looking for something cost-effective on Friday when the prices seems to be higher in Dublin and around. Staff is semi-helpful, hotel seems old, not very big rooms, from window we saw technical "patio" only, not a sea. Hotel has a parking. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gaginho007
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

We went to Oscar Taylor's for my mother in law's birthday dinner. We have dined there before and it was ok. Just ok. But this time around the whole dining experience was bad. Seriously bad. We had a table of 12, with 4 kids, so managed to see quite a lot of the starters and mains. The food is poor.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Dorota O
Ronan K, Manager at Island View Hotel, responded to this review

May I thank you for your review as it is only with customer feedback that we can improve our standards. I regret to read that you did not enjoy your meal as we pride ourselves on the standard of our food and service as you can see from the majority of reviews. When we have fallen down however the lack... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

Arrived early off a flight exhausted on a bank holiday weekend. Booked here as it wasnt too far from the airport. Was very worried after reading previous reviews but proceeded to hotel. Was allowed to check in early just after noon which was greatly appreciated. The corridor leading to the bedrooms isn't very inviting nor the bedroom doors themselves. The... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank lorraine w
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

Second time to stay here and such a let down. Bedroom had cobwebs on the light fixtures and curtain poles no excuse in this day and age for rooms not been cleaned. Eat in the restaurant for dinner ordered the steak burger..... Presentation was lovely that was about it. Two bites of the burger was enough, tasted like gravel. Looking... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank maggiemay0
Ronan K, Manager at Island View Hotel, responded to this review

HI maggiemay0 We at the Island View Hotel are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with is . We are a two story , two star , 11 bedroom hotel with a very busy bar , lounge and restaurant . We have live music playing every Saturday evening from 10:30 to 12:30 and last Saturday was the very popular... More 

Donaghadee, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights bed and breakfast from 31/8/14 to 3/9/14 staff were very welcoming and the food was great.The bedrooms are in need of an update but apart from that they were clean and tidy. The downstairs bar and lounge has a good atmosphere and the locals were friendly. I was going to rate... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Paul F
Maiden newton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The Island View Hotel is indeed opposite a rather scrubby sandbank which during my stay - mid July -was shrouded in mist. I stayed for 4 nights and when booking had asked for a quiet room if possible and was given one at the rear overlooking bins, a skip and a brick wall. I don't go on holiday to sit... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DeeBee905
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
5.2 mi away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 2 in Howth
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay