We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015
sro406
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    151
    50
    53
    23
See reviews for
240
248
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (665)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (172)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (158)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (169)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Kapalua Villas, Maui
See the most recent reviews
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

At a quick glance these places are beautiful. After one night the glaring flaws are extremely disturbing. Our unit looked like it was only half cleaned. There was mud on the floor. Shower had black mold or mildew in the grout and on the walls. Window blinds were all busted. White bathroom ceiling fan is turning a putrid brown color.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review

Aloha Sro406, Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that your Villa was not up to standards. However, from your review there is not enough information for me to know if you stayed in one of our managed Villas or not. I checked all of our quality control logs and I have no notations in regards to the... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We stayed from March 5 thru the 12 the condo's are nice on the fairway side my sister stayed in the gold they were a little more modern, the weather wasn't great not the resorts fault but having the shuttle bus there was awesome the pool's were great biggest draw back is how far away from other places, It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review

Aloha Jimmie G, Thank you for your review! I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a relaxing time. You description fits exactly the type of guest that would have a wondeful time here, someone looking to slow down to "island time", relax, enjoy the beach and maybe take in a round... More 

Sammamish, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a Gold overlooking golf course and had great views of ocean. The place was clean but worn and needed updating. I like that it was quiet, walking was easy (long walk to beaches) and not far from things to do. They had many small pools close to the Condos, ours was the only one not heated. Be aware... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review

Aloha Rnothlich, Thank you for posting your review! We are always happy to hear that our guests had a wonderful, relaxing time with us! You are correct that the Kapalua area is very "walkable" and I am glad that you had a chance to enjoy it. I am curious about your comment about the service fees-were you perhaps speaking of... More 

Enid, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We arrived and checked in. Despite not being directly in the beach as all those villas were taken, we still wanted to have our partial ocean view villa. I don't thing because you can see a sliver of the ocean should count as ocean view. We were unhappy with the location and having to trek so far just to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review

Aloha CNSmith2006, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your view and Villa location. Our partial ocean view villas are just that, a partial ocean view. The view is over the tree line and Fairway at the Bay Golf Course. Partial Ocean View Villas are in the Golf Villas... More 

West Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We came to Maui for a business conference & then stayed 3 extra days for leisure. We chose to move from the Grand Wailea to Kapalua Villas for the last 3 days. I originally chose to make the move so that we could enjoy another side of the island - but WOW - what a place. We had a Gold,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review

Aloha 2004 TwinMom. We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us in the Bay Villas! It is indeed a lovely Villa and location! Thank you for letting us know about the dryer in your villa, I have passed on your comments to our maintenance team to see that it is looked into. We do... More 

Detroit
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We had easy check in and check out. Villa was very spacious and beautiful. Fully furnished. We had a wonderful view of the golf course which was green and manicured daily. Also view of the west Maui mountains. Pool was great and nobody there, we pretty much had it to ourselves. I should mention we had a Golf Villa. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review

Aloha Lace3115, We are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful, relaxing stay here with us and on Maui! I am glad you were able to enjoy your peace and solitude, to me, that is what a great vacation is all about. We very much look forward to hosting you again when you return to Maui! We hope... More 

Eagle River, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

We recently celebrated our 10th anniversary and decided to stay some place that had a great view, a private and protected location. After searching the internet I discovered villa 36B3 located at Kapalua Bay. I cannot say enough good things about this place, it was everything we hoped it would be and more. The view was breathtaking and the villa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
elk grove
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We are going to be staying at the Kapalua Villas at the end of April to celebrate my Daughter's 16th birthday. It's our first trip to Maui and I wanted everything to be perfect for my little girl's birthday. I booked my trip on Travelocity, unfortunately I booked the wrong room at the Kapalua Villas. I contacted Dale to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review

Aloha msb16, Thank you so much for your kind mention of us even before your arrival! I greatly appreciate your acknowledgement! Please feel free to contact me anytme so that we can make sure that everything is arranged so that you and your family can have the best vacation (and 16th Birthday!) possible. It is really helpful for us here... More 

Gorham, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed at one of the Gold Kapalua Villas Maui and our condo was absolutely gorgeous. Every room was tastefully decorated and it looked as though it had been recently renovated, as everything was beautiful and looked very new. The kitchen had granite countertops and stainless steel appliances and all the conveniences of home, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review

Aloha Sandy 40652, Thank you for posting your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you were pleased with your accomodations!! It sounds like you had a relaxing and wonderful vacation. We look forward to hosting you again in Kapalua for your next visit to Maui! Mahalo, Dale Mustard Front Office Manager... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
19 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Our stay at the Kapalua Ridge Villas couldn't have been any better. Our villa was fabulously decorated and very updated. It felt huge for the two of us. The view was breath taking and far surpassed the expectations we had going in. We were unsure at first because we had never been to Maui or this place, but we're already... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KVL-Management, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review

Aloha Derek R, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your view and that your were very comfortable in your Villa. We are always delighted to learn when our guests had an amazing time. When you are ready to return with the whole family please do let us know and we will make your next stay even better!... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(6)
  • Resort fee(4)
  • Pineapple Grill(4)
  • Golf course(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,804 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (684)
Viewed
Room/suite (246)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (69)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
View from room (100)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (136)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (1102)
Viewed
Amenities (110)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Gold Ocean View Two Bedroom Villa (180)
Viewed
Gold Partial Ocean View One Bedroom Villa (141)
Viewed
Pool (58)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (57)
Viewed
Standard Fairway One Bedroom Villa (129)
Viewed
Standard Ocean View Two Bedroom Villa (143)
Viewed
Standard Partial Ocean Three Bedroom Villa (196)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question