We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillgrove Hotel

Spa Road, Dingle, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hillgrove Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    12
    10
    9
    17
See reviews for
6
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel after leaving it late to book accommodation in Dingle. This was the only option within my price range. To be honest, with the reviews on here I had low expectations but didn't find it as bad as I thought it would be. Firstly, the good points. The room was clean and a good size, although not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, responded to this review

Leeds_Mann, Thank you for the review. We appreciate the comments, especially the kinds words about the rooms and staff. Also, we appreciate the mention of the shower, and as you know, it's a problem we're actively working to fix. I'm sorry that the noise levels upset you during your stay. On that point, the nightclub is open only one night... More 

Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I should have look through more reviews, but I needed a one night B&B. I was attending a function in Dingle and needed a room. In July this is an expensive time to travel. I dont mind paying for anything as long as its worth it. I would not be writing this review if I paid 40quid for the room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, responded to this review

Afromate, Thank you for your review. We're very disappointed that we let you down, and we're in the process of rectifying the issues. Please see private messages and previous corresspondance with your partner. Kieran, Owner. More 

Travelers are raving about these Dingle hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I booked the hill grove for Friday night. To be honest, I wouldn't have stayed any longer. On our arrival, we were told there was ongoing construction (there was some mess) and also the rooms were being cleaned as there was dirty towels thrown all over the hallway. Our room was small and basic which we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, responded to this review

1cappuinoplease, Thank you for your review. We're very disappointed that we let you down. Please see private messages. Kieran, Owner. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

Myself & my friend stayed here for 2 nights... From the pictures on the internet we were expecting a lovely break away as the rooms looked lovely.. So we walked into our room the smell of paint was unbelievable we got over that then we decided 2 make a cup of tea as we were gasping the cups were filthy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, responded to this review

Kev-Sinead, I'm so saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us in the Hillgrove. I wanted to reply to tell you that we're sorry about the mix-up with a leak, and especially over the fact that you were unable to have a bath. I would love the discuss this review a little further via email if... More 

County Cork, Ireland
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I booked the Hillgrove with the purpose of just having a bed for one night. Affordable prices at the time of booking for two people, but €25 to make a last minute addition to our room. The hotel is clean, basic. The room was clean, beds were very comfortable and the room temperature was fine but as the room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, responded to this review

Catherine, I'm sorry about your disappointing stay with us. As shown in our email correspondence, we are eager to rectify the situation. We appreciate the review and follow-up email. Kieran, Owner. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

My wife and I stayed here on night. It was not a pleasant experience. Do not recommend. The bed was too soft, the shower spilled over into the bathroom floor leaving LOTS of water and a slippery mess. No klennnix tissue at all. Staff was nice but it's not our kind of place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, responded to this review

Jim M, It saddens us to think that you didn't enjoy your time with us. I'd like to address a number of your complaints, and would like to let you know that we examine each and every negative during our Guesthouse procedures and standards meetings. The issue with the mattress is a new complaint. Our staff will look for more... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

My friends and I stayed in the Hillgrove for two nights and we couldn't recommend it enough. The rooms were lovely and the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating! The night club was a great laugh as well without interfering with the guests who wanted a quiet weekend. The Hillgrove is very central and I'd highly recommend it for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, responded to this review

Jeanie90, Thank you for the wonderful review. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us so much. All the best, Kieran More 

County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

This is a nightclub with bedrooms attached to be warned so the week end is not to be recommended ,it also actively promotes hen and stag parties so its not for the faint hearted ,breakfast is good ,the host is extremely hospitable ,but the hotels is very basic with cracked mirrors ,cracked windows all as a result of a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, responded to this review

squiremag, Thank you for your review. We're really disappointed to see that you were not happy with your experience of the Hillgrove. As you pointed out, we do cater for hen and stag parties, and it's something which we do not try to hide. I wanted to let you know that we've taken your comments on board, especially about the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

We stayed here before a cycle event recently and were very impressed with the service we received. Sean couldn't go out of his way enough for us and left an excellent impression on us. I requested a specific item to be available for breakfast and it wasn't an issue, it also arrived to the table at the time i requested... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, responded to this review

Andre B, Thank you for the lovely comments, which I've passed onto Sean. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us so much. I hope this reply finds you well. All the best, Kieran, Owner. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Stayed here for my hen last March budget wise it's great for groups but staff wise no way friendly.Rooms were warm on arrival but lack of pressure in shower was not great had to run to one of girls Rooms mid shower as our just stopped! Told member on duty he had no interest in listening to us Breakfast wise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, responded to this review

Tammy, I'm sorry to read of your less-than-stellar stay with us. It pains me to think that your stay did not live up to the expected standards. I apologise about the showers and the stress it caused you and your group on such an important weekend for you. I'm surprised to hear that the staff were not helpful enough, as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.7 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Dingle Skellig Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 10 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#7 of 10 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#52 of 74 in Dingle
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay