We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Bakewell

Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Hotel amenities
The Peacock Bakewell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 40 Bakewell B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Paul M Nottingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    96
    29
    19
    23
See reviews for
48
172
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (323)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend at The Peacock. The staff and food were sensational and the rooms were more like those of a boutique hotel than a pub. The bedrooms are fitted to an exceptional standard with an amazing free standing bath in the one in which we stayed. The food was beautiful and the portions huge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, We're Still Standing, and won't be knocked down, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

An absolute gem - nay amazing review from Paul M, but let me state right at the top, Paul has got it absolutely right with every single word, as we also think that all the rooms are amazing after the recent refurbishment we have invested heavily in at the Peacock - in Bakewell of course, and we all defy anyone... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am compelled to write this after reading past reviews in an idle moment. I can only comment on the food and customer service as I am lucky enough to live nearby and do not need to stay overnight. My wife and I have lunched many times at the Peacock and will continue to do so. The food is of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thepeacockbakewell, Is Trip Advisor important, or a load of nonsence, you decide, but we do it right, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

A review that is up there with the best of 'em JimDS - and everyone at the Peacock thanks you as it enables me to respond to the real meaning I feel of your post....... Trip Advisor over the last few years has been a fantastic window to this particular industry to highlight the Good, the Bad AND the Ugly... More 

nottingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went to the peacock for afternoon lunch with the family over Easter. The food was delightful and plenty of choice . Love the presentation of the food on the wooden boards and little chip baskets . I had the Chicken and Chips it was delicious and plentiful and very filling Service is excellent staff very friendly , The pub gets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeacockbakewell, Jenny Jenny Jenny, won't you come along with me, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

jenfis - you know, we know, and that is always good enough for the both of us - so thanks for a nice post and I'm sure we'll see you again next time in Bakewell. Thanks Again! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the peacock with the mrs today proper country pub with real ales. food was nice fairly priced and the staff were pleasant. Even though it was busy the food arrived in good time. Quality pub.!! I also enjoyed Bakewell a quaint little town..

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeacockbakewell, C Moon, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Jason C knows, Jason C understands and that is all you need to know I guess - thanks Jason for seeing it your way! More 

Stockport
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a comfortable stay for one night at The Peacock. Room was very stylish and clean and had that new feeling. Comfy bed and peaceful night sleep. Also had dinner in restaurant which was delicious and plentiful and good friendly service. All right in the centre of Bakewell. Only points to comment which would have have helped in our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeacockbakewell, We do the impossible every day, miracles will take a little longer, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

....look pod from Stockport - in all honesty, and we thank you for posting what can only be described as a really nice honest review, but the hesitant 'look' refers to the comments you make with reference to requiring more light by the bedside and requesting a hook or two for your dressing gown! I accept these are very minor... More 

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Peacock is a central Bakewell pub. Very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. 3 of us booked a table to eat at 7pm on a Friday. Round of drinks : 1 pint of bitter, 1 bottle of cider, 1 half of bitter and a coke... 12 quid. Asked if we could set up a tab as we were ordering food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
thepeacockbakewell, It's hard to write a song with bitter fingers, but AFG found time as is his want, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Hey Listen AFG 1982 - you have an opinion and that's fine, but It's all about price in your mind so I feel you have made that the main stay of your report, as you kick off in sentence one referring to that such issue, I can live with that, and it's not as you put across we don't care,... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the apartments. It was very poorly adapted into an apartment and the facilities were sub par. The shower head pointed directly downwards and you had to stand pressed up against the wall to get wet. I don't think the property had been used in a while as there were dust balls gathering in the corner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
thepeacockbakewell, Tell it how it is now how you want it to be, then everybody understands, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

First point of political correctness Claire B - you didn't stop in any of our two apartments as we don't have any apartments as such, we have a beautiful Cottage and a Studio, the Studio being where you stayed! The Studio has never been described as an apartment - it is a one bed roomed Studio that has an en-suite... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Am I being a bit harsh only giving 3 stars? No. It's pub food, mass produced and fancied-up for the plate! My Thai fishcakes were unexceptional and were Thai because they had a red chilli dip. The other 2 guys agreed the food was good though a bit bland. The service was ok, but slow. Yes it was 8pm on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, You spin me round like a record, but which ones Dead and which ones's Alive, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Are you being harsh because you only give three stars Eddie R - Absolutely, because you haven't got a clue what you are on about..... Mass Produced - who are you trying to kid here as all our food is prepared on site and homemade and if we produce a lot of it, that is hardly mass produced, but in... More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Peacock on a Saturday lunchtime and the place was heaving with people but a very helpful young lady soon found us a table and provided us with menus . The choice was very good and we ordered drinks and food at the bar . Despite being very busy the food was soon delivered to our table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeacockbakewell, Wise men say it's looks like rain today, as we give you a once upon a time, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Roger C from York sees it as it is, and we take great comfort in your recommendation Roger, and so should all the Trip Advisors who visit our lovely town over the up and coming months..... Thank you from us all, as we all fall in love sometimes! More 

Stoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the peacock for a nice Friday night meal out treat. all I can say is the food was amazing! service was a little slow at the bar on entering and ordering but they were busy. nice atmosphere, great food and good prices! will definitely be returning and would 100% recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, Isn't she lovely, as she says nice things and 100% recommends to you all where to dine, and that's, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Thank you Stacey from Stoke, as you epitomise what we are all about at the Peacock, and even though service can be a little slow - it's so many customers I'm afraid Stacey, but you were patient and like us feel the wait was well worth it in the end as you sat, wined and dined with us in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question