We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Strabane hotels

The Fir Trees

Dublin Road, Strabane BT82 9JT, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
The Fir Trees
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Strabane
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strabane
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    33
    12
    12
    15
See reviews for
30
32
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fantastic wedding lunch/reception at the Fir Trees hotel on 14 March 2014. The drinks reception was well organised. The restaurant was beautifully presented. The food was excellent. Staff were very attentive & professional. We & all our guests had a wonderful day. An area in the bar was reserved for us afterwards so we could all stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have eaten in the hotel several times in the last few weeks to celebrate birthdays with family members without issue.However, yesterday while eating as a group of 15 or so I was shocked at the service we received. We had ordered a buffet of lasagne, chips, goujons etc and one of our party asked if the remaining food could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We came here for drinks and we were planning on eating as well. When we arrived we ordered drinks and sat in the bar area. The glasses were dirty. Had to ask 4 times for a clean glass as each one I was given was dirty. A bar man had to go out and actually clean a glass specifically for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast Co. Antrim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I recently dined in the newly refurbish restaurant with new menu. We were greeted upon arrival by the General Manager who escorted us to the Bar where we were taken by a very friendly Restaurant Manger to our table. The surroundings were bright and modern and the menu had a wonderful selection (so difficult to decide upon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Oh dear...the first poor review I've had to put on TripAdvisor. We were put in the bridal suite having arrived early. The room was OK but when we arrived back later there was a raucous hen party and another large function or two. They all spilled out into the carpark at 3am and the noise was deafining. A few boy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We booked the golfing package and had an extremely enjoyable weekend, playing two superb parkland courses, Strabane and Newtownstewart. This was a return visit to the Fir Trees Hotel and it didn't disappoint, with superb staff, delicious food and clean and comfy rooms. The bar had live music on both nights and there was a real buzz.In fact we have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Strabane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My partner and I went here recently and although our meal was lovely the bathroom facilities were awful. Two of the toilets were out of order for hours and the toilet paper was never re-stocked. The sinks had never been cleaned and were extremely dirty. Would recommend for food and drink but the cleanliness left alot to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this review

Having investigated this incident thoroughly we must offer our apologies to this reviewer and any other customer who used the facilities on the night in question. We did indeed experience a serious plumbing issue and given the time we were unable to locate a plumber until the following morning, when the issue was eventually resolved. We would like to assure... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I'm originally from Strabane so the Fir Trees was my first choice.... never again. We found blood on the wall in our room. The restaurant messed up my food order 4 times! And then asked my husband "would sir like to finish his steak" ah NO. It does get quite busy up there at the weekend so if your bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this review

We have an extremely conscientious housekeeping team and the rooms are audited thoroughly on a weekly basis and we have yet to come across anything of this nature; furthermore we do not have a record of this guest and have never had a complaint of this type. When you combine this with the fact that the ''review'' has been posted... More

Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We got married at the fir trees on 14th September 2013 we arrived on the Thursday before and we had a coach load of family and friends arriving on the Friday the staff where fantastic Joseph was just amazing and mr Duffy helped with all our planning and all went so smoothly as we live in England the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which have been relayed to all our staff. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the anniversary celebrations! More

Redding, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was at a family function on Saturday.Our meal & service was excellent & staff were very friendly. Hotel has been modernized except for the bar which still has an old world charm.I recommend giving The Fir Trees a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this review

This is an extremely gratifying report particularly as it comes from a recognised senior reviewer, and it gives reassurance to management and staff that our efforts are worthwhile. More

Been to The Fir Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fir Trees

Also Known As:
The Fir Trees Hotel Strabane
The Fir Trees Hotel
Fir Trees Strabane
Fir Trees Hotel Strabane
The Fir Trees Strabane, Northern Ireland
Address: Dublin Road, Strabane BT82 9JT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Strabane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Strabane
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located on the outskirts of Strabane situated conveniently close to the Sperrin Mountains, three major fishing rivers and two of the finest parkland golf courses. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fir Trees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Fir Trees to your Saves list