We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Bakewell B&Bs / inns

The Peacock Bakewell

Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Peacock Bakewell to your Saves list
The Peacock Bakewell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
79%
Ranked #20 of 38 Bakewell B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Anita245 Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (275)
  • Photos (35)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    83
    25
    14
    22
See reviews for
42
146
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived on a wet evening and had booked a one night stay and group dinner. I could not get the shower to work so re-dressed and went to the bar for help. A man subsequently came to the room and fixed it. He spoke not a word. We thought that was slightly eccentric but attached no great significance to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we called in on a very wet bank holiday Monday, gorgeous food. We both chose from main menu, I had Chilli, very nice presentation, not boring mince but proper chunky beef chilli. Hubby had the steak pie, excellent presentation and packed full of meat. We will be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
leigh uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My fiance and i called in here for something to eat on a busy bank holiday sunday. Drinks were fairly priced .The menu looked good but a little on the expensive side at first glance BUT. As we sat in the beer garden choosing we noticed the size and quality of the meals as they were brought out for other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Crap. Food over priced, portions too big. Saturday night staff had no control over the guests outside so led in bed listening to what sounded like a cat fight taking place. Took two attempts at getting the heating on in the room. Will not be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
thepeacockbakewell, the man who is often laid in bed, you know laid, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

How does your review start - Crap..... Well I suggest your review is full of Crap as the Peacock Pub was CLOSED, on a BANK HOLIDAY SATURDAY Night and I was too laid in bed ( it was after midnight) - what concern it is it of mine if people are in the town centre having some Bank Holiday banter... More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found this fabtastic place earlier this year while just out for the day and ended up staying for 3 days! Had to come back 2 months later for another week Absolutely fantastic stay as always! VICKY & GRAHAM being as helpful as ever... with GORGEOUS food every night Defo back next year! :-D xxx Thanx guys ♥ xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
thepeacockbakewell, ....to give you what you want, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Thanks to the pair of you once again - it was lovely to see you, again and your lovely post - again makes it all worthwhile. The cottage was just what you wanted I feel, and the meals you devoured were up to spec to warrant your stay was complete! Great review, and see you next year.... G & V... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to The Peacock a number of times in the past few years and up until the last year, have found it a lovely place to eat and drink. We went in Autumn 2013 and ate some wonderful food, it was game pie and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We ordered a drink and then sat down whilst waiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
thepeacockbakewell, The Man at the Top, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Samfa84 - thanks for the review, and I do understand your point of view. The Peacock is, and feel always will be the place to eat in Bakewell, if you prefer good old fashioned homemade food, that is prepared and served by very competent chefs etc. etc. Your comments about me are taken as honest, and how you see it... More

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit Bakewell once a year to attend the Bakewell Show and always ensure that one of our evenings is spent at The Peacock. Last year's we forgot to pre book a table and had to wait for one to come free but the wait was worthwhile and the food excellent. This year we booked our table the previous evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
thepeacockbakewell, the guy who is here year after year after year after year after year! - Hell, I gotta get outta this place at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Maria M - your post is lovely, and so a Big Thank You for coming back, and hopefully we will be even better next year, it will take some doing though, but we will be on our toes to do so... See you next year! More

Staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are two women who have had a very unpleasant incidence at the Peacock. We arrived 6th August having booked one night in a studio apartment at £147 (not cheap) but we had no problem with this as we were visiting relatives and going to the Bakewell Show. On booking in the manager acted very strangely and disappeared for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 66
thepeacockbakewell, when the pointing duck is not a dog, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Did I expect this review - too damned right, as I don't think I call recall two more ungrateful women during my time at the Peacock.... Pony7 come's to Trip Advisor and attacks me as she certainly can't see the wood for the trees, as I went unreservedly out of my way to put a simple oversight as a Double... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spoke to the landlord who assured me i was booking an accessible room with an accessible shower. The screened access corridor is narrow and would be difficult for a standard wide wheelchair, although the bedroom door is very wide and level threshold. There is plenty of room within the bedroom. The bed was high, and comfortable. There is room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 40
thepeacockbakewell, The landlord who cares, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

This response is a very difficult one to reply to as 23RosyP has personally criticised myself and the room she occupied with a quite vindictive and bitter attitude which given the actual circumstances, is so far from the truth it has left me frankly dumbfounded, and from a personal view - it has upset me! The lady in question unfortunately... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had high expectations for The Peacock due to the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, however we were left slightly disappointed when we visited. We basically expected a better meal for the price we paid. I ordered the Southern Fried Chicken which was ok but not great. I was also disappointed and surprised that there was no salad included even as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 37
thepeacockbakewell, The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting another outcome, so are we insane, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

It's a pity that you have to post a review on Trip Advisor dap73 with high expectations of a meal at the infamous Peacock in Bakewell, when you only choose and have had the Southern Fried Chicken and Thai Fish Cakes - and I say "only" because of all the lovely choices we have on offer - these are the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Peacock Bakewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Peacock Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bakewell with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Peacock Bakewell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer