We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Cookstown hotels

Glenavon House Hotel

52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8JQ, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Glenavon House Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glenavon House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mixedfeelings UK
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    32
    27
    11
    16
See reviews for
41
41
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite an eye-opener! Lovely interior, to my own taste of course, modern but old. Very comfortable. Plenty of parking space. A lift is available. Staff were friendly, helpful and discreet. Certainly a place to be revisited.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mixedfeelings UK, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit we are delighted with your very kind comments and look forward to your revisit! Kind regards Paula Wilson More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We celebrated our wedding reception in the Glenavon House Hotel on 22nd August 2014. James was a pleasure to deal with throughout the wedding planning, every request was catered for from the outset. The girls on reception were so lovely every time I rang, which put my mind at ease as my husband is from the South of Ireland, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mme_85 Thank you so much for your very comprehensive and extremely complimentary review. James and all the staff are absolutely delighted that all of your expectations were met and in many cases exceeded! We are so happy that your special day was truly a day to remember. Your very kind compliments of James and the staff are very much... More

Sunderland, United
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very impressed with this hotel overall. Room 205 was nicely decorated and a very decent size. The view over the river was also nice. The receptionist was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her. The restaurant and spa staff were also welcoming. I agree the location and decor of the restaurant could be more appealing but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pault1234, Thank you for the very kind compliments in your review following your recent visit to the hotel. We were delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and the warm welcome and appreciate your very helpful observations. My apologies regarding the WIFI - I must confess we have had problems recently at certain times with our provider but we have... More

Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A really nice hotel with great service and very friendly staff. Bedroom was very spacious and had both a work area and a dressing table. Adequate sockets for work and personal use. Breakfast was good and special requests for eggs were accommodated with ease. On the down side and the reason for 4 stars, no Wi-Fi available in the bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WaltandCo1, Thank you very much for your very comprehensive and complimentary review following your recent stay. My apologies regarding the availability of WIFI which I must confess we are having an on-going problem with our provider at certain times -we have installed WIFI in public areas in an effort to alleviate this. I have to agree with you the... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Better late than never! We held our wedding reception in the Glenavon House Hotel 28th Dec ‘13. From our first visit we knew it was going to be perfect for our big day. All the staff and in particular James were absolutely fantastic and went out of their way to help us with every request. The room was a fabulous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Justin-Tyrone, Thank you so much for your very kind comments following your wedding reception last December. I am delighted to hear that James and all the staff ensured that your special day was truly a "day to remember" and everything you hoped and dreamed that it would be! Your compliments are much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming... More

n.ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had cause to be in this hotel recently for an Irish Dance competition and I feel that the hotel treated us very poorly. There were two rooms running for feis and when we arrived at hotel the my daughter and her friend were trying to find out which hall their competition was in but there was a man guarding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ShellyN_Ireland, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit for an Irish Dancing Feis. As you may be aware we have been hosting several of these each year for a number of years now and it is disappointing to note that you were not happy with this years’ event. I have to say... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a short driving holiday. Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was surprisingly good though the Cellar restaurant somewhat dull. The bar area was not very welcoming or comfortable considering the furnishings in the rest of the hotel. They clearly do a lot if functions and so perhaps individual guests can get a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Judith B Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent 2 night stopover. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the food and service and thank you for your endorsement. We look forward to welcoming you at some point in the future when I hope you have the time to use our excellent... More

Plumbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We had our wedding in the Glenavon House Hotel there on the 23rd August and it was amazing, James and the staff were excellent and the food was gorgeous and the service was fantastic, we would definitely recommend the Glenavon House Hotel for your special day. Thanks for everything that made our wedding day prefect , From Sara & Mark

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara M Thank you so much for your very kind comments following your recent wedding reception. I am delighted to hear that James and all the staff ensured that your special day was truly a "day to remember" and everything you hoped and dreamed that it would be! Your compliments are much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed here for 2 nights in August for a hen party weekend and we had an absolute ball from start to finish. We all had rooms next to each other and the rooms themselves were lovely, clean, warm and spacious. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and pointed us in the right direction... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alikatt1 Thank you very much for your comprehensive review and very kind comments following your recent 2 night stay in the hotel for a Hen Weekend. I am delighted to hear that all of the staff were able to ensure that your stay was fun, comfortable and enjoyable! Matthew will be happy to get a mention. I am sure... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a amazing day hotel was beautiful and the service was. Amazing I would recommend this hotel to anyone for there special day .thanks to James and all the staff for a wonderfull day they had a lot to put up with lol thanks to all at the hotel .. From Anne maye .orlas mother

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annemaye, Thank you for your review following your daughters recent wedding reception in the hotel. I am delighted that once again James and all the staff have been recognised for their hard work and efforts to ensure that everyone has a really enjoyable time. Thank you for your recommendation to all prospective Brides and Grooms - I believe that... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8JQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay