We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ice House Hotel

The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Ice House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    163
    87
    39
    26
See reviews for
63
473
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (749)
  • Mar-May only
    (198)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (218)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We received a blue book gift voucher as a wedding present and had heard loads of very positive reviews about this hotel over the last few years and decided to check it out on our mini-moon. When we got there we were very disappointed with what we saw as our exceptions were far too high. The room was in need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 nights for our mini moon after our wedding and can honestly say everything was perfect, the room was spacious and clean felt luxurious, food was absolutely beautiful!! And the spa was a real treat!! Can't wait for a second visit!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your recent review of the Ice House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to seeing you back at the Ice House again soon. Best wishes for the future from all the team here. Kind Regards, Jason Horkan Deputy General Manager More 

Roscommon, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you need to get away from the stresses of everyday life this is the place to come to. You will feel totally refreshed after a break here. The staff at reception was very welcoming and took us to our room after we were served with tea and scones. The view from our room was stunning as we were overlooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the Ice House. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & I will pass on your comments to the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jason Horkan Deputy General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The welcome, with the solid fuel stove, to the room with the huge bed and the fantastic view, to the heated bathroom floors and big showers, to the portion sizes of the bar menu and to the best chocolate brownie I've ever tasted, it was like a constant cosy Hug of relaxation! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Ice House & really appreciate your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jason Horkan Deputy General Manager More 

Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in the Suite "Bronze" it was absolutely stunning. The room was fantastic with a private balcony over the Moy. Beautiful stand alone bath. Very comfy duck down pillows and duvets on the bed. Lovely sitting room area. Breakfast was good. Certainly could do with offering pancakes or French toast. Dinner was very good - steak. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the Ice House. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us & we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jason Horkan Deputy General Manager More 

Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed in a number of blue book hotels I recently decided to try the ice house hotel. Unfortunately it did not live up the standards I would expect from the blue book on a number of levels. We arrived around 3pm and were told our room wouldn't be ready for quite a while. We went to the bar area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your visit to the Ice House did not live up to expectations. Currently I am looking into the issues which you have mentioned in your review, however I would like to discuss your experience in more detail at your convenience, my email is jason@theicehouse.ie I look forward to... More 

Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a two night stay in the Ice House the end of October. We were really looking forward to staying here as I had heard great things about the hotel. We stayed in a suite which was accessed through the spa the rooms were very nice, the hotel was lovely and clean. The Friday night we had dinner in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay at The Ice House. I am currently looking into the points which you have highlighted in your review which contributed to your stay. In the meantime I would like to discuss your stay in more detail with you at your convenience should you wish, my email... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here a few times. It is fabulous. The hotel is beautiful, very imaginatively designed with huge full wall windows overlooking the river moy, and very up to date. The restaurant is lovely and in all the times I have stayed here I have never met a staff member who was anything other than genuinely helpful and friendly-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, our team will be delighted when they see this. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our scenic location & our overall product here at the Ice House. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jason Horkan Deputy General Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in The Ice House for one night for a mid week break, we arrived at 7pm and the girl on reception was brilliant, she was so friendly and walked us to our room "Slate Room". Our room was lovely, massive king size bed and lovely sized bathroom. Our views of the River Moy was lovely esp when your waking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the Ice House. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the comforts of our bedrooms & indeed your overall experience with us. We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jason Horkan Deputy General Manager More 

Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this place very very relaxing . Stayed two nights here restaurant was nice food I thought bit over priced but was lovely . The spa was very good would go back for it alone . Lovely setting right on the river bank . Would return again for a relaxing break .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Ice House. Our team appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jason Horkan Deputy General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina

238 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (209)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay