We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Welwyn hotels

The White Hart Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Prospect Place, Welwyn AL6 9EN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
The White Hart Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
67%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Welwyn
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
lumpieWestMidlands Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
34
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel at the weekend as a couple on a 1 night stop over. The room on arrival seemed very nice - the room was black and white based and had a nice en suite with jacuzzi bath and separate shower....BUT there was a glaring issue with the skylight above the head end of the bed!! The skylight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner's sister had booked us into The White Hart for three nights and she had requested a quiet room for us. We were given the last room at the end of the row. We had a window that opened to a gurgling stream and we saw beautiful ducks swimming past. The room itself was quite comfortable - large and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for dinner with friends and having not dined here for several years, weren't sure what to expect, especially given the recent mixed reviews. We were quickly taken to our table in the restaurant area when we arrived and although our waitress wasn't very knowledgeable about the menu, she was friendly and helpful and happy to chat and tell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband booked the function room for a celebration last Sunday. I have said this is a mixed review for the following reasons. 1) food extremely good, would recommend no complaints from our guests. 2) only ONE member of staff on the bar- for a function for 60 this was totally inadequate and i several people said they had their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hitchin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Oh dear what has happened to The White Hart? last Easter Sunday turned up with guests no booking because chef fired day before and had not made note of booking taken three weeks before, found corner near toilets" Decided to use our voucher given after Easter for celebration dinner. We were the only diners on mid week which once would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to this hotel last night with a group of 7 for some food and drink, We got seated on the little terace outside which was so nice with the sun shining. We all ordered cocktails which were delicious, The food we all ordered was the Tapas (You can make your own board with so much choice) and we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie m Thank you so much for your great comments in your review I have passed them on to the staff We work incredible hard here at The White Hart to always be the best, so it great when we get such lovely feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon Kind Regards Daniel Drummey General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived on Friday & found the room better than expected, pleasantly pleased. The bathroom was clean although we did not have any hand-soap in the room which would have been nice. As we thought we might be late back we were given a key code to get in after hours but this was not needed. Breakfast in the morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emsyk, Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us, I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I am, however, sorry to hear that you weren't presented with our luxury Duck Island hand soap on your first night. We appreciate that one small slice of butter wouldn't necessarily serve 2 people so therefore always have some spare for when... More

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed overnight in a lovely courtyard room, which was well decorated and was warm and welcoming. However many little things that matter were very lacking! No remote control for the TV although we tried to ask for another one no one called us back when we contacted reception and left a message. Only 1 towel in our room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Flamingoparrot, I am sincerely downhearted to hear that your stay with us was not of an acceptable standard. However, I am glad you have brought these points to our attention so that we can rectify them. With our 13 bedroom hotel seeing through a large number of guests each week, along with the public, we aren't always aware of... More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

On arrival no greeting went to room which looked lovely but stank, they had a flood the week before. Upgraded to a "Four Poster Room" which was small but did not smell. Carpet dirty, shower did not work neither did the plug in the sink. Final straw was breakfast coffee served by the cup, full English, which looked lovely, when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, I’m very sorry to hear that you had a rather unpleasant experience with us on this occasion. Thank you for your feedback on various aspects of our business that have since been investigated and improved. Our housekeeping inspections are now thoroughly carried out daily so standards do not slip as in your case. Also, maintenance issues have now... More

hertfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked 6 friends in to this little hotel in Welwyn village for a weekend. They were ALL full of praise for the staff - including reception, housekeeping and bar. They were really looked after well and were full of compliments about the breakfasts. The staff helped them order a 6 seater taxi to Welwyn Village and nothing was too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteHartHotelWelwyn, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louisehertfordshire Thank you so much for your lovely feedback We all work really hard here at The White Hart and its great to get such amazing comments from our guests We very much look forward to welcoming you in the future Kind Regards Daniel Drummey General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: 2 Prospect Place, Welwyn AL6 9EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer