We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Upper Hutt B&Bs / inns

Trentham Motel on the Park

3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   438 Fergusson Drive | Trentham, Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Trentham Motel on the Park to your Saves list
Trentham Motel on the Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
41%
Ranked #3 of 4 Upper Hutt B&B and Inns
  • Reviews (12)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • More
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed one night for work. Carpets in Unit 14 are in DESPERATE need of a clean!! Trying to strategically place an old mat over the grubbiest of many carpet stains is not cool. Rug doctor wouldnt go amiss. Although the gentlemen I dealt with during my stay were pleasant, personal and professional presentation would do wonders for first impressions. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen S, Owner at Trentham Motel on the Park, responded to this review

Shame this guest did not come and talk to us about the unit. We only had one unit left for this particular day (all other units full) so only able to offer this one. Yes we are aware of the problem with the carpet, but rug doctor will not work as a previous guest spilt a tin of varnish on... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The room we had was a surprise. The units have been renovated inside but still look like an old block motel as you drive up. Roomy unit. Great bathroom, good bed. Heat pump. Quiet. 56 Sky channels if you want them. Owners very helpful. Offered to drive us to our function if it was raining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen S, Owner at Trentham Motel on the Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as you mentioned, we are trying to refurbish all of our units as quickly as possible and when it stops raining we will be able to finish painting the outsides of the units. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. More

Hamilton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was the second year in a row we have stayed at this motel, while at Trentham for the races. Good service, clean unit, delicious breakfast, handy to everything we wanted to go to. We will go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen S, Owner at Trentham Motel on the Park, responded to this review

Hi , thank you for your review, it was great to see you again and glad you enjoyed your stay. See you again next time. More

Auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we were visiting family in Trentham. It was our second stay here and although very basic and a little dated, it is adequate for our needs. Please note -i t is undergoing an upgrade to the units. We stayed in Unit 12 a studio unit, it had everything we needed and on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We appreciate the motel is going through an upgrade but our room was an older one. Terrible beds, dated rooms. Booked by our employer, but I wouldn't go back I don't think, not unless you absolutely had to be in the Trentham area. We were actually close to going to another place after the first night butput up with it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen S, Owner at Trentham Motel on the Park, responded to this review

Unfortunately this is the problem when others/employers book accommodation and ask for the cheaper room. If we’d been advised of any issue during the week long stay then we could’ve rectified it at the time rather than hearing about it after departure which leaves unable to help. If we’d had known of any issues during the week long stay then... More

Brisbane
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had 2 rooms max of 4 guest at 10pm the owner demanded we tell our guest to go and shut up and go to bed! We ignored the rudeness and asked out 3 extra family members to call it a night. After they left the owner walked straight into our room and looked around we demanded he leave or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen S, Owner at Trentham Motel on the Park, responded to this review

Our guest information clearly states that any visitors must leave by 10.00pm and that consideration must be given to other guests in the motel; these guests had visitors who did not leave at 10.00pm and we had at least 3 complaints from other guests in nearby units regarding the noise for which we apologised for. The guests were asked politely... More

Hamilton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Surprised when reading other reviews. We booked 2 units the weekend 25-29 January probably only disappointment was rooms were in different locations - as we didn't spend much time at the motels it wasn't a problem. Found ALL the staff very helpful and friendly. Dealt/chatted with all of them, including the lovely cleaners. Staff went out of their way to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very rude & arrogant Male Manager that we mostly dealt with, refused to give us flybuys after giving us a discount on our room in a very rude manner, when asked about a different dvd machine, said "when are you going to stop", stop what was replied, to which he said, "complaining". The room advertised on their site, most sites... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whitianga
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

A shame the rudeness of the male host we dealt with far outweighed the friendliness of the female hostess we initially spoke to when we enquired about staying. He did nothing to make you feel welcome and once they had had our credit card number he felt he could speak to us any way he wanted. Unit was apparently refurbished... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephen S, Owner at Trentham Motel on the Park, responded to this review

We apologise if you felt we were rude. As there are three of us that run the motel I would have hoped that you could've let us know of any problems during your stay so we could deal with the issues ASAP rather than waiting several weeks. We were unaware of the noisy fridge, but a following guest notified us... More

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

This is not a place you'd stay for a luxury holiday. But if you have a need to be in Upper Hutt and all you really want is somewhere clean and a bed, this is great. The staff were lovely and our room was meticulously clean. Very basic, decor very outdated but as I said, it served it's purpose. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Trentham Motel on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Trentham Motel on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trentham Motel on the Park

Address: 438 Fergusson Drive | Trentham, Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Upper Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trentham Motel on the Park 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Trentham Motel on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

35 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Flybuys: The only accommodation provider in Upper Hutt to offer flybuysSupergold card holders discountFree broadband3-star plus Qualmark rated15 units, some newly refurbished. We are just 25 minutes drive or a pleasant 40 minute train ride from Wellington. 5 minute walk from Trentham Racecourse, Trentham Military Camp, and the railway station. Also nearby is St Patrick's College, the prestigious Royal Wellington Golf Club and the local rifle range which hosts the Ballinger Belt competition. Cafes and restaurants are close at hand. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer