We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lea Hall

Lea, Matlock DE4 5GR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Lea Hall
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
St. Kitts and Nevis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I stayed from 15th-17th January 2016 at lea hall in Matlock. The house is in a Beautiful location, cosy on arrival and packed with historic features - good for history buff. No problems cooking yet another turkey dinner. All the bedrooms having there own bathroom made the stressful family morning a lot easier.

Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect for our Christmas Downton Party weekend, just like stepping back in time but with heating and lights, we made good use of the huge dining table and beautiful Wedgewood table service, the décor was just my taste, all the bedrooms were en-suite and a great size apart from one which was a bit small compared to the others.

Helpful?
Thank Jab R
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

I am only just recovering from the trauma of staying here in October for my sisters 40th birthday. On arrival, the house felt unclean and unkempt, despite the high price charged for the stay. The worst was yet to come when 2 nights in to our stay, a fire broke out at 5am, there were no fire doors and the... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Hopesprings70
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

Firstly, I’d like to apologise that you thought your experience at Lea Hall was not up to the standards we strive to achieve. We were devastated to receive the phone call informing us of the fire on the morning of October 11th the last day of your three night stay, and made our way to Lea Hall as quickly as... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

Don't be fooled by grade 2 listed building that look idyllic it's a façade. I was lucky to escape with my life and nearly lost 3 generations of my family. A portable electric de-humidifier left on in cellar with a sign saying "DO NOT SWITCH OFF". We followed this advice and nearly cost us our lives when caught fire in... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank nanasusue
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

Please see "Death trap property" same group More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

I would not recommend a stay here. Pictures look amazing but we stayed for a 40th birthday. There was a fire in the cellar. Fire alarms did not go off. No firecexits. No fire doors. No fire escapes on higher floors. Windows bolted shut. Only thing that saved our lives was a light sleeping member of the party....without this 20... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SmiggerLiverpool
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Just back and must say although we had a good family get together was disappointed by lea hall. No one to pass over keys told where the keys were hidden. Couldn't get into house till after 4:00 pm but had to leave by 10:00 am. Arrived Friday left Monday morning. In room were only left one bath towel and one... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank relax19
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

Unfortunately we can not show every guest in due to late arrivals etc, instead we arrange a key collection system, the arrival and departure time is known prior to booking as are the linen/towels supplied, so were unsure as to why this is referred to in this review, we are increasing our gardening time, but Im afraid the lovely old... More 

Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

The first thing we did before booking was to look at the very impressive photos and write up for lea hall, the reality was quite different, there were 20 of us including children on a self catering weeks stay, i wont knock the place as everyone has their own expectations, but dont expect luxury surroundings, nice clean decor, or conveniance... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank susan m
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

We are very sorry you didn't think Lea Hall met your expectations, we also do not consider Lea Hall a luxury property and neither advertise it as such or charge luxury prices, it is a period building of great character and we have spent considerable time and effort to retain this, we do not advertise having a washing machine or... More 

Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at lea hall last weekend celebrating my 30th, their was 18 of us and everybody loved it. The house is very quirky and the outdoor area is brilliant, we spent a lot of time outside as took a BBQ and wood burner. The kitchen was great for storage and fully equipped with all utensils. All the bedrooms are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lyndsey l
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Lea Hall, we are so pleased you enjoyed our lovely house. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

There's a group of 20+ of us who take an annual long weekend, and I'm always amazed at what fabulous accommodation our group leader is able to find! Lea Hall was no exception. We visited in March and the house was lovely and warm with good central heating as well as the option of open fires in the public rooms.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret W
Harthill, Owner at Lea Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for the response, we have now installed a 2nd dishwasher (table top) and a new commercial range with 3 ovens, this should hopefully help making dinner for 20 easier. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We hired Lea Hall for our wedding party in August. We were married in nearby Matlock and our weekend was everything we hoped it would be made all the more special by staying in such a fabulous venue. The house was intriguing and enchanting and our guests were thrilled to be staying in such a unique house. Chequers catering company... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Denise S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.2 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Temple
The Temple
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#3 of 6 in Darley Dale
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
5.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
2.7 mi away
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay