We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Kilkeel accommodations

The Mourne Lodge

1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Bog Road | Atticall, Kilkeel BT34 4HT, Northern Ireland (Formerly The Cnocnafeola Centre)
Hotel amenities
The Mourne Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Mourne Lodge to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Robert B Bucknell, United Kingdom
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
11
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Bucknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is always a but, isn't there Great place, clean and tidy rooms,very friendly staff and management and great for the location in the mountains. But it is a bit seasonable. When I got there I was only person staying there (November) but the heating was on and warm welcome. Then I was left on my own, which I don,t... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late in a Friday night and were greeted by Mairead who couldn't help us enough, after a good night sleep she made us a wonderful breakfast. This is an ideal place to stay for an activity weekend as a couple or in a group, it was really easy to find and we wished we had more time to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely to have you both and we are glad you enjoyed your short stay. Do come and visit us again. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I stayed at the Mourne Lodge at short notice as I was passing through the area. I got a bit lost trying to find it but the land lady was extremely helpful in giving me directions. I happened to be the only person staying at the hotel that night (it was actually Halloween and it wasn't at all spooky!) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind comments. It was lovely to have you stay with us even though it was a short stay. Sorry you had a little difficulty in finding us but we now have rectified this by sending accurate details to our guests once they book with us. Do come and visit us again. More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

. . . we stumbled on The Mourne Lodge by accident and I'm so glad the B&Bs we tried earlier were full-up! It's location close in to the southern end of the Mournes is perfect for accessing the mountain on foot. The welcome was warm and genuine and we felt instantly at home. (I almost texted Mairead to say I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Dougie, Thank you so much for this wonderful report. You got the last bed in the house for the bank holiday weekend. Of course it was not our best room but you were so gracious and complimentary. All the staff really do try to give our guests a real Northern Irish, homely welcome. We also try to provide local information... More 

Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We, 3 Motorcycle Riders, stayed here for one night only. Roomy lounge, open kitchen with fridge, and clean room. Bathroom was shared with another room, but that was no problem. Staff was very kind and trusting, since our German VISA-cards didn't work (only common in NI, not In the south). Paypal worked later. Parking lot was not perfect for bikes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and for your kindness during your visit. Normally the shared bathroom is not a problem as we try to use this for connecting families but on this occasion the centre was fully booked. Do tell your friends about this lovely Mourne area and visit us again. We always give extra treats to our returned... More 

Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We werent aware that the Mourne lodge was a hostel until we arrived there, It was spotlessly clean but there were a few downsides, for instance there was no toilet roll in either the ladies or mens toilets downstairs, the extensive library was a small bookcase of very dated books, we had booked a double room with tv and ensuite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Patricia, Thanks for taking the time to put on the review. Of course we appreciate both your positive and negative comments and are constantly trying to improve our service. We were happy to have you book in at lunch time and I was not available to show you around. We did have toilet rolls in the basket outside your door... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Myself and one other other friend stayed in the Mourne Lodge for just 1 night this summer while off mountain biking in nearby Rostrevor. I have stayed in quite a few hostels and guesthouses in the last 12 months and I can easily commit to say this has been one of the nicest. When we arrived our host gave us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful comment. We do try to cater for the individual needs of our guests. It was easy to cater for your both since you were both most appreciative of anything we did for you during your stay. It is wonderful to find such appreciation from two young, care free lads who were just here to experience... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here with 7 others during the Four Peaks Challenge for FOCUS Ireland. Mairead runs the lodge like her livelihood depended on it even though she's a volunteer. Nothing was too much trouble for her including checking us in in the middle of the night. The rooms were clean and comfortable the breakfast was superb (try the soda farls) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. Of course, it is always wonderful to have the Four Peaks group with us and they do appreciate the little extras that we do for them. Indeed, we will be giving a cheque to Focus Ireland at Christmas time as a gesture from The Mourne Lodge. Do come and visit us again! More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We emailed before arriving to say that we would get there between 19.00 & 20.00 - if that was OK. When we arrived there was no one there - note on the door saying that we were in room 1. Unfortunately as first time visitors we had no idea where room 1 was, eventually we found it round a corner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry we were not here to greet you but we did call a couple of times but seemed to miss each other. However, when I arrived at 8.10pm I did try to rectify all the little problems that you outlined. Offering you cooked breakfasts, offering you smoothies and fresh fruit salad, giving you heat when you requested it outside of... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

TIP = book direct with the lodge to get a cheaper price than booking.com!! We booked the hostel because of its location to the Mourne Mountains. The scenery is wonderful, however, the best part of the lodge is Mairead who is so welcoming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was simple but absolutely fine. A great shower,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this review

Gillian, thank you so much for the lovely review. This goes a long way to advise others about their stay in the Mournes. It was lovely to have you both and hope you enjoyed your visit to Northern Ireland visiting family and friends. Hope we will see you again sometime. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Mourne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mourne Lodge

Address: Bog Road | Atticall, Kilkeel BT34 4HT, Northern Ireland (Formerly The Cnocnafeola Centre)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Kilkeel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Mourne Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mourne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mourne Lodge Kilkeel, Northern Ireland

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay