We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Bakewell

Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Hotel amenities
The Peacock Bakewell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 40 Bakewell B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Michael R
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    166
    104
    32
    22
    24
See reviews for
51
186
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (348)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in the family room for 3 nights. The inn is well located, right on the river wye, which was great for walks during the day. We had bed and breakfast there and the room was great with a fantastic home cooked breakfast each morning. After we left, I realised that I had accidently left my spare house keys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Quaint looking pub from outside! But our food was greasy and limp, and the staff were miserable and disinterested. I've just read through the last reviews of this place and it seems that the person in charge is far more interested in berating unhappy customers and point scoring instead of fixing the problem... Might be time for new management ?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thepeacockbakewell, Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

The only thing that is greasy & limp is you Travelgirl8623, because you post a review I suspect to get a reply, and if you had a million pounds, then maybe you would be in a position to buy the Peacock from yours truly - some how I suspect you don't, so before you address a subject you know nothing... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Right in the centre of Bakewell. Really great place to stay and eat. Fish and chips portion was massive!!!! Could have fed 2 people. Great value for money. It's very popular with the locals and tourists alike.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
thepeacockbakewell, We do not write in order to be understood; we write in order to understand.... at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Great review, Christopher B, simple and straight - we thank you as you say it as it is, and how it is, so two thank you's are in order. None of the pontificating rubbish that the know all's - well they think they know it all, we occasionally receive from the self righteous freedom speakers of the world - I'm... More 

Colac, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needed a feed and strolled down from the BnB and found the peacock inn. We sat down and realised that it was ordered at the bar. You have to have cash or a card and pay while you ordered. I would prefer a tab to be run but that was a No No.. Any how we ordered fish , one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
thepeacockbakewell, For those who believe, no proof is necessary. For those who don't believe, no proof is possible, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

....as a pub it was fair and reasonable ( resnable ) I'll tell you what mikervet from Colac, Australia, if you're too lazy to put a review on in good English, why bother, because if we took the same attitude as you - the photograph is a disgrace, then we would be in a mire! If we worked to the... More 

notts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Not quite sure why it took us so long to fall upon this gem of a pub in central bakewell but so pleased we did. We have visited the area for many years only visiting the peacock recently. Our most recent visit was fathers day and the meal we had (combo roasts all round!) made the day, the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
thepeacockbakewell, I thought I was out in the wilderness, still looking for the sign, when I found just what i needed, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Hey becks24 - you get it, we get it - pity the small minority of cranks don't get it, but who needs cranks in their life ? Well we at the Peacock certainly don't, so I dedicate this fine review to all you sad individuals who come to Trip Advisor and haven't got a clue!!! Thanks Becks, and aren't you... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

After reading the reviews in here a negative comment is met with a rude response which is just how you are treated when frequenting here. Food is average and mostly frozen but does look lovely on presentation and drinks over priced. Have been several times each time hoping fir a more friendly service but disappointed each time. Only return as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
thepeacockbakewell, A bird doesn't sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

DEBORAH E S - how dare you post such excruciating comments on Trip Advisor, and not expect a response from yours truly! Your comments are in truth disgraceful, but of course as per the rules of Trip Advisor - unlike you, I am unable to post exactly what I want, where as you have the freedom to post anything you... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

We have never stayed at The Peacock, although over many years have had some lovely meals and service in the bar and latterly in the newer dining area. I could not find fault. My thanks goes to the landlord of the Peacock for his responses to all of his reviews. Tripadvisor appears to attract so many reviewers that have such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thepeacockbakewell, Now here's a man you should listen to, who from experience gives good advice as he has dined many, many times, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

And in return we Thank You GrahamH1969 - as it goes without saying you understand, you see the Big Picture, you have seen how crazy, how manic it can be at this lovely little Pub in the heart of Bakewell, and the amazing Peak District. We have to deal with everything thrown at us on certain occasions, and there are... More 

Wainfleet All Saints, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

Had a day out with my girlfriend and found this lovely place. Well it was till we went in... The staff was very arrogant and damn right rude, and for a glass of wine and a local bitter...£9.90. I work for a premium brand myself, and feel the service and staff here are just damn right rude..... If you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
thepeacockbakewell, I have learned to hate all traitors, and there is no disease that I spit on more than treachery, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

This post actually surprises me as I thought Lunahouseqainfleet - aka David, yes we were once on first name terms, and has actually frequented the Peacock previously, even informed me how fantastic the food was at the Peacock - then........who is this judas iscariot! Or as John Pierpont Morgan would say - 'If you have to ask how much it... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Travelled through bakewell on a business trip and stopped here for a drink. Did not feel welcome and could not wait to leave. Also overpriced, you pay less in the posh London hotels. Will not stop here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
thepeacockbakewell, What shall we do with the drunken traveller, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

.....I think you'd already stopped for a few drinks prior to arriving in Bakewell theseekers2345743, and I'm not suggesting the number 2345743 is the amount of alcohol you had already consumed, but it's as mighty close as you can get, and for that reason you were refused any more and if we take the bullitt for making you feel unwelcome... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Called in for a quick drink one lunchtime whilst visiting Bakewell. There were a number of real ale beers on offer and the one we chose was well kept and very tasty. The lady behind the bar was friendly and helpful too. We didn't eat however, the menu although simple did sound appetising. Well worth calling in if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeacockbakewell, A 'nice little pub' is exactly what it is, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Yes I guess we are Rebecca T, and we thank you for a lovely review! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#2 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashford-in-the-Water
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrafirma Guest House
Terrafirma Guest House
#18 of 40 in Bakewell
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
2.0 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay