We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dalesgate Lodge

69, Gargrave road, Skipton BD23 1QN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skipton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Dalesgate Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    7
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
22
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It has a great location, easy walkable into the town and to the castle and market. Mel & Christine couldn't have been better hosts, really friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was delicious, such a nice building and well tended garden. A really great stay, couldn't fault it and would recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have come on here to write a review having had a very enjoyable stay last week at Dalesgate Lodge and I am astounded at the previous review left on 19th August. I'm convinced they have the wrong place! I came here earlier in the year and decided to return a second time with a group of friends on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
north east
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

had to wait 20 mins at check in, room small and very dirty, smelled as if a wet dog had slept there. needs more staff as i could never find any one. to ask for things or to complain. The owner or manager wants to look at his business as it is very poorly run. bathroom was filthy pubic hair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dalesgate, Owner at Dalesgate Lodge, responded to this review

In reply to your review, could we just point out that you did not stay at Dalesgate Lodge. You obviously had a bad experience but it wasn't with us. We don't take pets. We meet and greet guests at the front door and show them to their room, we don't have a reception area. Our rooms are very clean and... More 

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

The sign outside this B&B says 'All rooms en suite'. Unfortunately the single room I was given was not en suite. It wasn't big enough. I estimate the size as being about 8' by 8' and the bathroom for this room was next door. Having said this, the rooms allocated to my friends ( 2 couples) appeared to be of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I stayed at Dalesgate Lodge with a group of girlfriends - we were on our first "girls walking holiday". Mel cooks a fantastic breakfast! The rooms were beautifully clean and beds comfortable. With a good nights sleep & a full tummy we were all set for a days walking in the Dales. A really fantastic base for the stunning Yorkshire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Dalesgate lodge is a wonderful B and B in Skipton and is ideally situated for visiting the local area and the town itself. The rooms were very clean and we received a lovely warm welcome from the hosts. We requested an early breakfast and Mel was very accommodating. The breakfast itself was wonderful - lots of choice and plentiful. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chestfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A very good guest house. Lovely clean rooms. Excellent cooked breakfasts. Mel and Chris are great hosts. The guesthouse is a 10 minute walk into Skipton town centre either along the road and the canal tow path. Ideally situated for touring the beautiful North Yorkshire Dales.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed in the Dalesgate Lodge for one night whilst visiting my parents who live on a narrowboat and we're moored up nearby. Skipton is a beautiful place and the Dalesgate Lodge is in the perfect spot for visiting, just a few minutes walk from the town centre and the park. We were greeted by one of the very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I came here for somewhere to stay after a work night out. On the website and in all the literature it says that all rooms are en suite. Mine wasn't, the single room. I had to walk down the corridor. I think £45 a night is a lot for a place that does not have en suite. The single room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Myself and 2 friends stayed here last May to attend a friends wedding, we booked expecting budget accommodation and that is what we got, but we were pleased as the hotel was clean and we had a great nights sleep after partying the night away. Good value for money only downside was a foul smell outside in the car park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skipton hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous at Skipton
Rendezvous at Skipton
#3 of 5 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 5 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#12 of 32 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
2.3 mi away
Browside Farmhouse
Browside Farmhouse
#1 of 4 in Cononley
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Napier's
Napier's
#13 of 32 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities