We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Cookstown hotels

Glenavon House Hotel

52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8JQ, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Glenavon House Hotel to your Saves list
Glenavon House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
74%
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Craigpscott63 Kells, Ireland
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    28
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
30
34
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kells, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hadn't booked, but just walked in to try my luck to see if I could get a room for the night. Great hotel, staff were really pleasant, food is excellent. This hotel was so good that I came back to stay the next night as well. Will definitely recommend this hotel & I will be back next month again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craigpscott63 Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent visits to the Hotel. We are delighted that your unplanned stay has lead to another visit and that the staff, hotel and food were to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time! Best... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this is the 4th time I have been back to this hotel, the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are always clean and tidy, the prices are very reasonable, its in a great location with plenty to do, I would recommend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James H Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel following your most recent stay. It is always good to hear that you meet your customers needs and expectations and I am delighted that we have managed to do that for your 4 visits now! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

me and my friends stayed for our 5th time at the glenavon hotel and will definitely be returning next year for st Patrick's weekend. The staff are friendly and more like friends now and always remember us year in year out when we return. The rooms are clean and to a good standard as is the food and other facilities.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stew438 Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We were delighted that once again we met all of your expectations and that you and your friends had a great time at the hotel. We of course look forward to welcoming you back again - it is great when we build up a rapport with... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was recently at a conference at the hotel the facilities where great but when I left the hotel at the end of the day my car battery was flat, when I ask the hotel to call someone they came and helped me out themselves and got me back on the road, great service above and beyond expectations. Brilliant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mel C Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent attendance at a conference. We were very pleased that the conference went according to plan and you were impressed with the facilities. We were delighted at your praise for going "above and beyond" with getting you back on the road - we... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a fantastic hotel. Stayed twice now and this time didn't disappoint. The staff were friendly from the first email I sent enquiring about rooms and that continued right through until we were leaving. I had a fantastic bithday and it wouldn't have been possible without the hotel. The only problem was my room seemed to be situated above the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ryan F Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your most recent stay - we were delighted that you enjoyed yourself once again. Extraction fans are indeed a nuisance but unfortunately a necessity as well - I was pleased to learn that they did not interfere with a goods night sleep! We were very pleased... More

Ballyclare, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have used this hotel for numerous family trips. the staff are very friendly, the food is great and most importantly they have an excellent family room that sleeps six comfortably with a double and 4 single beds. Added to that the big pool, soft play next door and Drum Manor for a nice walk we have had some brill... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith M Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your most recent stay in the hotel with your family. We are always delighted to hear about how great the food and facilities are and of course the friendly staff love to get a bit of praise! Your numerous visits over the years are a testimony in... More

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed at the Glenavon on 14th February with my friend, mum and aunt, this hotel is quite local but I felt a wee treat was needed, so we went to their leisure centre which was fabulous, especially the Jacuzzi, we had the most wonderful pre theatre meal before we went to the Burnavon and we were very pleased with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna D, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. We were delighted that your party enjoyed the leisure centre and their dinner before the Theatre - sounds like a great night out! The staff are all delighted with your very kind comments and recommendation. With kind regards Paula Wilson More

Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had our reception at the Glenavon on Valentines Day 2014. From the moment we booked it untill the day after the wedding we could not have faulted the staff. It is so easy got to no hours of driving (we live in Armagh), the very competitive prices and very high standard of food was second to none. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Agatha91, Thank you very much for the very kind comments in your review following your recent wedding on Valentines Day. We are thrilled with the very many positive comments especially with regard to the standard of food and service and the competitive prices! What an accolade from a Michelin star chef and former restaurateur - we will have to... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We cannot praise the Glenavon House Hotel highly enough. We chose this hotel as our wedding venue as from our first meeting with James, the function manager, we felt at ease and knew we could have the wedding we wanted. We also had our ceremony at the hotel, the room was beautiful and everything went so smoothly. The food at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Damian and Colleen, Thank you very much for the very kind comments in your review following your recent wedding. James and all the staff are delighted that both yourselves and your guests were thrilled with the excellent food and service - we make every effort to make sure your wedding day is perfect and we are delighted that we... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Disliked this hotel a lot...after attending a recent wedding in it I shall not be back. 1.drinks are too expensive. 2. The dance floor was filthy....hire a cleaner to clean/mop it properly...everything was bogging. 3. The food was minimal....the buffet was v.unsatisfactory. The breakfast in itself yummy..rooms need refurbished all the same...not atall modern. Not impressed overall Won't be back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pixie D We were very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction following your visit last year to the hotel. I was surprised at your comment about the rooms needing refurbishment / modernised as they have all just recently been refurbished (May 2013) Our reviews are generally very positive about the rooms but I presume it all a matter of... More

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland
Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8JQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenavon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.