We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel

George Street, Huntingdon PE29 3AB, England
Hotel amenities
The George Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Jolyon1968 Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    51
    80
    50
    32
    20
See reviews for
35
99
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (233)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

For the money the room was standard, have paid less for better. The meal from the two for £10 was extremely nice, although pudding had be sent back as the dish was dirty. Breakfast was a farce. The area you sat it was not cleared at all so every table was stacked with dirty plates cutlery etc. they cleared one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A historic building, with a lovely courtyard, which should be ideal for whiling away an hour or so on a pleasant afternoon. Unfortunately, this is venue which seems to have let things slip, and give the impression that they rely too much on the corporate visitors (who claim it on expenses), and weddings (as there is the nice courtyard). The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

On arrival, day of the FA Cup final we were told they were not showing the footbal, even though we had been told on the phone that they would. In our room my wife found the shower curtain was dirty and our room was so hot even though the heating was off. There was a hot pipe running across the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Huntingdon hotels

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I held my wedding reception at the George on 2nd May and it was flawless! From start to finish the staff were amazing. On the day everything was set exactly as was pre-arranged and the staff couldn't do enough for us. When we arrived the staff were on hand with Bucks Fizz for my husband and I. They then let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments Jade Its great to hear that you had a wonderful day We all hope to see you again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not likely to go back. The food was really poor (possibly a problem in the kitchen), the room was stained (bedding and shower curtain), and the door handles desperately needed oiling. Which was a shame, because the staff were really friendly and helpful - and the inclusive parking was a big plua.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason C, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I was sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Either one of the management team or myself are on duty most of the time, it was a shame you did not pass your comments onto us so we could have tried to put them right at the time. We are working... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was not very impressive. The rooms had paint peeling off the walls but they bed was comfortable. The restaurant and bar was nice but this time the food wasn't very good and the portions were small. We have been there in the past and the food was much better. Maybe it was just a bad night for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are working through the hotel and ground to bring the George back to the standards we expect from an Old English Inn. I hope this has not put you off the George and will return soon More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We held our daughters wedding reception at The George on 2nd May. Our wedding planner Theressa was so helpful and all of our requirements were met. The reception was held in the Manchester room, which on the day looked beautiful. On arrival guests were served Bucks Fizz or beer. There were 3 or 4 choices for each course at dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about Jade and Edwards wedding. Its great to hear that you all had a great day. We hope they enjoyed there honeymoon and we look forward to seeing you all again soon More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here for 2 Nights on Business, first night we ate in the Hotel, the Food was Ok didn't think it was anything Amazing but at least it was edible. My Room was really small and it looked like they had just but random odd bits of Furniture in. There was Damp Patches on one wall & also cracks..The wallpaper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are working hard to make sure that everyone enjoys there stay and we get all the areas decorated need doing. We will be having the court yard decorated in July I hope you will try us again soon More 

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice place to stay, BUT the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night (we stayed for one night only ) a few times and it kept us awake and worried (we come from a troubled country... Israel... where alarms have a very unpleasant times related to them...). The management's attitude was somehow indifferent and only a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that the alarm kept you awake. We do not normally have an issue with our alarm system but that night we had a fault. You will be happy to hear that we have had it correct now. I hope this has not put you off returning to us the next time you are in Huntingdon More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good friendly staff, but food failed to meet expectations. Advertised entertainment for the evening was a "no show" overall disappointing Cold plates, lumpy pea purée and under seasoned scallopes. Not very warm. Main course was better, but never set the heather on fire. Just average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I have past your feedback on to our chef I hope you will return again when you are next in Huntingdon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay