We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mourne Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Bog Road | Atticall, Kilkeel BT34 4HT, Northern Ireland (Formerly The Cnocnafeola Centre)
Hotel amenities
The Mourne Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015
Drew F Gainesville, Georgia
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
12
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I know this place is run by volunteers and. I respect that but the description on the hotel app bore no resemblance to what actually existed. Firstly we spent nearly an hour driving up and down narrow roads looking for the place...it was so poorly sign posted, but when we got there we discovered there was no restaurant or bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Like other reviewers here, I was the only guest at the Mourne Lodge for most of my stay and it was delightful! The Lodge is tidy, well-kept, well-stocked and even has reflective vests in case you're out at night. It's ideally located for hiking in the Mournes and especially for touring the Silent Valley. Mairead and Rachel were gracious hostesses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I only stayed for one night, and I was the only one there. I arrived at 6.30pm, there on the door was a lovely note from Mairead note and my keys, heating was on. Went into my double room and it was lovely. I let Mairead know that I had arrived, there was a shop just two minutes down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bucknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

There is always a but, isn't there Great place, clean and tidy rooms,very friendly staff and management and great for the location in the mountains. But it is a bit seasonable. When I got there I was only person staying there (November) but the heating was on and warm welcome. Then I was left on my own, which I don,t... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We arrived late in a Friday night and were greeted by Mairead who couldn't help us enough, after a good night sleep she made us a wonderful breakfast. This is an ideal place to stay for an activity weekend as a couple or in a group, it was really easy to find and we wished we had more time to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely to have you both and we are glad you enjoyed your short stay. Do come and visit us again. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I stayed at the Mourne Lodge at short notice as I was passing through the area. I got a bit lost trying to find it but the land lady was extremely helpful in giving me directions. I happened to be the only person staying at the hotel that night (it was actually Halloween and it wasn't at all spooky!) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind comments. It was lovely to have you stay with us even though it was a short stay. Sorry you had a little difficulty in finding us but we now have rectified this by sending accurate details to our guests once they book with us. Do come and visit us again. More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

. . . we stumbled on The Mourne Lodge by accident and I'm so glad the B&Bs we tried earlier were full-up! It's location close in to the southern end of the Mournes is perfect for accessing the mountain on foot. The welcome was warm and genuine and we felt instantly at home. (I almost texted Mairead to say I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Dougie, Thank you so much for this wonderful report. You got the last bed in the house for the bank holiday weekend. Of course it was not our best room but you were so gracious and complimentary. All the staff really do try to give our guests a real Northern Irish, homely welcome. We also try to provide local information... More 

Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We, 3 Motorcycle Riders, stayed here for one night only. Roomy lounge, open kitchen with fridge, and clean room. Bathroom was shared with another room, but that was no problem. Staff was very kind and trusting, since our German VISA-cards didn't work (only common in NI, not In the south). Paypal worked later. Parking lot was not perfect for bikes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and for your kindness during your visit. Normally the shared bathroom is not a problem as we try to use this for connecting families but on this occasion the centre was fully booked. Do tell your friends about this lovely Mourne area and visit us again. We always give extra treats to our returned... More 

Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We werent aware that the Mourne lodge was a hostel until we arrived there, It was spotlessly clean but there were a few downsides, for instance there was no toilet roll in either the ladies or mens toilets downstairs, the extensive library was a small bookcase of very dated books, we had booked a double room with tv and ensuite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Patricia, Thanks for taking the time to put on the review. Of course we appreciate both your positive and negative comments and are constantly trying to improve our service. We were happy to have you book in at lunch time and I was not available to show you around. We did have toilet rolls in the basket outside your door... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Myself and one other other friend stayed in the Mourne Lodge for just 1 night this summer while off mountain biking in nearby Rostrevor. I have stayed in quite a few hostels and guesthouses in the last 12 months and I can easily commit to say this has been one of the nicest. When we arrived our host gave us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful comment. We do try to cater for the individual needs of our guests. It was easy to cater for your both since you were both most appreciative of anything we did for you during your stay. It is wonderful to find such appreciation from two young, care free lads who were just here to experience... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay