We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Sudbury hotels

The Olde Bull Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Olde Bull Hotel to your Saves list
Church Street, Sudbury CO10 2BL, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (57)
  • Photos (10)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
The Olde Bull Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Sudbury
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sudbury
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
3
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
55 hotel reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely hotel but when we arrived on a Wednesday evening both bar and restaurant were shut because the hotel was closing down a few days later on the Sunday. The manager explained that it needed so much money invested in the place that the management company were pulling out. It was such a shame to hear this so very sad.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stanwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked out pretty much the whole hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby, so we got to see a wide range of the rooms available. Overall, we were all happy with our stay. The staff were very helpful and polite and I could not fault them at all. Breakfast was delicious and exactly what we needed on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Upper Broughton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

First the good points: the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful, the bed was good and it's a wonderful old building in a lovely town. But it is not large - more a restaurant with rooms than a hotel and only a small rather bleak bar. Our room was the star turn - fantastic beams etc - but the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just returned from one night stay, B&B plus evening meal, through Groupon. Unlike pattyslay, I cannot say "What value for money". Had I booked the room and paid for the meal myself I would have paid less (taking this up with Groupon). First impression was "Oh, the hotel's shut down", it looked so bad. Front very scruffy, weeds everywhere, dead... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldebullhotel, Manager at The Olde Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I have read your review and always appreciate honest feedback. There is, however, something that has confused us. You have said that if you have booked it yourself, it would have been cheaper and your stay was not good value for money. To summise, you received a hotel room for two people, on a Saturday night during high season,... More

essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just got back from a one night stay (Groupon deal). What value for money. Very friendly girl greeted us in reception and showed us to our room. Ate dinner in the restaurant there were 6 of us and not one of us had a bad meal. It was freshly cooked, hot and delicious. Breakfast the next morning again fresh and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We booked into The Olde Bull as part of a tour of Suffolk and Norfolk and stayed for two nights. when we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient young lady and checked in very smoothly. Our room was amazing - full of olde world charm. The room and en suite were very clean. Modern tv and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
theoldebullhotel, Owner at The Olde Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you back again. Regards, Mike More

Downham Market, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

From the reviews here we were not sure what to expect - some people have obviously had bad experiences - but others have clearly enjoyed their stay. We were welcomed by a friendly young man and shown to our room, which was clean and comfortable. The room was in the part of the building which dates from the 16th century,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldebullhotel, Owner at The Olde Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for staying with us, and your kind words. All the best Mike More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I went there with some friends that was booked into the hotel and we joined them in the evening for a meal. there was no where to have a drink before the meal. we was served our starter ok and a bottle of wine. our main course came fish pie and was the worse i have ever seen when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldebullhotel, Owner at The Olde Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, This is the same review as before, but thankyou for your feedback. It is a very imaginitive description of the events, however, we will look into how we can avoid this situation in the future. regards, Mike More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were greeted as we walked into reception by a young man wearing a chefs jacket that was filthy in the middle (not a good start) he showed us to our room, we was disapointed on how small it was and SO noisey traffic but hey its 400 years old what does one expect.....What we dont think is acceptable is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldebullhotel, Owner at The Olde Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mrs Morris, Obviously we are aware that you were not happy with the viscosity of the Fish Pie, and although everybody that night gave extremely positive feedback from this meal, we of course agreed to cook you different meals that would better suit your taste, even though you never actually tried it. However, in the middle of a friday... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed for a one night special from Groupon. The hotel has recently been taken over and the new owners are trying to bring all areas up to a reasonable standard, but obviously this will take tiome and money. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I would really recommend eating in the restaraunt as the steak was one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Olde Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Olde Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Bull Hotel

Address: Church Street, Sudbury CO10 2BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Olde Bull Hotel
The Olde Bull Hotel Sudbury, Suffolk

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sudbury with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Olde Bull Hotel is a family run business set in a 16th Century Grade 1 Listed Olde Coaching Inn, well placed in the historic market town of Sudbury. We offer traditional British fayre and hospitality. Built in 1540, this Grade 1 listed hotel was originally built as a home for a wealthy merchant. It stands in a strategic position by the Ballingdon Bridge and the main entry into Sudbury from Essex and London. In the early 17th century it was the home of Richard Skinner, who in 1616 gave the town its silver seal. Bull baiting and cock fighting took place in the large yard behind (now our carpark). In 1795 the Mauldon family of Sudbury first became involved in brewing, for in that year Anna Maria Mauldon began brewing at the Olde Bull. This Brewery still exists today. We have 10 bedrooms in total, all with en-suite. We have three family rooms and 7 doubles. Most rooms have original oak beams. The Oak Room [right] Four Poster bedroom with vaulted ceiling and minstrels gallery, with all of the original 17th Century oak beams. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Olde Bull Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer