We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mymering Guest House

4.0 of 5 Dwarsriver | Dwarsrivier valley, Ladismith 6655, South Africa
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mymering Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mymering Guest House
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
87
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Andy and Penny run a fantastic guest house in very unique location which feels like it's in the middle of nowhere but well signposted from Ladismith. Although we arrived quite early, lunch was not a problem :-) Andy the owner sat with us and told us some easy walks we could do. The footpaths were extremely well marked with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering Guest House, responded to this review

A big Hello from us all at Mymering :) Thank you for your great review of Mymering, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to sharing time with you again. fond regards Penny and the Mymering Team More

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay at Mymering. Our hosts Andy and Penny went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. We had dinner there and would really recommend it as its too far into town to travel for dinner especially after a bottle of wine). Our room was very nice and we had a lovely view... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I booked to stay one night at Mymering and my only disappointment is that I did not book more! This is a perfect location, stunning scenery and enjoyable hosts. Andy and Penny made us feel like we were long lost friends and the food and ambience were second to none. The walk with Andy and his dogs in the morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fish Hoek, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Mymering offers peace and quite, beautiful scenery and all cottages have a unique and fun theme. You have your own private stoep with a splash pool.The breakfast and local produce are perfect and the staff is very professional.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a fantastic time, came back very relaxed and well fed. Rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. The scenery and hikes are out of this world! My son is absolutely loving the apricot Mymering jam :) I am enjoying the great Hillock wine :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering Guest House, responded to this review

Greetings from a beautiful morning at Mymering, Spring has sprung! Thanks for your wonderful review of our farm and so pleased that you are still enjoying our fare in the way of Mymering jam on your toast and Hillock in the glass!! hope to see you back soon kind regards Penny and the Mymering team More

Cardiff
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We spent just one night here in the Mae West room in April on our road trip along Route 62 and the Klein Karoo. We loved having the chance to open a bottle of Mile High and enjoy it in the hot tub overlooking the scenery before dark fell. We walked along the paths to the dining area for dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Spent the night to break our journey on the R62. We stayed in Mae West cottage, with a lovely deck and plunge pool . The room is well appointed , beautifully decorated & spacious. The ensuite has bath & shower but we were disappointed as shower had no pressure & the bath water was brown & sandy. Can definitely recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lagos, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

After all the wonderful reviews, we were looking foreward to stay at Mymering guesthouse. However, when we arrived the hosts were not at home and our rooms were shown to us by the roommate. The rooms were cold and dark (curtains closed). There was no hot tub and the fireplace appeared to be outside and could not be lit. The... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Andy and I are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at Mymering. We were away for our annual break in Europe. It is not possible unfortunately to on the farm 365 days of the year! Our Chef/Manager and staff are well trained and able to take care of our guests while we are away. As we do... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was one of the highlights of our hols in South Africa. The location was so peaceful, the food was delicious, the wine even more so and the morning dog walk with Andy was just what we needed. You MUST stay at this place if in the area and if not then make a special trip. You will not be... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

When we arrived in the evening they prepared a three-course meal for us. It was perfectly cooked by Leo, the owner of the beautiful winefarm Andy gave us a warm welcome and kept us company during our diner. We slept at the cottage and the next morning we took a walk through the mountains with Andy and the dogs. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering Guest House, responded to this review

Greetings from Mymering :) thanks for your wonderful review of Mymering and staff - so motivating to get such a positive review ! thanks and hope to see you back warm wishes Penny and the Mymering team More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mymering Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mymering Guest House

Address: Dwarsriver | Dwarsrivier valley, Ladismith 6655, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Ladismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mymering Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mymering Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Mymering Guest House

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby