We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ripon Spa Hotel

#4 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Hotel amenities
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    153
    54
    28
    6
See reviews for
75
230
16
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (477)
  • Mar-May only
    (118)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (139)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent two nights here and were happy with the location, a short walk into the town and pleasant surroundings. We were taken aback on entering the foyer which has strange decor but other rooms were better. You could see what a grand place the hotel had once been. Our room looked out on the garden, was spacious and clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fergus T, Department manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review The hall and reception area was done about 7 years ago , to suit the style of the building . Am happy you were satisfied with your room . The Turf Bar and Bistro provides fresh food , not frozen , ergo the very competitive market price . More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I have been using the Spa Hotel now for some time as a venue to run my courses and meeting from. The service you get from the wonderful team at this hotel is by far the best I have had and I use a lot of Hotels!!!!. The friendly and accommodating ethos this hotel has is just fantastic and my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really old fashioned hotel. Looks magnificent from the road, but just very tired and run down close up. Could do with some lighting in the car park. Reception dated and carpet looks knackered. Room was decorated well. However the ceiling light was hanging off the ceiling and the lights flickered, there was a nasty patch of what I thought was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fergus T, Department Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . Whilst I disagree with one comment , the others I am in total agreement with and in that condition the room should not have been let , all the relevant departments have now been informed of the failings . Sorry to have disappointed you . More 

Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned from a weekend in Lincoln to a really fabulous Mother's Day Lunch with all the family. As ever, this is becoming a real favourite and the food and service and amazing staff just get better each time. Great portions, great selection all to the accompaniment of a great pianist. Coffee in the bar afterwards where we met the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed here for 1 night as a short break on route to elsewhere. So pleased my dog was welcome; at no extra cost!! Staff were very welcoming and considerate, food was beautiful and the roaring open fires fab! Yes, the decor is a little tired and dated but this hotel more that makes up for wallpaper. Couldn't fault it........ More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fergus T, Department Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

The staff are the most important cog in the hotel wheel , and are always striving to make the guests feel valued . We hope to see you again soon More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying at the Ripon Spa hotel and cannot believe how accommodating they are. We are here with an extremely needy little dog. We are unable to eat in the restaurant due to not wanting to leave her making a noise for the comfort of other guests. This, however is not a problem to the staff. They offered room service or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fergus T, Department Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

We always welcome guests with dogs and am glad we exceeded your expectations . If you should return in the warmer weather , you will be able to eat outside on the terrace , overlooking our award winning gardens watching top level Croquet or the World go by . Your choice ! Extremely glad you enjoyed your stay . More 

Normanton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had a lovely one night stay ,at the Ripon spar hotel Yes the building is a little tired ,But the staff and the food were excellent Our bar meal on the evening was first class The breakfast was good as well .we left the hotel that morning full for most off the day Will we come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fergus T, Department Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . Like the Forth Road Bridge work is continuous and when you return I hope you will notice some of the remedial works are being undertaken . More 

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

My husband booked the restaurant at the Ripon spa for a surprise Valentine dinner for the 2 of us! I was quite excited, as being local to the hotel, we had always admired it from outside, but never actually been into the hotel itself. The meal itself we couldn't fault, but the layout of the room, for a Valentine's dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your Valentine's dinner did not turn out to be the romantic occasion it should have been. A music system has since been installed as a result of your review and we would be very pleased to invite you and your husband to dine one Sunday lunchtime with our compliments. I will be contacting you direct... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I stayed here on a recent business trip to Ripon and thought it was terrible. On arrival I thought I had arrived at the wrong place. It was more like a retirement home than a hotel. The room was clean although there was a musty smell to the whole place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry you were disappointed. Some of our bedrooms are in the process of being refurbished and the lack of content in your review does not allow us to comment further however can all the latest reviewers be wrong in their ratings? More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in cold Feb. and the open fires in the lounge and the bar were most welcome. We really enjoyed our breakfast with great tasty bacon and field mushrooms, The building was a little tired which was reflected in our room as the heating could only just cope with the draught coming through the window. Considering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

I am of course biased, but I have to agree with you that our food is particularly good! We are running a special promotion on steaks at the moment - £15 Steak Night Every Night" - what better excuse to book a return visit? More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question