We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillgrove Guesthouse

Spa Road, Dingle, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hillgrove Guesthouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
County Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just back from a 3 night stay here, didn't know what to expect but wasn't disappointed. Room is dated but yet decorated with modern paint, curtains and bed linen. Tea and coffee station along with flat screen TV and shower caps and soap. Room was very spacious and clean, you would be well advised to use the shower curtain when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After reading some of the reviews on trip advisor I was very aprehensive about staying in this accommodation. But i was actually very pleasently surprised. The rooms were very clean, fresh linen and looked like they'd recently been upgraded. The shower was very powerful and water lovely and hot. The free toiletries were very handy. Rooms also had tea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival we were shown this family room.which first of all did not bear any resemblance to the picture on the web site.The double bed was support lats were cracked and broken,some of the windows had no handles and could not be opened, the carpet was dirty and smelly,the bed side table lockers were chipped and damaged, the wash hand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Guesthouse, responded to this review

Austin S, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We're saddened to see that you didn't enjoy your time with us, and we've taken on board the concerns you've raised. Since your stay, we've set to work on that room. While that room was a work in progress, your comments to management on the day made us... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dingle hotels

Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The owner of the hotel is trying to upgrade it, but its not there yet. The building is half night-club (open weekends only) and half hotel rooms. Doors used skeleton keys with no inside latch; did not feel too secure (except that visiting police were also staying in the hotel).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Guesthouse, responded to this review

Namealreadyinuse, Thank you for the review. We appreciate you noticing our recent efforts to upgrade and refurbish the hotel. Your point about bolts on the inside of the doors is a great idea, and one we've not thought of. Thank you for the advice. I hope this reply finds you well. All the best, Kieran, Owner. More 

Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

I booked this hotel after leaving it late to book accommodation in Dingle. This was the only option within my price range. To be honest, with the reviews on here I had low expectations but didn't find it as bad as I thought it would be. Firstly, the good points. The room was clean and a good size, although not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Guesthouse, responded to this review

Leeds_Mann, Thank you for the review. We appreciate the comments, especially the kinds words about the rooms and staff. Also, we appreciate the mention of the shower, and as you know, it's a problem we're actively working to fix. I'm sorry that the noise levels upset you during your stay. On that point, the nightclub is open only one night... More 

Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

I should have look through more reviews, but I needed a one night B&B. I was attending a function in Dingle and needed a room. In July this is an expensive time to travel. I dont mind paying for anything as long as its worth it. I would not be writing this review if I paid 40quid for the room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Guesthouse, responded to this review

Afromate, Thank you for your review. We're very disappointed that we let you down, and we're in the process of rectifying the issues. Please see private messages and previous corresspondance with your partner. Kieran, Owner. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

My boyfriend and I booked the hill grove for Friday night. To be honest, I wouldn't have stayed any longer. On our arrival, we were told there was ongoing construction (there was some mess) and also the rooms were being cleaned as there was dirty towels thrown all over the hallway. Our room was small and basic which we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Guesthouse, responded to this review

1cappuinoplease, Thank you for your review. We're very disappointed that we let you down. Please see private messages. Kieran, Owner. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

Myself & my friend stayed here for 2 nights... From the pictures on the internet we were expecting a lovely break away as the rooms looked lovely.. So we walked into our room the smell of paint was unbelievable we got over that then we decided 2 make a cup of tea as we were gasping the cups were filthy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Guesthouse, responded to this review

Kev-Sinead, I'm so saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us in the Hillgrove. I wanted to reply to tell you that we're sorry about the mix-up with a leak, and especially over the fact that you were unable to have a bath. I would love the discuss this review a little further via email if... More 

County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I booked the Hillgrove with the purpose of just having a bed for one night. Affordable prices at the time of booking for two people, but €25 to make a last minute addition to our room. The hotel is clean, basic. The room was clean, beds were very comfortable and the room temperature was fine but as the room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Guesthouse, responded to this review

Catherine, I'm sorry about your disappointing stay with us. As shown in our email correspondence, we are eager to rectify the situation. We appreciate the review and follow-up email. Kieran, Owner. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

My wife and I stayed here on night. It was not a pleasant experience. Do not recommend. The bed was too soft, the shower spilled over into the bathroom floor leaving LOTS of water and a slippery mess. No klennnix tissue at all. Staff was nice but it's not our kind of place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quayside D, Owner at Hillgrove Guesthouse, responded to this review

Jim M, It saddens us to think that you didn't enjoy your time with us. I'd like to address a number of your complaints, and would like to let you know that we examine each and every negative during our Guesthouse procedures and standards meetings. The issue with the mattress is a new complaint. Our staff will look for more... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.3 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#7 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#5 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#54 of 75 in Dingle
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay