We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Certificate of Excellence
Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

905 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Reading UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

HOTEL AND ROOM Hotel is very well presented overall, grounds are well kept. Hotel is quite big but never appeared busy or crowded. Very nice bar that overlooks the bay and also another little more traditional bar off reception area. Afternoon tea and lunch looked very popular. Our room was clean and very spacious with a modern design. The bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelMember59
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We both enjoyed this hotel.: Great location on the beach, lovely view, clean, good service, and good meal in the pub, great breakfast. Unfortunately we had only one night and the weather was rainy. Even so we managed to take a walk on the beach before we left the next morning. Probably a car is best to stay at this... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank CherEC
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice lobby and public areas. Room was clean and reasonably spacious with the usual amenities inc tea/coffee tray. Dinner and breakfast were very nice (only one veggie option on the evening menu though, so I had no choice). Jameson bar had a good atmosphere with a great singer on. Couple of minor gripes about reception forgetting a couple of... More 

Helpful?
Thank wendycw
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the 4th time we stayed at this great hotel and it won't be the last. Although it's listed as 4 star, it is definitely 5 star all the way. Apparently because there isn't a swimming pool, the 5 star rating isn't applicable. The rooms, definitely book one in the newer section overlooking the golf course and sea view,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AnneCrt
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear AnneCrt, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with and I do thank you for your very complimentary review. My team will take delight in reading it. Many Thanks and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards David David McGuinness... More 

County Tyrone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was refurbished. It was beautifully decorated, so bright and clean. The bed was big and comfortable. Staff friendly and efficient. Didn't have breakfast but we had something to eat in the bar. It was very good. We enjoyed the music as well which meant we didn't have to leave the hotel. Not much to do in Portmarnock but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear Patricia C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope the next time you return you will get the opportunity to stay a little longer than the one night. Many thanks again and Kind Regards David David McGuinness Hotel Manager More 

Co.Down
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a two night break in early January. We have stayed here before so that speaks for itself. A great hotel, very friendly staff, excellent food in the restaurant and plentiful breakfast, lovely rooms with a good view even though it is the middle of the winter. Was an extremely wet weekend when we stayed and our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smileandbehappy
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear Smileandbehappy, Thank you for your tripadvisor review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us considering the weather was so bad. It is also very nice to read that is not your first trip to Portmarnock and I do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Many thanks and Kind Regards David David... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with my elderly mother for a long weekend. Faultless stay , staff were excellent , location was bliss yet not far from Dublin city nor Airport . Will definitely return, my room was both clean and very comfortable , Excellent breakfast, as was dinner in the main Restaurant . If you are spending your own money , this... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank gerryjump
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear Gerryjump, Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to read that both you and your mum had an enjoyable stay with us. Looking forward to you both returning in the future. Many thanks and Kind Regards David David McGuinness Hotel Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in for one nite, the guy with the fair hair whose name I didn't get was excellent, so professional and friendly. We arrived at 12 and were able to check in straight away, lovely bright big room, nice bathroom, flat screen TV, 2 seater couch, very spacious and very nicely decorated. Was was fine, I would suggest a light... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Valhalla7273
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear Valhalla7273, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. All of which I take on take board. Its through our guests feedback that we as a team are better able to make changes or do things that will improve... More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a very positive experience at the Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. was well looked after and would highly recommend the place. The breakfast was especially great. The only disappointment was the lack of a swimming pool onsite. Other than that I would give 5 Stars

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Tim1980
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear Travelling_Tim1980, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes unfortunately we have no swimming pool. however if you do return in the summer months the beach and sea beside us are great for a swim. I look forward to welcoming you back in the... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an oceanview room and the view was spectacular! The room was very comfortable, as were the beds. The bathroom was amazing! Sunset and sunrise from the beach were just beautiful over the Irish Sea.

Helpful?
Thank Bwest78
David M, General Manager at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review

Dear Bwest78, Thank you for your really nice tripadvisor review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future Kind Regards David David McGuinness Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

233 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (207)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
5.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#8 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
3.8 mi away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 2 in Howth
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay