We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1 Church St, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
59%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Fionae06
  • Overview
  • Reviews (144)
  • Photos (7)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    24
    26
    11
See reviews for
24
59
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had to wait 45 min for main courses. They gave us free drink. But food was uninspiring lukewarm and not great. Staff apologised. Then couldn't find anyone to pay ! Hugely understaffed. Wouldn't eat there. Shame nice decor and location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago to celebrate an important family anniversary. Rooms are quaint ( it's extremely old!), clean and have everything you need, including lots of plug sockets. Breakfast was excellent as was the one evening meal we had. There were 14 of us and the staff were extremely capable and pleasant. The food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Not a bad place. Not a great place. Room was good..nice staff..good location. but could argue about value for money. stayed for one night in a room with a good bed and clean. Bathroom could do with upgrading however. breakfast was nice but not the most organised. Please get the toast sorted out!! No real problems though and we enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments More

Nantucket
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Room was tiny, a single sold as a double. The small window left us the choice of suffocating or sleeping with no curtains; we were still hot. Ambience was poor; cleanliness marginal. There were no spaces in the parking lot when we returned at night. Shower (cheap little job) had complex instructions because the pump was weak. Door frame was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We always welcome constructive feedback and certainly welcome it from guests during their stay in order to give us an opportunity to put things right. As an Inn, with a history that dates back over 300 years there is a variance in the size and location of our rooms, booking one of our superior or deluxe rooms can certainly give... More

Travelers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

Amesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Before writing this review, I took the trouble of writing to the management of the hotel in order to give them a chance to redeem themselves. So it was no real surprise that I received no reply. I therefore feel obliged to let others know what very poor accommodation is provided at the Swan Hotel Bradford on Avon. We booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We did indeed receive an email from this reviewer on July 21st, it has been responded to accordingly. More

bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here on just about the hottest day of the year. We wanted to eat outside but the garden was a few tables in the car park! The bar staff were great but unfortunately the lager was flat but they willingly changed it for another. We decided to eat but the choice of gammon was off the menu.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your food. We were sorry you were expecting more of a garden, as a town centre property we don't for sure have this luxury, a terrace yes, which we make efforts to maintain; it certainly is a lovely sun trap and a relaxing respite for a town centre property, but... More

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Visited recently The Swan, Bradford on Avon. as guests. I would just like to say how much we enjoyed our weekend break at this lovely riverside, town centre hotel. Rooms were more than comfortable, James the owner made us feel welcome as a family. Meals were excellent in the small but attractive newly decorated restaurant. The hotel has a pleasant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back again More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Like the Ugly Duckling in the fairy story, this hotel has the potential to turn into a swan and live up to its name. The old building in the centre of this lovely historic town is lovely, the rooms our party had we're large and quirky however the management (or lack of) really let's the place down. We did't eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, would love to know when your friends last ate here, we have certainly made some changes and I would welcome the opportunity for your local friends to make themselves known to me and come back and give us another try. The standard of eggs is not acceptable, I am a particular stickler for nice soft... More

Worcester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Surly barmaids devoid of humour and empathy, dirty glasses, dirty drinks bottles, taste of reused cooking oil, dirty menus, dirty table, smell of cigarettes from outside, no towels or dryer in toilet. Having said all that, my wife really liked her Pad Thai. Recommend that the cook abandons ship and moves to a Thai restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, this is certainly not the standards we aspire to maintain, particularly with housekeeping and cleaniness, we are not suggesting that you did not experience what was raised in the review but would like to say it is certainly not the norm. We are glad you enjoyed the Thai food, our owners are half Thai and... More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Booked three double rooms for Saturday 28th June via Booking.com. Arrived soaked, cold and weary after spending the day navigating a canal boat on the Avon and Kennet Canal during a thunder storm. Desperate for hot shower and time to relax . Unfortunately the hotel had no knowledge of our booking despite being shown a confirmation from Booking.com including an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

As a small Inn we would certainly support the reviewers suggestion of double checking with a hotel that your on line reservation is OK, particularly if the booking was made on line some months previously, not of course that 'losing' reservations is a regular occurrence it can happen. In the unusual cases where mistakes are made we do make every... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 1 Church St, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford-On-Avon, England

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bradford-on-Avon with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer