We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Bakewell hotels

Monsal Head Hotel

Monsal Head, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NL, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (199)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Monsal Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Bakewell
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    54
    26
    29
    11
See reviews for
47
93
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
76 hotel reviews
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Used this as base for three days walking with 3 of my 4 grown-up sons, having visited previously with just one of them for a single night a few years back. We were very well looked after - they even called me and prepared sandwiches for us as we were going to arrive too late for dinner! The rooms (4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited on Saturday and very impresses. Lovely food and fantastic service. The young lad that served us was very friendly and knowledgeable about the local ales on offer. He even demonstrated a wobble head photo for us! Would defiantly recommend you call in for food and drink ! Lucia

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked in advance for dinner, we waited 15 minutes for drinks 40 mins for starter there was a dire shortage of staff to serve the amount of people in the restraunt although the food was good when it did arrive the waiting was far too long even for a relaxed evening meal. Improvements will have to be made before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael B, Thank you for your review about your recent visit to the Monsal Head Hotel, I will ensure your positive comments regarding the food are passed on to the chefs as the food here really is excellent! I would like to offer an apology on behalf of all of the team regarding the service which you experienced; we... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Surprise weekend for our 26th wedding anniversary from my husband. We have walked in this area many times and brought our bikes this time and the weather was perfect. The hotel is in a perfect location and we enjoyed a Friday to Sunday break with dinner, bed and breakfast. The food was delicious for breakfast and two evening dinners. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresa W, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Monsal Head Hotel; it is a pleasure to read your comments about the delicious food, accommodating staff and your experience of our Stables Bar as well as the extras which you found in your room! I will ensure all of these positive comments are passed on... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wouldn't have minded the shabbiness if we'd had better service. We stayed two nights with our dog and ate in the Stable bar both nights. The first evening was fine, lovely food and good service but the second night was a different story - just goes to show how important the shift manager is. If we hadn't drawn attention to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne W, Thank your for your review regarding your recent visit to The Monsal Head Hotel. On behalf of the whole team I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the service which you experienced on the Saturday night in the stables bar. We were not aware that the summer would be arriving early causing the Saturday to... More

Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The food is disturbingly good. The service is ridiculously friendly and efficient The Hotel is disappointingly comfortable and dog friendly The view is totally mediochre compared to the Alps The staff were disgustingly attentive in terms of making our stay a good one. We will be continuing on our way and may never visit the place again, in the pessimistic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lotussound, Many thanks for your comments about the Monsal Head Hotel. I have to admit myself and the staff had to read your review a couple of times to work out if it was a extremely positive one or a negative one!! However, all the team enjoyed reading your comments and would love to welcome you back soon to... More

Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After enjoying some of the excellent local beers we decided to stay for dinner, and were very glad we did. We started with fish soup, as good as the best in France, home made hummus made really special by the addition of nuts, sundried tomatoes and toasted bread, and sumptuous duck terrine with cauliflower brulee. Mains were a melt in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susannah H, Many thanks for your lovely review, it is lovely to hear about your enjoyable visit. I will make sure that I pass on all of your comments to the chef's, team and Luke in particular who will be over the moon with your feedback. I have to agree that all the food here is mouthwateringly good, especially... More

Rillaar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Extremely welcoming and friendly staff, and a lovely room with stunning views over Little Longstone and the Monsal Dale. Due to time restraints we weren't able to visit the Stables bar, but we had an absolutely brilliant three course evening meal in the Longstone restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark-Sabine, Many thanks for your lovely review about the Monsal Head Hotel. We pride ourselves on the customer service which we provide to all guests and I will ensure your comments regarding the food and service are passed on to the chefs and the rest of the team. I am pleased that you had a pleasant evening with us... More

Longridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have to agree with the previous review here, and say what a massive disappointment the Stables bar was... On entering I was definitely not blinded by 8 local ales... Instead, I was left disappointed by the lack of exciting beer range... If the manager has not even heard of Whim ales, then he really shouldn't be in charge of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for a late lunch on our way back from a weekend break. Weather was perfect and views to die for. Decided to eat outside at The Stables bar next to Monsal Head Hotel.....we have been before and knew to expect lovely food. This visit the was 4 of us and I had the lemon sole dish......very good and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
derbyshirew, General Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda35, Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor, I have had a full discussion will all staff that were on shift that day and it looks like we made a mistake to which we hold our hands up and apologise. On your luncheon in question yes there was a little confusion with the orders between table8 and 9... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Monsal Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Monsal Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsal Head Hotel

Address: Monsal Head, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Monsal Head Bakewell

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Monsal Head Hotel is situated at the peak of the Monsal dale. The hotel itself is steeped in history whilst the Stables bar which has stood the test of time for over 200 years still holds the quirky values today as it did then. Offering a fine selection of beers supplied by local micro breweries. Food is of the highest offering with everything from light bites to hearty meals with an enphasis on good quality local produce all made on the premises. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Monsal Head Hotel to your Saves list