We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Bundoran hotels

Grand Central Hotel

Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Grand Central Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
46%
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Mucknamee Tyrone
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    57
    34
    29
    53
See reviews for
49
68
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (206)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Tyrone
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked our stay for the 6 & 7 of September last as a 70th Birthday treat for a family friend. I had called with the hotel personally the week prior to ensure access and room was suitable for our Birthday Girl guest. On arrival we were greeted at reception and a quick clarification of the booking ensured a quick... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The desk clerk was lovely...friendly and welcoming. The room was good-sized and very comfortable...clean as a whistle. Nice-sized bathroom and great water pressure! Breakfast was mediocre, at best, with very slow service...the only drawback to our stay (well, besides the fact that Bundoran, on a Tuesday night in September, offers very little to do). Fair price for a good hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Strabane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Restaurant food was not good waited over 15 mins for side orders starters were awful. Witnessed the rudest and worst customer service i have ever seen from one member of staff in particular. Severely understaffed and they hadn't a clue what they were doing. Receptionist seemed very nice as did one of the bar staff when we arrived. But that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, what can I say, we must be very brave! Had a gathering of a great family who travelled from Canada and The UK. We had lunch in the Grand Central and it was a disaster. We were the only customers and the order didn’t get into the kitchen for some reason so we were waiting about 1/2 an hour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Media, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes, the hotel is dated, and the wi- fi wasn't working, and it wasn't the cleanest place I have been to. But... it was clean enough. The staff was the friendliest we met on our tour around the country. The food was good, and they had entertainment after dinner. Two guys played music and sang, and some kids from a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShielaMcGrath, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We at the Grand Central Hotel apologise about the issue regarding the wifi this unfortunately could not be fixed from our end, though not through lack of trying. We do have adaptors that can be borrowed from the front desk for those guests wishing to do so, we also have phone chargers on standby for nearly all phone... More

Dungannon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night here, it was ok but the decor could do with a facelift. My room was clean but the curtains were ready to fall down. Staff seems friendly enough. Drink was expensive in the bar. It is very central to everything .

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShielaMcGrath, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 48bernie2014 Many thanks for your review. We at the Grand Central appreciate any and all comments and we will take into account your view of the décor. We are in the process of modernising the hotel but as with all good things this takes time. Your note about the curtains has been passed onto our housekeeping department. We pride... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

ON sunday, the 30th of august 2014 I ordered a brandy and port from a member of staff and I was charged 8.40 for the drink. I also went the great northern hotel in bundoran on the same day and I ordered the same drink which came to 5.40. that a 3 euro difference overcharge for the exact same drink... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShielaMcGrath, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry that you feel that you have been inappropriately charged on your recent visit to the hotel. However the staff member served a full measure of Brandy & Port and therefore the price for each measure is charged giving a total cost of €8.40. If you had been served the measure of Brandy & dash of... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with husband and small child. Will never be back. First room smelled of urine, changed easily enough but second room had countless issues. No bin, no blinds, bed broken, old TV bracket left sticking out of wall, loads of mildew above bath, silver fish insects on bathroom floor (sign of damp), rust on chrome shower rail... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShielaMcGrath, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologise that your room was not up to our usual standards and I can assure you this is not the norm. We do ask that all guests report any issues that arise during their stay to us so that we may have... More

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel which was well situated in the middle of the town of Bundoran. The staff were very friendly and approachable. The only real compliant would be the cleanliness of the rooms. The rooms appear a little predated and could do with being a bit modernised but comfortable to sleep in. Also as a non... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central B, Receptionist at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for such a lovely review. I am sorry to hear that you felt your room was pre-dated, but I can assure you that our rooms are thoroughly cleaned every day & they do go through regular inspections on a daily basis. We are currently in the process of modernizing all of our rooms, but like everything, this... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

stayed in the hotel this week,3 nights we had a looking time,we ate in hotel the 3 nights,food was good,good value,def go for the burger and pint 10euro,good entertainment in bar. the rooms are dated,but they are def clean.which was good for me. lovely staff. would be happy to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central B, Receptionist at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for such a nice review. I am ecstatic to read that everything you experienced during your stay was up to parr. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Warm regards. More

Do you own or manage Grand Central Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Bundoran
Hotel Grand Central

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Grand Central Hotel

Enlarge Map