We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Kilkeel accommodations

The Mourne Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Bog Road | Atticall, Kilkeel BT34 4HT, Northern Ireland (Formerly The Cnocnafeola Centre)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Mourne Lodge to your Saves list
The Mourne Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
81%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Myeong-Jin Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Traveler rating
    24
    8
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We, 3 Motorcycle Riders, stayed here for one night only. Roomy lounge, open kitchen with fridge, and clean room. Bathroom was shared with another room, but that was no problem. Staff was very kind and trusting, since our German VISA-cards didn't work (only common in NI, not In the south). Paypal worked later. Parking lot was not perfect for bikes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and for your kindness during your visit. Normally the shared bathroom is not a problem as we try to use this for connecting families but on this occasion the centre was fully booked. Do tell your friends about this lovely Mourne area and visit us again. We always give extra treats to our returned... More

Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We werent aware that the Mourne lodge was a hostel until we arrived there, It was spotlessly clean but there were a few downsides, for instance there was no toilet roll in either the ladies or mens toilets downstairs, the extensive library was a small bookcase of very dated books, we had booked a double room with tv and ensuite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Patricia, Thanks for taking the time to put on the review. Of course we appreciate both your positive and negative comments and are constantly trying to improve our service. We were happy to have you book in at lunch time and I was not available to show you around. We did have toilet rolls in the basket outside your door... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Myself and one other other friend stayed in the Mourne Lodge for just 1 night this summer while off mountain biking in nearby Rostrevor. I have stayed in quite a few hostels and guesthouses in the last 12 months and I can easily commit to say this has been one of the nicest. When we arrived our host gave us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful comment. We do try to cater for the individual needs of our guests. It was easy to cater for your both since you were both most appreciative of anything we did for you during your stay. It is wonderful to find such appreciation from two young, care free lads who were just here to experience... More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here with 7 others during the Four Peaks Challenge for FOCUS Ireland. Mairead runs the lodge like her livelihood depended on it even though she's a volunteer. Nothing was too much trouble for her including checking us in in the middle of the night. The rooms were clean and comfortable the breakfast was superb (try the soda farls) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. Of course, it is always wonderful to have the Four Peaks group with us and they do appreciate the little extras that we do for them. Indeed, we will be giving a cheque to Focus Ireland at Christmas time as a gesture from The Mourne Lodge. Do come and visit us again! More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We emailed before arriving to say that we would get there between 19.00 & 20.00 - if that was OK. When we arrived there was no one there - note on the door saying that we were in room 1. Unfortunately as first time visitors we had no idea where room 1 was, eventually we found it round a corner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry we were not here to greet you but we did call a couple of times but seemed to miss each other. However, when I arrived at 8.10pm I did try to rectify all the little problems that you outlined. Offering you cooked breakfasts, offering you smoothies and fresh fruit salad, giving you heat when you requested it outside of... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

TIP = book direct with the lodge to get a cheaper price than booking.com!! We booked the hostel because of its location to the Mourne Mountains. The scenery is wonderful, however, the best part of the lodge is Mairead who is so welcoming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was simple but absolutely fine. A great shower,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Gillian, thank you so much for the lovely review. This goes a long way to advise others about their stay in the Mournes. It was lovely to have you both and hope you enjoyed your visit to Northern Ireland visiting family and friends. Hope we will see you again sometime. More

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We - hiking group of seven- went during the Easter break. Mairead made all efforts to accommodate us & make us feel at home. She was very knowledgeable about the area, checked & ensured we were happy with our accommodation & meals etc After a long day hiking, the powerful shower (better than my home one) was very welcome. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comment, it was great to have you all stay with us for Easter. So happy that you found everything good for your visit to the Mournes, even the weather was great! It is wonderful to hear that we have another booking for next year when the group hopes to return. \We even hope to improve... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Thanks so much to Mairead and her team for a great break. You were so accommodating and understanding of my simple needs! I had a great stay and will return with the wife! You were extremely helpful in giving me the lowdown on the local area and, thanks to you, I feel I really got a genuine taste of Northern... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

It was really a pleasure to have you here with us. You were such an understanding and accommodating guest. It was just a pity the weather was not so good for your walk but I think you made the best of it. You did not experience our hospitality at its best but we will leave that for your next visit. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in August, using a package which included room, breakfast, packed lunch and an evening meal, excellent value. A bit shocked at some of the earlier negative reviews, I can only put these down to the guests being confused as whether this was a hostel or a guest house/hotel. I thought the website and the confirmation emails from them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful report and we are sorry that we have not responded sooner. We do read our reviews carefully and with great appreciation but this has taken us some time to get back to you. Hope you will visit us again and we will have an opportunity to show our appreciation personally. More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked a private double room with en suite , it was extremely clean and well presented and we had a very restful sleep , they even let us have our well behaved small dog to stay as she goes everywhere with us. We didnt book breakfast as we like to eat later and wanted to be away early to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Christine, thank you for this lovely comment. It is much appreciated even though we are only getting back to you now. I do hope the holiday was good for you in the Mournes. Perhaps you will visit us at another time when we can really spoil you! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Mourne Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Mourne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mourne Lodge

Address: Bog Road | Atticall, Kilkeel BT34 4HT, Northern Ireland (Formerly The Cnocnafeola Centre)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Kilkeel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mourne Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your The Mourne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mourne Lodge Kilkeel, Northern Ireland

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Mourne Lodge and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Mourne Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer