We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Bakewell

Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Hotel amenities
The Peacock Bakewell
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 40 Bakewell B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
becks24 notts
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    164
    104
    31
    21
    24
See reviews for
49
185
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (344)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
notts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not quite sure why it took us so long to fall upon this gem of a pub in central bakewell but so pleased we did. We have visited the area for many years only visiting the peacock recently. Our most recent visit was fathers day and the meal we had (combo roasts all round!) made the day, the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, I thought I was out in the wilderness, still looking for the sign, when I found just what i needed, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Hey becks24 - you get it, we get it - pity the small minority of cranks don't get it, but who needs cranks in their life ? Well we at the Peacock certainly don't, so I dedicate this fine review to all you sad individuals who come to Trip Advisor and haven't got a clue!!! Thanks Becks, and aren't you... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading the reviews in here a negative comment is met with a rude response which is just how you are treated when frequenting here. Food is average and mostly frozen but does look lovely on presentation and drinks over priced. Have been several times each time hoping fir a more friendly service but disappointed each time. Only return as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
thepeacockbakewell, If only you knew your own mind, as you actually keep coming back, yet you say there is superior food, than, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

After reading this review - there is only one apparent ignorance and that is the writer, because if the food served at the Peacock is mostly frozen I'll give you a grand! You are obviously entitled to an opinion DEBORAH E S, but it is an opinion I have no respect for, because who in their right mind would continue... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have never stayed at The Peacock, although over many years have had some lovely meals and service in the bar and latterly in the newer dining area. I could not find fault. My thanks goes to the landlord of the Peacock for his responses to all of his reviews. Tripadvisor appears to attract so many reviewers that have such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, Now here's a man you should listen to, who from experience gives good advice as he has dined many, many times, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

And in return we Thank You GrahamH1969 - as it goes without saying you understand, you see the Big Picture, you have seen how crazy, how manic it can be at this lovely little Pub in the heart of Bakewell, and the amazing Peak District. We have to deal with everything thrown at us on certain occasions, and there are... More 

Wainfleet All Saints, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a day out with my girlfriend and found this lovely place. Well it was till we went in... The staff was very arrogant and damn right rude, and for a glass of wine and a local bitter...£9.90. I work for a premium brand myself, and feel the service and staff here are just damn right rude..... If you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
thepeacockbakewell, I have learned to hate all traitors, and there is no disease that I spit on more than treachery, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

This post actually surprises me as I thought Lunahouseqainfleet - aka David, yes we were once on first name terms, and has actually frequented the Peacock previously, even informed me how fantastic the food was at the Peacock - then........who is this judas iscariot! Or as John Pierpont Morgan would say - 'If you have to ask how much it... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled through bakewell on a business trip and stopped here for a drink. Did not feel welcome and could not wait to leave. Also overpriced, you pay less in the posh London hotels. Will not stop here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
thepeacockbakewell, What shall we do with the drunken traveller, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

.....I think you'd already stopped for a few drinks prior to arriving in Bakewell theseekers2345743, and I'm not suggesting the number 2345743 is the amount of alcohol you had already consumed, but it's as mighty close as you can get, and for that reason you were refused any more and if we take the bullitt for making you feel unwelcome... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for a quick drink one lunchtime whilst visiting Bakewell. There were a number of real ale beers on offer and the one we chose was well kept and very tasty. The lady behind the bar was friendly and helpful too. We didn't eat however, the menu although simple did sound appetising. Well worth calling in if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeacockbakewell, A 'nice little pub' is exactly what it is, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Yes I guess we are Rebecca T, and we thank you for a lovely review! More 

Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just home after staying one night at The Peacock. We stayed in room 7 with a private bathroom just outside the room as opposed to en-suite, as it was the only room available when booking but it was more than adequate & the owners provided slippers & robe which we thought was a nice touch. The room was clean, had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeacockbakewell, Do you want the key to room 7 - or take your pick and upgrade to a room between 1 & 6 for a better view at the inn, yes, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

A very honest, and in truth a very nice complimentary post in many ways, as basically Bowerstrace tells it how it was for them, and how it is if you take room 7 at the Peacock! A review that is full of complimentary comments, so it leads me to advise everybody reading this that room 7 is in fact the... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited recently after a lovely day at Chatsworth House. We were not sure when entering the pub if we had to wait to be seated, so asked at the bar smartly dressed chap found us a table. Didn't really interact with us and appeared quite miserable. We placed order at the bar and didn't wait long for good to arrive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, Lovely Food - Hey that's good enough for me and it will be good enough for you, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Lovely food - Lovely review, just a pity about old misery guts, but maybe he was having an off day! He must have been Trudie M, and I can only apologise, because on the whole he is usually a quite cheerful sort - I know he's old (ish), but I've docked a fiver from his pay packet! The food may... More 

Ashford-in-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal here with friends, generous portions, freshly cooked. There is so much variety, it's really hard to choose what you want to eat. I would highly recommend it, good prices too and well worth the money. Booking is advisable

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, Be advised, from Linda & Martin if dining, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Wonderfull review lindaandmartin - need I say more? Not really, other than thank you, oh and take the advice from Linda & Martin More 

North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We spent a very enjoyable weekend in Bakewell staying at the Peacock. We had the fortune to have booked Room 6 which features an exceptionally comfortable four poster bed, a settee and dressing table, a very large flat-screen TV and an en suite shower room. An amenities tray with decliious biscuits and ground coffee bags was particularly welcome. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thepeacockbakewell, Sometimes certain people announce the most stupidest of things, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

"Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance". Phew, where do I start - and finish, when by your own admittance you concede, you had a fantastic time, in a fantastic town, at a fantastic inn, with all the superficial pleasures you could surely need, get fed and watered to the highest standard with lovely friendly staff -... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay