We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1 Church St, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
58%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
SWN_11 Bath, United Kingdom
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    25
    27
    12
See reviews for
25
59
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Work took myself and 2 colleges to the charming area of Bradford Upon Avon but alas not a room to be had in the area except The Swan hotel. Check in was sloppy and told breakfast would be served at 7.30 but our work started at 8 am so asked for a 7.15 service - after some deliberation told that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just stayed one night and were given the dreaded room 4. It is as previously described, a small cell..Little or no space. One side of double bed pushed up against wall. Small window looking over interior walls. The whole of the interior decor needs updating and externally looks very poor.The external windows appear to show more bare wood than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think the reviewer above has given an accurate assessment with regard to the service - it just seems hugely understaffed. This is stressful for all including the staff. It's a shame as the food was lovely! It has a nice ambience and we have had good eating experiences there in the past so hope to return and experience a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked The Swan Hotel, via Trip Adviser, for a one night stay. We were accompanied by my aged Mother who is quite frail with limited mobility. Whilst challenged by the stairs and room layout, the bedrooms were clean, beds comfortable, staff helpful and Thai meal excellent. We were made very welcome. Good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to wait 45 min for main courses. They gave us free drink. But food was uninspiring lukewarm and not great. Staff apologised. Then couldn't find anyone to pay ! Hugely understaffed. Wouldn't eat there. Shame nice decor and location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago to celebrate an important family anniversary. Rooms are quaint ( it's extremely old!), clean and have everything you need, including lots of plug sockets. Breakfast was excellent as was the one evening meal we had. There were 14 of us and the staff were extremely capable and pleasant. The food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Not a bad place. Not a great place. Room was good..nice staff..good location. but could argue about value for money. stayed for one night in a room with a good bed and clean. Bathroom could do with upgrading however. breakfast was nice but not the most organised. Please get the toast sorted out!! No real problems though and we enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments More

Nantucket
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Room was tiny, a single sold as a double. The small window left us the choice of suffocating or sleeping with no curtains; we were still hot. Ambience was poor; cleanliness marginal. There were no spaces in the parking lot when we returned at night. Shower (cheap little job) had complex instructions because the pump was weak. Door frame was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We always welcome constructive feedback and certainly welcome it from guests during their stay in order to give us an opportunity to put things right. As an Inn, with a history that dates back over 300 years there is a variance in the size and location of our rooms, booking one of our superior or deluxe rooms can certainly give... More

Amesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Before writing this review, I took the trouble of writing to the management of the hotel in order to give them a chance to redeem themselves. So it was no real surprise that I received no reply. I therefore feel obliged to let others know what very poor accommodation is provided at the Swan Hotel Bradford on Avon. We booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We did indeed receive an email from this reviewer on July 21st, it has been responded to accordingly. More

bristol
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here on just about the hottest day of the year. We wanted to eat outside but the garden was a few tables in the car park! The bar staff were great but unfortunately the lager was flat but they willingly changed it for another. We decided to eat but the choice of gammon was off the menu.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your food. We were sorry you were expecting more of a garden, as a town centre property we don't for sure have this luxury, a terrace yes, which we make efforts to maintain; it certainly is a lovely sun trap and a relaxing respite for a town centre property, but... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 1 Church St, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford-On-Avon, England

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bradford-on-Avon with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer