We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackamoor Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Boroughbridge Road, Ripon HG4 5AA, England
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Blackamoor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

A warning to anyone thinking of eating here.... Go somewhere else! The chef/owner does not respond to his customers if they have a problem with their meal ( which , as we all know, can happen in the best of restaurants but it's how they solve the problem that matters!) the difference here is that he just doesn't care! What... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LynnL2
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here yesterday to attend a wedding venue at the deanery. We were given a very friendly welcome, and shown to our beautiful room, that was extremely taste fully done. We were given a lift to the wedding venue by our host which was about 5 mins away ( much appreciated) and he sorted a taxi back for us.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaRiddellEmbrey
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We have visited twice over the festive period and have had a lovely Yorkshire welcome on both occasions ,the hosts are welcoming and nothing was two much trouble the food was taste, hot and all fresh the only criticism is there was to much even for the men folk ,we will be visiting again soon

Helpful?
Thank HEATHHOLD
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

We are locals and have visited the Blackamoor Inn on many occasions and will do so again no doubt. But Christmas day lunch was spoiled by 2 things. The food was not by any means piping hot. I tasted the mashed potato, now I just love mashed potato, what a disappointment, firstly it was only warm, but horror of horrors,... More 

Helpful?
Thank anniec025
Amanda K, Owner at Blackamoor Inn, responded to this review

In response to your posting regarding Christmas Day, we certainly do not serve powdered mash potatoes, Our potato's are delivered from the local green grocer in Ripon, we request you call into the BlackaMoor and will personally take you into our kitchen and show you that we peel and boil them just like everyone else. We always return to tables... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

We were made to feel very welcome from walking in the door to walking out. Christmas lunch for 12, food very good, the place is beautiful and clean. The staff couldn't do enough for us. We have driven past this pub for years and never been in, we will never pass again. Thank you😃

Helpful?
Thank Fluffyell
harrogate
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome. We were a party of ten celebrating a couple of birthdays and new jobs. Ordered starters and also mains, had to wait nearly an hour for starters to arrive. Nothing said about why we had to wait even though there was a large party in the next room. Same delay for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank john f
Amanda K, Owner at Blackamoor Inn, responded to this review

Trip Advisor is for true and constructive remarks, it is quite clear your aim for the evening was to be disruptive and yes abusive to the staff. This is not our first experience with members of your party been rude and causing problems in the restaurant. Please make sure you word and create your story correctly.. the owner who is... More 

North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015 via mobile

Ate here with friends early evening. We took advantage of the Early bird menu. This is available 12-1pm and 5-6.30pm.Mon -Sat. £6.95 main course, £8.95 for two and £10.95 for three courses. The food is excellent, well cooked and came hot and well presented, service is also excellent. Brilliant, give it a go.

Helpful?
1 Thank CumbreNorthYorkshire
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

Stayed at the Blackamoor last week for one night it is an excellent place to stay with lovely renovated rooms, we had a twin which was very good with views over the hills and all the amenities and comfortable beds. We ate in the restaurant for dinner it was superb, the casserole of local game outstanding, linked to a pint... More 

Helpful?
Thank yorkie186356
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

Went for a family meal with a party of eight and took advantage of the early bird offer. Food was delicious and portions were very generous. The pub is a perfect example of a little country pub with ample parking at the rear and a farm next door.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amrdeep S
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Stayed for one night with family. Cannot fault it for the price. I was a little concerned about having the only downstairs room and proximaty to the bar area but was assured there would be no noise whatsoever and they were right. We had dinner which was excellent and the breakfast was one of the best I have had and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cabbagehead61
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
1.4 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#4 of 7 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 7 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
9.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 7 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
5.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities