We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Skipton B&Bs / inns

The Town House

Birtwhistle's Yard | Devonshire Place, Skipton BD23 2LR, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Town House to your Saves list
The Town House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
81%
Ranked #12 of 27 Skipton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Alan S Cumbria
  • Overview
  • Reviews (55)
  • Photos (11)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
21
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Who ever wrote a good review for this place must live in a parallel universe!! Certainly not good value at 100€ a night for a pokey room with no shower. Situated in ,what can only be described as an industrial parking lot.breakfast served 7-9 on the weekend was the worst yet, certainly no reason to get up so early for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mick C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

Obviously it must be this reviewer who lives in a parallel universe and there was me thinking ROI was a nice place. 100€ sounds like a lot for one night, which is probably why we don’t charge that much. The rate for one of our double rooms is £70.00 including breakfast or £80.00 through a third party agent, (in order... More

Cumbria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ideally situated in the town centre the Town House B&B ticks all the boxes for a good value short stay. We were allocated the ground floor room right by the main entrance and my initial concern that if may be noisy was totally unfounded. The room was clean and comfortable and we both had a wonderful nights sleep. The bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here on the 6-8th August with my husband. We found the premises easily enough and spoke to owner who said we were more than welcome to park there but the room wasn't ready yet (we were supposed to book in at 4pm but we arrived about 12.15pm) and to give him an hour, this was really nice of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

While we can never guarantee that rooms will be ready earlier than expected, we are happy to accommodate wherever possible, It's good to hear that everything was in order. As for pressing the bed linen, this is just not possible with the sheer volume of work involved in running the business on a daily basis as we do all the... More

warsop, mansfield,notts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Having travelled to Skipton from Mansfield area we found the hotel was hard to find. The Hotel is in a central position though opposite the bus station but up a side street. Once you are near the hotel there is a large sign on the wall for the hotel. Mike the owner was most pleasant and helpful. Our room, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here for one night as she was attending a craft class in Skipton and I was joining her so we could do some exploring the day after. Things that were good: I found the beds were ridiculous comfy, the room was basic but clean, great location (centre of town but no nice views or anything),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

this reviewer has left me bemused to say the least. I would like to put some of her comments into perspective. First of all neither I nor anyone else who works here moan about guests in front of them or behind their backs. When her mother overheard HALF of what I believed to be a PRIVATE telephone conversation with my... More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I spent 2 days in Skipton and I am glad I chose Town House b&b as my accomodation. I found the place very clean, quiet but central...perfect. Mick was fantastic, very professional and friendly. If one day I went back to Skipton, Town House would be the only place where I'd stay!! ps the cherry on the cake was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

Hi Marco Thanks for the glowing review, it was very much appreciated. Good luck with the dissertation and job hunting. The TDF was a great success, but you probably know that by now anyway as it's been all over the news for days. I think my assessment of the impact was correct as we've seen a definite increase in interest... More

Leeds
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were a family of four, making it sometimes hard to use B&Bs without taking two rooms. At the Town House, though, we were given one in the converted attic that gave us just enough space, and so saved us quite a bit of money. Also, the owner stayed up until after midnight to let us in, although he had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

At Town House we always do our best to be accommodating and it's nice to hear it's appreciated, so thanks very much for that. As you say, we don't wish to make a habit of being up late to let guests in, but in this particular case there were unavoidable delays, so it was an exception rather than the rule.... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Lovely, clean B and B. Outside and location belie excellence of hotel. Mick an excellent host, room very clean and beds comfortable. Had a really good nights sleep. Breakfast right up there with the best. Would not hesitate to stay there again if visiting Skipton again. Happy to recommend the Town House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words. It's good to know you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We came for two nights at Easter 2014, very clean, lovely Breakfast , two minutes to the shops ect, Mick great host we will be back , and the room was great too, ground floor which was great for us , loved Skipton and the People , Sheila and Ken Watson Southport

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

It's great that you enjoyed your stay and you are more than welcome back at any time. Mick More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just come back from a two night stay whilst exhibiting at the Waterways Festival. Very clean and comfortable room and the free WiFi was much appreciated,friendly welcoming host and excellent breakfasts,would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review

It's really nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for the comments and review. The festival was a great success once again it was a credit to those who took part. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Address: Birtwhistle's Yard | Devonshire Place, Skipton BD23 2LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Skipton, England

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Skipton with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The property has recently been re-furbished and offers bright, clean airy accommodation at a good level of quality for an affordable price. We have tried to include everything the discerning business user, day-tripper or holiday-maker might like and expect in a modern B & B. All rooms are en-suite and feature the following; TV, Sky with all channels including Sports, Movies and HD, DVD player, free movie hire (subject to a refundable deposit), FREE Wi-Fi, a welcome tray with tea and coffee facilities, additional seating, hair dryer, complimentary shampoos and shower gels. Iron and ironing board are available on request. For the hikers amongst you we have packs of walk guide cards available for free hire (subject to a refundable deposit.) We now have two family rooms for up to 4 people (1 x double and 2 x single) and up to 3 people (1 x double and 1 x single) respectively. Outside there is a free, private car park to the rear. We are 60 yards from the bus station, 60 yards from the main high street and less than half a mile form the train station. All in all you get everything you need in a friendly relaxed atmosphere and a prime location for a great price. Why not come along and find out why so many people are returning to see us time and time again? We hope you will too! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Town House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer