We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Throckmorton

3.0 of 5 Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England (Formerly Throckmorton Arms)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Throckmorton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Throckmorton
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
13
53
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was an ok room. A bit down at heel. It's years since I have seen a tv so small!! At breakfast greeted with the smell of bleach as cleaner's bucket left by the eating area which was not nice. Breakfast was good and bed was comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We have driven past here many times en route to evesham down the a435. It has been recently renovated so we thought we'd check in after spotting a deal on late rooms. It was our wedding anniversary so we booked in for a fantastic £38 for b & b a night before new years. After eating at a couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay - although probably worth mentioning for other readers that this was an extremely low rate due to the fact that while downstairs we were very busy over the Christmas/New years period the room were not so. The rooms are due a revamp in 2015 but in the interim we hope our... More 

Alcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Places booked well in advance but a slight mix up with the starters when we got there. Also a specific childs meal ordered for a main course but got an adult sized meal instead, so double check your orders and prices for a childs meal.. But this was the only issues and the staff sorted them straight away so an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Thanks for your review PoppyPolice, Really sorry about the mix ups at the start of the meal and as you said I am glad that we managed to sort them out straight away for you. Thank you for all the other comments as well, I appreciate that while they are all little things these are the things we cannot improve... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Visiting family before Christmas, and as restaurant recently refurbished decided to try it out. Ambience was a bit quiet as not busy and it was so annoying as there was a child constantly crying and in my opinion a manager should have addressed it with the parents. We sat at a round table which was crammed in a small area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Thanks for all your comments, we are always looking at how we can improve things for our guests and will take your comments on board. We hope you will join us again More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We had been visiting nearby Coughton Court and came here for a spot of lunch. The food was excellent and the service equally so. The restaurant and bar area were clearly fairly recently redecorated and very well kept. The sandwiches were enormous and well appreciated!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed it, we hope to see you again More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

The Throckmorton was a good place and I would definitely visit again. The rooms are due to be refurbished and if they bring them to the standards of the restaurant this will be an excellent place to visit. The room wasnt massive, but for the money was ok. one complaint was being in room 6 meant that the door in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the food, as you stated the rooms are in need of refurbishment but we still hope that you found them clean, comfy and great value for money. We hope to see you again post refurbishment More 

Prestatyn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

My wife and myself stayed here on 15 Nov 14 and I booked it because of the scores from previous reviews and that it had been recently refurbished. Unfortunately only the restaurant has been refurbished, but not the rooms. In short Food Dinner - Starter Excellent - Main Course - Faggots - Extremely Salty and the size of cricket balls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lahti, Southern Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Just fantastic small hotel, rooms in the upstairs and downstairs you can find the pub, that´s my heaven!! :) Breakfast was very small but ok, if I remember correctly there was not problems with internet. Funny thing was that when flushing the toilet, the amount of water which came from the system was only size of tiny tea cup :D

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I was more than surprised to see negative comments on here because my experience was excellent. But when you dig a bit deeper its Just had a change ownership and had an amazing revamp. The food was delightful, all arrived promptly and the service was excellent and cheerful. A special mention must go to the belly pork which I thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We ate here on a Tuesday the week that the restaurant had been freshened up. The place looks good, but needs a few finishing touches like some pictures! The first thing to note is the superb selection of beers, including veltins and maissel Weiss! The menu is great, including a black pudding scotch egg which I shall try next time!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Throckmorton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Throckmorton

Address: Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England (Formerly Throckmorton Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Alcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Throckmorton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Throckmorton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Throckmorton Arms Alcester

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay