We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Bakewell B&Bs / inns

The Red Lion

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
Hotel amenities
The Red Lion
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Lion to your Saves list
Ranked #26 of 40 Bakewell B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
thecattons
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    47
    17
    9
    14
See reviews for
23
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked this Accommodation for my wife's bday, just one night away in beautiful bakewell,the staff here are fantastic,we had lunch here and the service was friendly and for once the bar staff actually seemed to care about what they were doing, the food was great,I had roast beef sarnie with homemade chips n gravy, the gravy was the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What's good about this place is the breakfast (tasty full English). The location, central bakewell close to all amenities. The free parking permit from 4pm-11am and the hot powerful shower! What could be better is the rooms are very basic and in honesty could do with updating (pine furniture and painted wallpaper and the no wardrobe to hang clothes in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My son and I stopped by for lunch after visiting a nearby attraction. I had sausage and mash with onion gravy. My son had a hot beef sandwich. Both meals were excellent and good value for money. We also sampled the local Chatsworth beer which was really good. The staff were friendly and it was a pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, West Yorks
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in for a beer after a walk around the town with our dog. Nice chap behind the bar, decent choice of beers on tap and picked a great pint of Swift Nick. Decent seating outside at the back and overall a good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ingerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

As long as you're not expecting The Ritz then The Red Lion is just fine. And for the money you pay then you can't expect too much luxury. Old fashioned yes, but the basics are great. Lovely comfy bed, clean, ideal location, and a more than decent breakfast. Bit of an issue with condensation but certainly nothing to complain or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I've eaten here a couple of times. The food is great and very reasonably priced. I had the Steak and Stilton pie today which was good and I've had the steak sandwich (also topped with Stilton!) a couple of times and it’s been excellent both times. The pub has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the bar staff where courteous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

On holiday we called In for a meal. We had steak and ale pie with chunky chips. The steak was awful I couldn't eat it and there was no sign of ale in the pie at all the chips tasted like they had been warmed up definitely would not go again. There were no paper towels or a towel or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RedLionBakewell, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. Upon clearing your table you were asked if you had enjoyed your meal. “I didn’t like the meat” was the only comment. We served over 20 portions of Beef & Ale Pie that day and 100s of portions of chips. As only some of the pie and a couple of chips were left... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

Called in for a drink after a long walk,were greeted by a pleasant bar man,there was a good selection of beers on tap.Albeit we didn't eat on this occasion the food looked very appetising.There was plenty of seating.Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rotherham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Went on Saturday 20 Sept 2014 for an evening meal, all we found was a very uninspired menu. The restaurant was empty except for our party of six so we should have known what to expect really all the dishes were bulked out with loads of chips and vegetaqbles. The bar area was full of local youths and the language... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Just been for a meal here, the food was really good, hearty food. Just what you want from a local pub. Had to wait for our burgers to be cooked as they are completely done from scratch! Lovely food, great service, reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Bakewell
Bakewell Red Lion
Red Lion Bakewell

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay