We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Throckmorton

3.0 of 5 Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England (Formerly Throckmorton Arms)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Throckmorton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Throckmorton
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    24
    11
    13
See reviews for
13
52
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Visiting family before Christmas, and as restaurant recently refurbished decided to try it out. Ambience was a bit quiet as not busy and it was so annoying as there was a child constantly crying and in my opinion a manager should have addressed it with the parents. We sat at a round table which was crammed in a small area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had been visiting nearby Coughton Court and came here for a spot of lunch. The food was excellent and the service equally so. The restaurant and bar area were clearly fairly recently redecorated and very well kept. The sandwiches were enormous and well appreciated!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed it, we hope to see you again More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Throckmorton was a good place and I would definitely visit again. The rooms are due to be refurbished and if they bring them to the standards of the restaurant this will be an excellent place to visit. The room wasnt massive, but for the money was ok. one complaint was being in room 6 meant that the door in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave A, Owner at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the food, as you stated the rooms are in need of refurbishment but we still hope that you found them clean, comfy and great value for money. We hope to see you again post refurbishment More 

Prestatyn
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and myself stayed here on 15 Nov 14 and I booked it because of the scores from previous reviews and that it had been recently refurbished. Unfortunately only the restaurant has been refurbished, but not the rooms. In short Food Dinner - Starter Excellent - Main Course - Faggots - Extremely Salty and the size of cricket balls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lahti, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just fantastic small hotel, rooms in the upstairs and downstairs you can find the pub, that´s my heaven!! :) Breakfast was very small but ok, if I remember correctly there was not problems with internet. Funny thing was that when flushing the toilet, the amount of water which came from the system was only size of tiny tea cup :D

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I was more than surprised to see negative comments on here because my experience was excellent. But when you dig a bit deeper its Just had a change ownership and had an amazing revamp. The food was delightful, all arrived promptly and the service was excellent and cheerful. A special mention must go to the belly pork which I thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We ate here on a Tuesday the week that the restaurant had been freshened up. The place looks good, but needs a few finishing touches like some pictures! The first thing to note is the superb selection of beers, including veltins and maissel Weiss! The menu is great, including a black pudding scotch egg which I shall try next time!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I booked the Throckmorton Arms Hotel on the 19th May for a one night stay on the 27th September. So plenty of notice. It was a good location for a wedding down the road. Six days before I happened to be checking my bank account on-line and noticed a credit for £59 that I did not recognise. On racking my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stefan2605, Manager at The Throckmorton, responded to this review

I am very sorry you were not able to say here. We are not just closing on a whim for a refurbishment. The Throckmorton Arms has been sold. As soon as I was made aware of this I tried to contact everyone who would be effected by the sale to explain the situation if I couldn't speak to anyone I... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We had stayed here before, and it was a lively, buzzing place with excellent food and service. So we booked a weekend again along with some friends. What a mistake! We booked through Booking.com, and left this review on their web site, but strangely, its not been added. The attitude of the staff was very poor. The food in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night. The room was clean and did the job for a one night stay. The bathroom was very small, so if you are on the larger size, might be worth asking beforehand for a suitable sized option. Lovely views of the local countryside. Breakfast was interesting! Asked for a full English breakfast, the waiter took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Throckmorton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Throckmorton

Address: Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England (Formerly Throckmorton Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Alcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Throckmorton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Throckmorton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Throckmorton Arms Alcester

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay