We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Riber Hall to your Saves list
Riber Hall, Matlock DE4 5JU, England
Hotel amenities
Riber Hall
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    33
    7
    7
    9
See reviews for
6
95
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in room 7 and it was just to die for. The four poster bed was delightful and soo comfy and the whole room was decorated and furnished beaufully. The bathroom was also gorgeous and everywhere was spotless. We will most definitely be back. Location amazing and views that had you gazing. Brilliant price too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely beautiful place to stay, very romantic, fantastic garden. The only down side was we could not get hold of anyone on the number they left for us to ring if we needed somebody. We did actually ring to see if the room was available for an extra night but despite ringing several times and leaving messages we had no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked through cottages4u. Agree with comments rooms have damp smell, dark and dingy. The website showed the conservatory area, we thought this was in addition to a lounge. The barn is advertised for 20 people, we were a party of 14 so did not use all the rooms but found the small kitchen with two marble top static tables were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this review

3rd review from “Self Catering in Riber Barn” & "Musty, dark and dingy” Same response Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago As you will notice, I don’t tend to respond to reviews. However, on this occasion I do believe it is wholly unfair. I will address each point: ‘£120 per couple’ The actual cost... More

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was a break with a group of friends. It's always difficult to find large enough places where we can eat and socialise together and this seemed to fit the bill. The property looks attractive from the outside but the first impression as I entered one was of the strong smell of damp and mustiness together with the darkness of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this review

2nd Review from “Self Catering in Riber Barn” Sorry same response Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago As you will notice, I don’t tend to respond to reviews. However, on this occasion I do believe it is wholly unfair. I will address each point: ‘£120 per couple’ The actual cost of the property which... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Barn (not Riber Hall), 18 of us in total and had a great time. The weather was a major plus as we spent all weekend in the garden, playing tennis and swimming at Cromford meadows (5 min drive away). Although some of the other reviews complain about the small kitchen and access to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Watford,UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were a group of 7 couples who rented Riber Barn ( part of Riber Hall ) for a weekend break. We booked via Cottages4you and were very disappointed in the standards of this property for the price we paid. This worked out at £120 per couple per night. First, we had a very poor level of information before we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harthill, Owner at Riber Hall, responded to this review

As you will notice, I don’t tend to respond to reviews. However, on this occasion I do believe it is wholly unfair. I will address each point: ‘£120 per couple’ The actual cost of the property which sleeps 20 is £32.50pppn for 10 en suite bedrooms each with sony LCD LED tv , many of which are 4 poster beds... More

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the picturesque grounds of Riber Hall. We would strongly advise anyone who is travelling by foot to take the train to Matlock Bath then take the public footpath through Starkholmes, we instead walked two miles uphill from Cromford train station and rued the decision. Travel information from Derbyshire Country Homes is one of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this venue and in visiting several locations nearby. We would definitely return to both the area and this coach house. A coach house refurbished to a unique standard, set in a very tranquil setting. No mass lighting, but subtle and subdued that added to its charm. We stayed in one of the first floor bedrooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Beautiful place. Such a peaceful place in full view of Riber Castle. The countryside around the hotel is lovely. The hotel rooms have lots of original features but with everything you need for either a long stay or overnight. Excellent place for touring the area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Idyllic , peaceful and steeped in history, a wonderful stay in classic surroundings. Fantastic 4 poster bed. Best night's sleep in years! I'll be back! Found no problems with facilities or noise whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Riber Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Riber Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riber Hall

Address: Riber Hall, Matlock DE4 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Riber Hall Hotel Matlock
Riber Hall Matlock

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Matlock with
any amenities