We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Bakewell

Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Peacock Bakewell
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    171
    107
    34
    23
    24
See reviews for
53
192
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (359)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (126)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Decided to pop in for a pub lunch/snack after visiting the Bakewell farmers market on the last Saturday in June, crikey was not expecting what we got. I opted for a Fish finger sandwich, which was not fish fingers, more like fish arms, it was 4 battered mini fish on 2 halves of baguette, it was massive, but delicious, light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a pub with very good quality rooms. Both the food and beer are excellent. Some reviewers have commented that the price of both is a bit on the expensive side. Well, the food is consistently of a high quality, locally sourced and extremely well cooked. Most of the meals are of a Desperate Dan size. I wasn't that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thepeacockbakewell, Your work is to discover your work and then with all your heart to give yourself to it, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

....thanks for the lovely and understanding review Debbie F - the contract's in the post!!! You know, we know it, maybe the world knows it, but we are a fantastic product and we like the hard working commendation, as yes we do work hard and we do smile, it's just now and again, and we simply put it down to... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I discovered the Peacock whilst on a short break in Bakewell. We only discovered it when looking on trip advisor for a place to eat. And when we read the responses to some of the reviews we decided it was worth popping in for a drink just to see for ourselves what it was like! We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thepeacockbakewell, Nothing can be loved or hated unless it is first known, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Well Well, if it ain't Ann Orson & Carte Blanche - two of my latest admirers, and elite members of My ever growing Fan Club - thanks for the comments as maybe you do require a sense of humour, but not a sense of taste, as we served you both up with succulent rib-eye steaks - next time try them... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Peacock is a gem. We stopped over night and was astonished at the portions and quality of food with service to match. A very busy establishment catering for all tastes. An absolute must when looking at this town. Don't be put off by the no nonsense approach from management this simply adds to the fun and flavour of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, If you can't feed a hundred people, then feed just one, but feed him well, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

The Peacock in Bakewell is indeed a Gem Simon T and we thank you for highlighting the fact! Glad you enjoyed our presentation (and size) of the fish and chips where the fish is brought daily to the doorstep from the docks at Grimsby - Thanks for the compliment! E-Cigarettes eh? - oh yeah they're banned aren't they - well... More 

Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just popped in for drinks only as was hoping for a pub experience. A shame that all of this 'pub' is laid out for dining. Perhaps it's a sign of the times that pubs need to sell food to make their money - I understand that but feel our experience of only wanting drinks on a wet afternoon would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, Most of the trouble in the world is caused by people just wanting to drink, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

You must have missed the area allocated for drinkers only NickNoo40 - it should have been easy to find! You just walked back out when you came from, turned left, and keep walking, There, it was easy to find! More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got married on 31st July and booked 'The Peacock' in Bakewell for the meal after the ceremony. On arrival all the tables were set out and decorated which was a lovely touch. All the staff were fantastic and the service was first class. The meal was excellent with plenty on each plate meaning no-one went home hungry. All the guests... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thepeacockbakewell, Good luck needs no explanation, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

archie297 aka Michelle and Gareth - we thank you for choosing the Peacock for your Special Day, and we were only too pleased to serve you and your guests good food and wine in the lovely environment of the Peacock, in Bakewell of course! See you soon no doubt, but thanks again! More 

Bolsover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having researched lots of restaurants in Bakewell for my husband's 40th birthday lunch, I decided to book a table (over a week in advance) at The Peacock. Our reservation was for 12.30 but the pub didn't actually open until shortly before 1pm... Then we had to join a lengthy queue at the bar in order to find out that no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
thepeacockbakewell, Orators are most vehement when their cause is weak, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Now hold on a minute HallGACJ - let's get the first piece of mis-information out of the way...... The Peacock does not, and has never opened it's doors at 'just before 1pm - NEVER!!! We open from 11.30am and start serving food from around 12 Noon, so where have you got this information to post on TripAdvisor, I can only... More 

manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live locally and have been into the peacock on 5 occasions now. About 4 weeks ago my wife had a full beef roast dinner and I had the sausage & mash. Both were delicious. We went in yesterday and my wife's beef roast dinner was very poor. The beef was very fatty,the roast potatoes as though they'd been microwaved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
thepeacockbakewell, These are days when no one should rely unduly on his competence. Strength lies in improvisation, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

I feel this review - and I am not complaining, but in all honesty is a little cruel, as firstly I ask where were all the fantastic reviews when you were served four fantastic meals mancunian7. I see you are dressed up as George Best in your photo image - now he was the Best Of the Best, (actually saw... More 

Near Birmingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ate Sunday lunch here yesterday. The outside seats were crowded as it was a lovely day. We had a dog with us and that was ok outside but if the weather had turned we could not have gone into the pub. We had a good selection of meals, chilli, fish, lasagne and they were all good. Large portions meant that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, Never complain and never explain, because the secret of success is constancy of purpose, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time out for posting a review, but in all honesty I can't really get my head around this one..... If I'm honest from your perspective - it's the dog issue, where you say if the weather had turned you would not be able to come into the pub - Quite rightly so incidentally, but please don't judge... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Made a last minute booking for two nights at this great b&b. Had a fantastic fourposter room. The breakfast was excellent quality with great presentation. Also booked an evening meal on the Saturday night the food was to die for would recommend the burgar which was the best burgar i have ever had. My hubby had the pie and said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, Oh how sweet it is to hear one's own convictions from another's lips, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

MeeMee67 - you know you made the right choice, but thanks for letting everyone know. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashford-in-the-Water
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed and Breakfast One Castle Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay