We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Town House

Birtwhistle's Yard | Devonshire Place, Skipton BD23 2LR, England
Hotel amenities
The Town House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #17 of 32 Skipton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Soulie65 York
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
24
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight at the Town House in Skipton to attend 'Soul in the Dales'. Mick the owner allowed us to secure our Lambretta scooters in his garage. The twin room we booked was excellent. The full English breakfast the next morning was freshly cooked and very nice indeed. The best thing about our stay there was that Mick made us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mick C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review It's always good to know guests have enjoyed their stay. As stated you're welcome any time and if you want to come back for the July gig please book soon to avoid disappointment. Mick More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On the positive side the room was a reasonable size with good lighting, heating more than adequate on a very cold night and a nice bathroom with a good shower. However I would have liked a sheet and duvet cover which didn't feel as if they had been to the launderette too many times and a cover over the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mick C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

It's good to get a balanced review and know when and where things might need improving, which we are continually trying to do. Feedback helps us know where we need to concentrate our efforts most and without it, some things are not necessarily as obvious as they might be to a discerning traveller. While a couple of the points may... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to Skipton to take part in the triathlon. We booked last minute because my start time was very early, luckily they had a room left! Before our stay I contacted the owner Mick who was very helpful indeed. He said we could put our bikes in the secure garage and said we could have access to the kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mick C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review I'm glad to hear you survived your ordeal and hope you made good times. It's always nice to hear when we get things right and you're more than welcome to stay again any time you're back this way. More 

Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay would like to stay again next time we visit skipton which we hope to do soon. The twin room we had was comfortable and very clean and only steps away from the action. Ccxc cxcxx xxcccc enough now! Aaaaaaa aaaa aasaa aaaaaa

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mick C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed it and will be happy to welcome you back any time, thanks for the review. More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Booked in for one night and the town house was perfect for our stay. Very clean with comfy beds and a great breakfast. There was plenty of parking and the location was fabulous right in the centre of Skipton. The owner Mike is very friendly and I thoroughly recommend his establishment if you are visiting Skipton. Would have given 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

we were on a five day visit staying in various parts of Yorkshire and Cumbria. The B&B is very central for shops and restaurants and has its own dedicated parking which is bonus in most towns. The room was very comfortable and we had a good breakfast and Mike and his family offered a warm welcome. The place is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Was only here for one night visiting family in Skipton but the Town House was more than adequate for somewhere to sleep and shower. Hotel manages to be both central for Skipton and tucked away from the main drag and would be a great base for a longer stay. I'd hardly describe it as an "industrial parking lot" ! More... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mick C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. It doesn't matter whether you're here for one night or many, the aim is to always make everyone feel comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back for longer next time! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night and truthly wanted to stay in skipton for longer just to stay in this b&b more than enjoyed my stay room was lovly and clean comfy bed nice sized room for 1 person even has sky didn't expect that location is great skipton right on door step 1 minuite walk from local pubs that do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mick C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

Thanks for the terrific review Douggie, much appreciated and as I said you're welcome back any time. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you get some benefit out of the course! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Who ever wrote a good review for this place must live in a parallel universe!! Certainly not good value at 100€ a night for a pokey room with no shower. Situated in ,what can only be described as an industrial parking lot.breakfast served 7-9 on the weekend was the worst yet, certainly no reason to get up so early for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mick C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

Obviously it must be this reviewer who lives in a parallel universe and there was me thinking ROI was a nice place. 100€ sounds like a lot for one night, which is probably why we don’t charge that much. The rate for one of our double rooms is £70.00 including breakfast or £80.00 through a third party agent, (in order... More 

Cumbria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ideally situated in the town centre the Town House B&B ticks all the boxes for a good value short stay. We were allocated the ground floor room right by the main entrance and my initial concern that if may be noisy was totally unfounded. The room was clean and comfortable and we both had a wonderful nights sleep. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question