We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Carrickfergus hotels

Dobbins Inn Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6- 8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dobbins Inn Hotel to your Saves list
72%
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Essaitch57 Harpenden, United Kingdom
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    50
    18
    7
    20
See reviews for
30
73
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my new wife spent two nights at Dobbins and could not fault anything. We had a great stay and were treated extremely well. The food was more than reasonably priced, very tasty with plenty of variety and the breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. We thoroughly enjoyed our couple of days and will hopefully be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed carvary before so took full advantage of living social offer. Food good as usual although normal tall handsome chef was on holiday. Overheard one table being critical over some of the dishs something about being outaged and 80s but as far as carvarys go ,usual starter choices ,four roasts and a good helping of desserts what more could you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in room 21,after our meal we came back to our room my partner was in the bathroom and shouted into me to stop messing about something fell and touched her leg but I was lying on the bed I didn't do nothing I went in there was a cold air then something touch my face... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love coming here for the food. Came for the sunday carvery and as usual didn't disappoint (was so stuffed couldn't manage the delicious deserts on offer). Good food, good prices & pleasant staff. What more can you ask for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited recently for the Sunday Carvery. Giving this a one star is doing them a favour. If you love food from the 80s then this is for you, however their Sunday carvery is shockingly outdated. Prawn cocktail, egg mayonnaise, sausages, pate for starter among others. Then for main course its dry, overcooked meat (still cooking for an hour in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last night of holiday before getting ferry home,great place to stay food is excellent portions are huge and very reasonably priced ,rooms are small but spotless ,staff are very friendly and dogs are very welcome .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I had to stay in Carrickfergus after going to a friends wedding and booked the Dobbins simply because I liked the look of it. Anyway I definitely made a good choice because the place was great to stay in and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. As at most weddings I overindulged so unfortunately slept in a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

A hotel with history, conveniently located at a short walk from the castle, free parking, a supermarket, a 20 min drive from Belfast and a good base for the Causeway Coastal Drive. Our reservation was very last minute. To our relief, the hotel reacted promptly to confirm booking and payment arrangements. Traveling with our adolescent daughter, we had booked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on your stay. I will address your comments as best I can. The bedrooms are all very different, not one room is the same shape or size, that is just the nature of the building, however the particular room you were in can fit a single bed &... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Highly recommend Dobbins,friendly staff.Lovely atmosphere,warm open fire in the winter months.Exquisite,wide range of foods,to suit every palate.Beautiful,historic surroundings,and the best range of desserts.Banoffe unbeatable.Five stars,the best value for money in Carrickfergus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest,. Thank you for your kind comments. We try and offer a varied menu to suit all palates and I am pleased to see you enjoyed the Banoffee. Kind regards Kirsty Fallis More

Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Friends were over from england on holiday last week and were staying in Carrickfergus so we went to meet them for lunch. Not having been in Carrick for years I took to Tripadvisor to find out where to eat and there was plenty of choice. I thought Dobbins would interest them it was so old and the reviews of food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place a review. Lovely to see that you came with friends. Your comments will be past onto the team. The public toilets are checked periodically throughout the day, I am sorry that they were not fresh at the time of your visit. Kind regards Kirsty Fallis More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dobbins Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobbins Inn Hotel

Address: 6- 8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dobbins Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dobbins Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobbins Hotel Carrickfergus
Dobbins Inn Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay