We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Portrush B&Bs / inns

Avarest House

64 Mark Street, Portrush BT56 8BU, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Avarest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
You added Avarest House to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 27 Portrush B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011
Donna_mairead Ballymena, United Kingdom
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
There are newer reviews for Avarest House
See the most recent reviews
Ballymena, United Kingdom
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night. We had a massive room and lots of space. Views of the coast. The breakfast was fab!! I would definately stay here again, and have recommended it to a few friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beaufort, South Carolina
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This was the best place we stayed throughout our trip. Clean, perfect location, good food and warm. Had free wi-fi. We enjoyed it being close to Giant's Causeway, Dunluce Castle, Rope Bridge and Bushmills Distillery. Dinner at the Wine Bar down the street is a fun atmosphere with good food and also the Offshore Bar with the locals who are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We enjoyed a spacious room with a fine sea view, all home comforts including an enormous breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunder Bay
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Old building, room was OK but not great, front desk service brusque. Great view from window. Breakfast was excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I had read on line some of the glowing reports about Avarest and decided to book. Therefore you can imagine my disappoinment when the reality didnot match up. The room was adequate, but I was horrified to find a dirty towel on bathroom floor and someone else's sanitary waste in our bathroom bin!!! On the plus side bed comfy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this review

We are extremely concerned with your comments and can only apologise profusely for the oversight of staff not emptying the bathroom bin and carelessly leaving a towel lying. We can assure you and others this is not common practise. We do admit we like the dining room to have a casual and homely feel , and apologise if you felt... More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Booked this after reading reviews on here. I dont know if my expectations were set too high but I was mighty disappointed when I went into the room. Nice view to the outside but not inside. There was no soap in the toilet ,we had to go to nearest shop to buy one. Worse was to come next day, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay, although the things you pointed out could have easily been put right. We do understand it is a northern irish culture to not complain face to face, but really we would prefer it as we can take control and deal with any problems. We do hope however you appreciated... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

I have stayed in portrush numerous times since I was a child, and Avarest is by far the best B&B in the town. Have stayed there every summer in the last few years and no doubt I will be booking many more! It has a great location, friendly staff who are more than accommodating. Breakfast was great this time with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay once more. Sorry about the changes to the breakfast menu but we do try to keep it varied to suit everyone. We hope you were able to fill up on the choice of sweet bread. yogurts, ham cheese and cereals provided. Look forward... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This was mine and my girlfriend's third stay in Avarest (each summer since 2008) and as usual it did not disappoint. After 2 years in a double room, this year we went for queensize seaview and i was absolutely delighted when i opened the door. I had anticipated a normal room with the window overlooking the sea but there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland, Ohio
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stayed at Avarest for a night with our young children while touring the Antrim coast. Located right in the center of Portrush, it's a very convenient spot to use as your base for visiting the Giant's Causeway, the Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, and Bushmills. Our double room was slightly larger than expected, clean, and nicely decorated. Breakfast was excellent in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

A thoroughly pleasant experience from check in to check out ,Dawn& Syd proved to be the perfect hosts , Avarest House is a centrally based clean, cosy,very reasonably priced haven in this delightful part of N.Antrim, The hospitality,friendliness,courtesy and warmth extended to my family by the management and staff will ensure a return visit(s) in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Avarest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avarest House

Address: 64 Mark Street, Portrush BT56 8BU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avarest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avarest House Portrush, Northern Ireland

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (17)
View from room (2)
Room/suite (5)
Hotel & grounds (1)
Pool/beach area (1)
Dining (1)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (29)
Room/suite (5)
Dining (2)
View from room (1)
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay