We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour House & Leisure Centre

Scraggane Pier, Castlegregory, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour House & Leisure Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Harbour House & Leisure Centre
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    18
    6
    5
    17
See reviews for
12
30
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff are rude, rooms are substandard, no wifi or TV in rooms. Rats seen outside the bedroom window. Dogs roam inside. Read all the reviews before you book this place as what's in the brochure is fictional There are far nicer places to stay in The Magharees.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

Dear Trealach We are so sorry that you had such an unpleasant stay with us. Firstly let me apologise to you for the staff being rude to you, if you had brought it to my attention I would have immediately addressed the problem. Harbour House is not a hotel and we advertise that we do not have TVs or WiFi... More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Harbour House & Leisure is about a far as you can go North on the Dingle Peninsular. Set at the end of a single track road - one which several times a week two large articulated lorries reverse to load catches of crab and lobster - this is a real find. Run by a local Kerry family who remembered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

We are so glad that your group had a nice stay with us and it was nice talking to your wife about our shared memories of holidaying in Sandy bay. We hope to see you again some day. Kind regards Sandra More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From checking to departure this place rules supreme amongst guest houses the world over. They say "you arrive as a visitor and leave as a friend". Never a truer word spoken! Pat, Ronnie, Sandra, Grand kids and staff (house keeping, kitchen, lounge and dive staff alike) are all now who I'd consider friends and I know the next time I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ally and Colly Thank you so much for your kind words, we were delighted to meet you both and we hope to see you in Kerry again soon. Regards Sandra More 

County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Take note of the other reviews I wish I had. This was somewhat an unpleasant experience for the intended relaxing weekend away. The bedroom was grand until loads of huge spiders came out from behind the furniture.. Grey powder and dirt was coming out of the taps and when I went to take a shower the water was freezing cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so sorry that you had an unpleasant experience with us. I personally try to make everyone who stays with us as welcome as possible and can only apologise for the member of staff that was rude to you. Please accept our sincerest apologises and if you would like to contact me directly I would be only... More 

Travelers are raving about these Castlegregory hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

fantastic location, with friendly family run staff who could not be more accommodating. Good food and service views are fantastic a very different holiday but highly recommended. Especially good if you like water sports

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted you had a positive stay with us. Regards Sandra More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

My wife and I stayed in this Guest House for three days. I thought I had booked a clean, modern B&B but that turned out not to be the case. In its brochures Harbour House boasts a swimming pool, sauna and a gym and use of these was free for guests. I looked forward to using those facilities but changed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Postive: staff friendly, excellent views. Negative: the house needs an overall, totally decluttering, I viewed 3 cots in the hallways , vacuum cleaners in hallways, a total clean-up is needed, and this could be a gem, our bathroom in room 5 needs updating, the whole room is stuck in the 80's. Breakfast is poor quality food, fresh jam and produce... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Stayed at this guesthouse last Saturday night and thank god I didnt pay much heed to the bad reviews on this site. This place is a real hidden gem. Such amazingly friendly owners and such a great location. Lovely rooms, great locatoon with great rugged views. Was really made to feel at home here. The newfoundland dog Lucy which spent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Hate having to complain about something, but this place is the worst we have ever gone to stay in. We got there at 5.30 to be told the restaurant had closed (they should have told us what time it closed at the time of booking - nowhere does it tell you). The woman, who was very abrupt, told us she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I'm not the type to complain, but this was the worst experience I've ever had, the filthiest hotel I've ever stayed in! Thank God we only booked it for a night! Before we left we were just making sure we got everything, and we discovered a mushroom behind the curtains.... YES...you read it well, there was an actual mushroom that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
15.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Dingle Skellig Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
15.4 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 9 in Castlegregory
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beenoskee
Beenoskee
#2 of 9 in Castlegregory
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay