We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Welwyn hotels

The White Hart Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Prospect Place, Welwyn AL6 9EN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
The White Hart Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Welwyn
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
JEMHitchin Hitchin
  • Reviews (65)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
32
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Oh dear what has happened to The White Hart? last Easter Sunday turned up with guests no booking because chef fired day before and had not made note of booking taken three weeks before, found corner near toilets" Decided to use our voucher given after Easter for celebration dinner. We were the only diners on mid week which once would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went to this hotel last night with a group of 7 for some food and drink, We got seated on the little terace outside which was so nice with the sun shining. We all ordered cocktails which were delicious, The food we all ordered was the Tapas (You can make your own board with so much choice) and we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie m Thank you so much for your great comments in your review I have passed them on to the staff We work incredible hard here at The White Hart to always be the best, so it great when we get such lovely feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon Kind Regards Daniel Drummey General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived on Friday & found the room better than expected, pleasantly pleased. The bathroom was clean although we did not have any hand-soap in the room which would have been nice. As we thought we might be late back we were given a key code to get in after hours but this was not needed. Breakfast in the morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emsyk, Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us, I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I am, however, sorry to hear that you weren't presented with our luxury Duck Island hand soap on your first night. We appreciate that one small slice of butter wouldn't necessarily serve 2 people so therefore always have some spare for when... More

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed overnight in a lovely courtyard room, which was well decorated and was warm and welcoming. However many little things that matter were very lacking! No remote control for the TV although we tried to ask for another one no one called us back when we contacted reception and left a message. Only 1 towel in our room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Flamingoparrot, I am sincerely downhearted to hear that your stay with us was not of an acceptable standard. However, I am glad you have brought these points to our attention so that we can rectify them. With our 13 bedroom hotel seeing through a large number of guests each week, along with the public, we aren't always aware of... More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

On arrival no greeting went to room which looked lovely but stank, they had a flood the week before. Upgraded to a "Four Poster Room" which was small but did not smell. Carpet dirty, shower did not work neither did the plug in the sink. Final straw was breakfast coffee served by the cup, full English, which looked lovely, when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, I’m very sorry to hear that you had a rather unpleasant experience with us on this occasion. Thank you for your feedback on various aspects of our business that have since been investigated and improved. Our housekeeping inspections are now thoroughly carried out daily so standards do not slip as in your case. Also, maintenance issues have now... More

hertfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked 6 friends in to this little hotel in Welwyn village for a weekend. They were ALL full of praise for the staff - including reception, housekeeping and bar. They were really looked after well and were full of compliments about the breakfasts. The staff helped them order a 6 seater taxi to Welwyn Village and nothing was too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louisehertfordshire Thank you so much for your lovely feedback We all work really hard here at The White Hart and its great to get such amazing comments from our guests We very much look forward to welcoming you in the future Kind Regards Daniel Drummey General Manager More

Southampton
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It's really sad when a venue you like deteriorates and doesn't maintain the things that caused you to like it in the first place. This is how I felt on my latest stay here. In terms of the room, it was OK but perhaps getting a little tired. But the big disappointment was the dining. What used to be excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CaptainPacific, Thank you for your constructive feedback on our newly styled atmosphere. Unfortunately, with the times moving so fast, we ourselves, are keeping up with them, hence the changes to our menu and the lower bar area. We also now offer a selection of cocktails and weekly offers on food. The idea of our new menu was so we... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
91 hotel reviews
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a nice old traditional English pub/hotel. I was put in one of the rooms outside the main building, which was very large, clean and reasonably appointed. The television was a little small for a room that size and initially the room was cold, but warmed up when I switched on the radiator. There is a good choice for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was recommended by the client and to be honest they were not far wrong. The Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, the bar and beer were both very pleasant and the free, easy to obtain Wifi worked well everywhere apart from my room. The food is fantastic! , delightfull dinner followed by a hearty British Breakfast. Ample parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
31 hotel reviews
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stay at the White Hart a couple of times a year and usually eat with a group of work friends in the restaurant. It is always very good. The food is excellent and staff very professional. The bar is a bit dull, like many hotel bars but they did have a decent real ale on draught this last time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: 2 Prospect Place, Welwyn AL6 9EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer