We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenavon House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
52 Drum Road | Co Tyrone, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Glenavon House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    141
    41
    30
    12
    18
See reviews for
55
50
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have not stayed in this hotel but I dine there regularly and also use their health suite, Riviera. It is situated in an enviable situation along the river Ballinderry. There is a large car park and a lovely walk along the river to a waterfall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The entrance lobby to the hotel is newly refurbished and just has that real class and expensive feel to it. Ladies on reception all lovely, very welcoming and very helpful. Even the wee girl who took my booking over the phone had a lovely manner warm and welcoming. Our room was huge room 101 a bit far away from reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kikkenny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Glenavon is a very nice hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff especially at reception. Room was a good size and beds were comfortable. Nice leisure centre with good sized pool. They provided an early breakfast for us as we had an early start..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coalisland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We held our wedding reception in the Glenavon hotel on 10th July and we could not have asked for a more perfect day. The food and service were excellent - I may be biased but I think it was the nicest feed i have ever had at a wedding. The staff were fantastic and could not have done enough for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Thank you very much for your very kind compliments following your recent wedding. James and all the staff are delighted that your wedding went according to plan and that everyone enjoyed their meal & service in particular. It's great that everything was hassle-free although I know you and your sisters have wedding planning down to a fine art!!... More 

Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate at the Cellar last night and thought that it was an excellent meal in great surroundings. The staff were very welcoming and were very efficient in their service. Our food arrived promptly and was wholesome. We enjoyed every course especially the ice cream sundae to round it all off. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear quill-drill, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Cellar Restaurant following your recent visit. We are delighted that both the food and the service were excellent and everyone enjoyed themselves. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Paula Wilson More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my husband held our wedding reception here in the Glenavon House Hotel in July and we were delighted with it. From our first consultation with James right up to the day itself it was the easiest part of the wedding to organised. James was totally professional in every aspect of our big day we couldnt have asked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernice H Thank you for your very compliments following your recent wedding reception. Everyone here, especially James is delighted that everything from beginning to end went according to plan - we are so glad that it was the easy part for you both! Your very kind compliments about the venue, function room, staff, food, rooms and overall presentation of... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently had our wedding in the Glenavon and have to say we had a great experience. From the very beginning when we were looking round the hotel we were nade very welcome by all staff. On the day of the wedding we couldnt have asked for anything more. James especially looked after us and we are very grateful! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah H Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your recent wedding reception. We were delighted to learn that the venue, food, bedrooms and staff met all of your expectations - James in particular is delighted that everything went according to plan! Thank you for taking the time to write your review - we believe future... More 

Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel rooms were in good condition, clean and nicely decorated, however that is all that was good about our stay. We were on a hen weekend and our experience at this hotel spoiled what had been a great weekend! From the hours of 2.00 until 4.30am there were men causing commotion in the corridors, banging on doors, trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lolayoung, As I outlined in my email to you and your friends I cannot apologise enough for the disturbance caused by the behaviour of these men which was totally unacceptable. However as I said I understood that there had been attempts to call reception over a period of time – one of your friends has since advised that her... More 

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Conference food was a bit disappointing and overpriced although staff were polite and helpful Everything was clean and tidy Definitely 3 star Parking quite good but getting out onto a busy road is nearly impossible

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ariann1980 We were disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction following your recent visit to the hotel. In particular we were disappointed to learn that you felt the conference food was overpriced - our snack menu available at lunch time ranges in price from £3.25 to £7.50 and with 2 courses at £10.50 and a 4 course lunch priced at... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We choose the Glenavon hotel as our venue for our wedding reception in May 2015. From the beginning we were put at ease by the professionalism & friendly approach from all the staff. James was particularly helpful & answered all our questions & made all requests a possibility without a second thought! The function room was beautifully presented & the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sjmc939 Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your wedding in May. Everyone, James in particular, were particularly pleased that everything went so well and you were delighted with how everything went on your special day! We are delighted that your guests are planning to return and thank you again for your endorsement of the hotel,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
0.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
23.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#2 of 5 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
24.8 mi away
Dunadry Hotel
Dunadry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunadry
3.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay