We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Hope Valley B&Bs / inns

The Chequers Inn

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Froggatt Edge, S32 3ZJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Chequers Inn to your Saves list
The Chequers Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
76%
Ranked #29 of 47 Hope Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Menu ok for meat eaters (e.g. fish wrapped in parma ham). My husband had homemade pie and homemade chips , which were very tasty. I tend not to eat meat dishes. Didn't fancy the one veggie dish so opted for a chicken Mediterranean cous cous. Was expecting a dish with a lot of veg. It was packed full of raisons... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a good place. Good admin when booking. Good welcome on arrival and a really good room. Didn't see the others but room 1 is large comfortable and what a bathrooom! The food was really good and great value. Hearty meals for those who have been walking and some classy cooking as well and that is before we get to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southwell
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I've visited the Chequers on several occasions in the past and have always enjoyed the food but I was somewhat disappointed to find that the lunchtime food selection had a) become rather expensive and b) gone all nouvelle cuisine-ish! I love good food but I do get fed up of towers of food piled up on the plate. Whatever is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit. Really pleased that you appreciate our atmosphere and setting, but are a little confused about your comment about our pricing. The prices of the majority of our dishes have actually been reduced since the New Year, some main courses by £2. Our quality and style of food reflects our AA... More

Billingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We booked this online and as usual were apprehensive on arrival, however the room was perfectly fine although smallish, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom adequate but not palatial. We were to stay 2 nights but on our first full day in the peak district encountered car problems and had to cut our stay to one night. The owners... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Lovely stay here last night. Four poster room was no frills but extremely clean and comfortable but to be honest it did have everything we needed. Lovely bar area which was very welcoming and cosy on a freezing cold winters night. Price very reasonable and breakfast far outweighed our expectations and the homemade jam was outstanding. Our evening meal was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for a romantic weekend away, in order to have some chill time together "away from it all". Hubby booked Chequers as a surprise, as we hadn't had much time together over Christmas and New Year... And have to say, this place was just perfect ... really lovely - it certainly ticked all the boxes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for my birthday, we were greeted very nicely and shown to room 5, super room four poster, clean, warm and spacious. Lots of choices on the hospitality tray. Bathroom clean and shower lovely ans hot and powerful. We stayed two nights, breakfast each morning freshly cooked, no request was too much for the young gentleman waiter. Lovely breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Not eaten here for a few years; always liked it, so went again recently for lunch. Excellent, very enjoyable. Decent quality food, service just right and friendly. A bit on the pricey side, but worth it. One observation (and in complete contrast to another TA member's recent review), the four of us found that the portion size of the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have eaten at this pub on about half a dozen occasions over the last few years and always found the food extremely good and interesting. I would have rated it among the best three or four eating pubs in the county. It was never cheap but the quality was always excellent, and quantities were OK so we felt it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is quite expensive for what if offers and what is really anoying is the internet connection! no internet connexion in room 2 and almost everywhere in the corridor. I had to skype at the restaurant with other people. no intimacy! Nevertheless, the restaurant is very nice and has improved since last time.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Hope Valley
The Chequers Hotel
The Chequers Inn Hope Valley, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Address: Froggatt Edge, S32 3ZJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hope Valley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hope Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chequers Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chequers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.