We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel

George Street, Huntingdon PE29 3AB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 2 nights. The room was really nice & very spacious. The bed was one of the comfiest I've ever slept in! Everything was clean & the staff were all really friendly & very helpful. Had breakfast & dinner here which were both of a great standard. Would definitely return here.

Helpful?
Thank Clucky1989
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on 31st jan to 2nd feb had nice big room and the bed was comfy and clean .the breakfast staff on 1st was happy and jolly also the breaky was nice n buffet was well stocked i would recomend to friends and family i would def return..

Helpful?
Thank djash1987
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Family trip to The George, a bargain at £80 for a family room, including breakfast. Food good quality, excellent staff. Rooms a little tired, as others have commented, but good size and comfortable. Overall happy and would return. Hotel is also centrally located, right In town. Decent Indian restaurant a few doors away.

Helpful?
Thank SeveBallesteros
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A place full of character. Never much further than a step away from a creaky floorboard. Not a bland place but could do with re-furb in certain areas. Staff were without exception friendly and efficient. Room was nice enough, looked clean. Breakfast was good. Hotel did the job I needed.

Helpful?
Thank PeteToon
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Warm welcome at reception. Room 20 was up two flights of stairs, which were pretty twisty. Room was large but decor really tired. Bathroom was okay but shower was pretty poor. The bed though was really comfortable. The bar was well stocked with Greene King ales and the Abbot was good and pretty cheap. Bar staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard N
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you found our team to be excellent, we are aware of the maintenance issues we have and am currently trying to work our way through them to bring The George back to its former glory! I do hope you will visit again soon. Regards Jason More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came her for lunch with my family a few weeks ago after meeting a couple of friends here a few days before where we ordered two coffees a decafe and a regular. The bar tender brought them over not knowing what was what...helpful. He then serves us a coke that was flat! So when i came with my family I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vb140
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not impressed with your visit to us, I will be sharing your review with the team to ensure that sub standard food is not served like this again. I will pass your kind words onto Bex, who will be thrilled to hear that you felt she dealt with your... More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quite a different experience this year from last years Christmas meal!! Prawn cocktail came on flat plate with a little lettuce covered in mustard dressing (which didn't go with the marie rose sauce) and large oval slice of white bread. Pate came with large thick slice of brown bread. The main course of turkey or 4 bird roast looked as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Polly145
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your Christmas meal with us, your review will be shared with out kitchen team to ensure that dishes are not served to this standard again. Regards Jason More 

Travelers are raving about these Huntingdon hotels

North Humberside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

Stayed here for a two-night stay recently and found everything to be to our complete satisfaction. After reading some of the reviews we were slightly apprehensive before arrival but we did not find any of the complaints appropriate to ourselves. Our room on the first floor was spacious with an extremely comfy bed and very adequate bath/shower facilities. However, for... More 

Helpful?
Thank LydiaNorthHumberside
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had a great time with us, and that The George offered everything you were looking for in your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Jason and the team at The George More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

I cannot believe the 'chef' sent out the food! Unfortunately one of our party was ill and couldn't attend, we had paid in full for our meal in advance and we were told we could not have a refund because the food had already been ordered, but I think it was not only ordered but cooked two weeks ago. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen W
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your office party was not as enjoyable as it should have been, I will be sharing your review with the kitchen team to ensure that sub-standard food is not being served to any of our guests. If you wish to discuss further then feel free to contact me direct at the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

This is a hotel that is very boutique and friendly with lots of character the rooms are basic but comfortable and some are very nice it is in need of a little if not a lot tlc but this adds to the character of the place. If you don't want to stay in a same old room hotel like the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tara R
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you love the character of the George as much as we do! Your review will be shared with the team who will be thrilled at their mention! We hope to see you again soon. Jason and the team at The Goerge More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
0.4 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 8 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 8 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
19.6 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Buckden
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay