We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mymering Guest House

4.0 of 5 Dwarsriver | Dwarsrivier valley, Ladismith 6655, South Africa
Hotel website
#1 of 6 hotels in Ladismith
137 Reviews 5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mymering Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mymering Guest House
  • Overview
  • Reviews (137)
  • Photos (99)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Mymering Guest House to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
83
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent just one night here in the Mae West room in April on our road trip along Route 62 and the Klein Karoo. We loved having the chance to open a bottle of Mile High and enjoy it in the hot tub overlooking the scenery before dark fell. We walked along the paths to the dining area for dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent the night to break our journey on the R62. We stayed in Mae West cottage, with a lovely deck and plunge pool . The room is well appointed , beautifully decorated & spacious. The ensuite has bath & shower but we were disappointed as shower had no pressure & the bath water was brown & sandy. Can definitely recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lagos, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After all the wonderful reviews, we were looking foreward to stay at Mymering guesthouse. However, when we arrived the hosts were not at home and our rooms were shown to us by the roommate. The rooms were cold and dark (curtains closed). There was no hot tub and the fireplace appeared to be outside and could not be lit. The... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Andy and I are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at Mymering. We were away for our annual break in Europe. It is not possible unfortunately to on the farm 365 days of the year! Our Chef/Manager and staff are well trained and able to take care of our guests while we are away. As we do... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the highlights of our hols in South Africa. The location was so peaceful, the food was delicious, the wine even more so and the morning dog walk with Andy was just what we needed. You MUST stay at this place if in the area and if not then make a special trip. You will not be... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived in the evening they prepared a three-course meal for us. It was perfectly cooked by Leo, the owner of the beautiful winefarm Andy gave us a warm welcome and kept us company during our diner. We slept at the cottage and the next morning we took a walk through the mountains with Andy and the dogs. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering Guest House, responded to this review

Greetings from Mymering :) thanks for your wonderful review of Mymering and staff - so motivating to get such a positive review ! thanks and hope to see you back warm wishes Penny and the Mymering team More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Meymering is in a stunningly beautiful location, with vast wide open vistas of the Swartberg mountains. Though only 2km off the tar road, it feels incredibly remote - this is as utterly peaceful and as far away from it all as it’s possible to get without a 4x4. The room (Mae West room) was lovely – utterly private and secluded,... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering Guest House, responded to this review

Hello from us all at Mymering :) thanks for your fabulous review of Mymering and its staff. Hope to see you back soon for a little more TLC! warm wishes Penny and the Mymering team More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Highly recommended - very comfortable accommodation and good food in a scenic environment. Excellent venue for a stop-over on the R62 or to chill out for a few days. Andy was a friendly and entertaining host.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had been told this was an amazing place but were a bit disappointed as the air-cons in the two rooms we had did not quite get warm enough, the room had a few patches of plaster that had come off the walls and Andy and Penny were away - I suppose that cannot be helped as we were told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A week to the day and I am still speechless. Andy & Penny were just the best hosts, along with the staff, Doggies and Roosters. Never ever have I felt so welcome and comfortable in anyone's company. I am re-energized, mind, body and soul. The food was incredible, the wine was to delicious(Kept flowing), the company was never ending and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ladilady, Owner at Mymering Guest House, responded to this review

A warm hello from Mymering :) so pleased that you found what you were looking for and embraced our beautiful valley and our 'zoo'!! see you back soon Penny and the Mymering team More

Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

What an amazing stay we had at Mymering Guest house for the long weekend. Some of us arrived on the Saturday and some on the Sunday and we are all sorry we didn't go earlier. Penny and Andy are excellent Hosts! They made us all feel very welcome and special.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mymering Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mymering Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mymering Guest House

Address: Dwarsriver | Dwarsrivier valley, Ladismith 6655, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Ladismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mymering Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mymering Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mymering is a 4 star wine and guest estate situated on a working wine and grape farm. All accommodation is air-conditioned with private pool/jacuzzi decks. Rates include a hearty breakfast with a 3 course dinner on request. Enjoy our Hillock boutique wines in the evening and during the day take a walk through the vineyards to taste our different varieties of export table grapes. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mymering Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer